We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quiet Norwegian Feeling in Holland"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mastspoor 1, 1271 GL Huizen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Quiet Norwegian Feeling in Holland"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel has various buildings that are like Norwegian cabins by the harbour. The reception is at the back of the restaurants and the view of the lake and yachts is very nice. It is a new hotel from 2012 so the rooms are clean. But they are in different buildings, maybe 4. My room was small and had two beds instead of one large. I felt the restaurant was overpriced compared to the ones in Laren or Naarden which are close by.
This is a relaxing hotel. Nice for the bikers on their route of the Gooimeer.

Room Tip: Ask reception which is the best building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
64
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet hotel in a simple enviroment, you may enjoy staying here. The buildings are new; so all is clean, freshly painted and decorated. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant, which was a fresh salade with delicious wine. For dinner, we had a delicious pancake at Dickens, next door.

Room Tip: The Botter house, room 236 on the end corner was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
425 helpful votes 425 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The first impression when you arrive is good, and you think this is a romantic, well designed hotel with great views. It then goes downhill.

The rooms are mostly small, cheaply decorated, with mediocre mattresses and uncomfortable bed pillows.

Breakfast is a buffet but very standard and no better than you would get at a Van der Valk hotel. No service, except a stressed out waitress who asked me the number of my room to make sure the breakfast was included.

Not customer oriented at all, not pleasant for leisure (impersonal) or business (few facilities).

Room Tip: a larger room, not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Where can I start? The whole dining experience was awful. They took 15 minutes to seat us, 20 to give us a menu, and then 45 minutes waiting between starter and main. Then we had to send back the main twice. First the food was cooked fine but was clearly sitting around a long time waiting to be brought to the table as the food was cold. Second time they brought us the food it was massively undercooked and eating raw pork doesnt seem a wise idea. Third time the food was fine but by then we had seriously lost interest in dessert. In addition, the waiter had told us they would comp the drinks (glass of wine) but the manager then told us they wouldnt do this! Are they serious?

This place is a total joke and we will never go back...ever! I had to negotiate for 20 minutes on what we were paying for. I have never been treated so poorly in a restaurant in terms of food quality and service. And to be honest the food was nothing special. Really just basic with nothing to make it memorable.

Its a shame the kitchen and service were so awful and management just made it worse.

Save your efforts. Go to one of the other lovely places in the same area. You will be better off!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel appears to have been designed to look and feel like an old village, but feels slightly fake. I stayed here twice on business in May, the first time I stayed in one of the outbuildings which had a window with no curtain by design in the door, which let in the sun at a ridiculously early time in the morning. On the second trip I was in the main building with no similar window, however I needed to iron my shirt for an early morning meeting and was told by reception that the hotel only had one which someone else had for the evening... Even the spartan hotel I stayed in, in Stavanger had an iron and iron board!! All I can say is don't stay here for business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed in the most friendly way, during our three night stay we experienced that every staff memeber made it his/her job to let us feel at home. First we were given an attick room in one of the more remote buildings, both of us being quite tall we felt claustrofobic in a room where half of the space was under a roof which didn't allow us to stand upright. We were given an upgrade to the main building, the room itself wasn't bigger but had high ceilings and an amazing view over the lake. In general the decor of the hotel and it's rooms are cosy, however I do have to wonder if the furniture and flooring will be able to stand the test of time as they don't seem to be made for a heavy duty hospitality environment.
When booking through the hotels website you will have the opportunity to purchase dinner at reduced prices, we did so for every night. The menu had limited choice but was acceptable, however I have reservations about some menu items... for example the tomato soup was very blad which led me to believe it was not prepared in house. Our last night we had a 4-course menu which was rushed through in less than an hour, probably because it was New Years Eve and everyone on duty was rushing to be with their family or friend to celebrate, I can understand that but working in the hospitality industry your guests have a higher priority, for us this definately was not how we intended to spend our evening. Instead of enjoying a romantic night out we were back in our room by 8:30PM, for the rest there was nothing else to do in the hotel that night. If a hotel or restaurant isn't prepared to give it's guest an nice time on New Year's Eve then it is better to close all together instead of taking the money and run.
All in all this really isn't a bad hotel, it just didn't meet our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, once just after it opened in 2012, and again in April 2013.
Positive: both stays were nice overall, and the rooms are comfortable with good beds, and a good and spacious shower. The whole brand-new area is quite a nice design at the harborside. Very good breakfast, and it is convenient to have so many different restaurants close by, although it is not very clear which ones are part of the hotel and which are not.

Negative points:
The bed pillows are lumpy - offering some pillows with other fillings would be good. Lighting in the bathroom can be better. The bedrooms do not have curtains, but wooden adjustable horizontal shutters which do not close very well, so you still have light come into the room even if you don't want to. Some blackout roller blinds would be a welcome addition.
During our first stay, there were some problems with the door locks in the rooms.
The serving staff at breakfast are not overly friendly.....probably because they are busy restocking the buffet.
Not all processes run well yet - we booked for tea and apple pie as part of our arrangement, but were not given vouchers for these, nor were we told how to get these. Visiting the bar/restaurant area, we found out we needed vouchers, so back to reception again to get these, after which it took ages for the bar staff to deliver our tea.
We were also overcharged for our stay, which I had to get rectified by phone after we had left.
So yes, definitely some loose ends.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier

Address: Mastspoor 1, 1271 GL Huizen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huizen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier, with its unique location, lies at the northern side of the old harbour the Oude Haven, fronting onto the Gooimeer lake. The hotel offers modern decorated rooms with flat screen TV, comfortable beds and private bathroom. Restaurant J serves a menu which is inspired by both the French and the Mediterranean kitchens. Have a nice glass of wine at RIVA Wine Lounge, the place to enjoy specially selected, good wines from different wine regions across the world. All rooms are decorated with nautical elements and equipped with a desk. The surrounding area is perfect for walking or cycling. And other picturesque villages like Blaricum and Bussum, are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier Huizen, The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.