We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel by the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Labradorstroom 75, 1271 DE Huizen, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Plus points
- It's location (Huizen) is perfect; nearby beautiful villages such as Blaricum, Laren, Naarden, Bussum & Muiderslot.
- Situated by the water
- Rooms are clean & spacious
- Quality service from staff
- Good breakfast
- Has a truly excellent restaurant (Club Newport 1852)

Minus points
- None

Room Tip: - Don't hesitate to ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Showrush,

Thank you so much for the nice review, great to hear that you appriciated out clean rooms, location and our wunderfull new restaurant Club Newport 1852!

Looking forward to have you as our guests again!

Kind regards,
Nicole Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
98
3
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Large clean rooms, great views and very comfortable beds. The food, service and amenities were just right. While in some areas the hotel may look a little tired the overall impression is that this is a well run, efficient and friendly place to stay. A wonderful restaurant and terrace area with great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Ellulje,

Thank you for your great review! We hope to welcome you aqain!

Best regards,
Nicole Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our second visit to this great hotel. Excellent position in a very quiet spot with nice walks from the hotel. Friendly staff, excellent large rooms and very good choice at breakfast. We will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you so much for your great review!

We hope to welcome you soon for your next visit to Holland.

Best regards,
Nicole S. Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

It is a nicely located hotel about 30 min. car drive from Amsterdam. We were pleasantly surprised how big the room was, with balcony overlooking the sea, nice flat screen TV, huge bed bit too soft for our liking but we have slept well and nice spacious bathroom. The whole hotel has nice feel to it, reception staff was very friendly and efficient. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The terrace overlooking the marina is great, we regret not having at least a drink or a meal there while watching the sunset but we have used the lobby bar for coffee and beer instead. We enjoyed our stay there but there is room for improvement. The walls in our room were so thin we could hear the TV next door or people talking, also every time somebody was entering the corridor on the first floor the door would shut with an awful bang waking us up in the middle of the night.
Breakfast priced at €17.50!! We have paid less for steaks in the middle of Amsterdam and unfortunately if you haven't booked your room with breakfast there is not many places around the remotely located hotel where you can go and have it (especially during Easter).
I have missed such simple things like a bath matt in the bathroom and a kettle to make a drink in the evening before bed. Also water priced at €5.50 is an exaggeration - most hotels I have been to offer free complimentary bottle to their guests.
Summing up it is nice hotel in good location if you want to visit Amsterdam and don't mind driving and it is good value for money but there are few minor bits which could put off some fussy travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Haswells,

Thank you for your good review. Nice te hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel. Hope to welcome you again so maybe you can enjoy the sunset next time!


Kind regards,
Hellen Ochse
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited with cadeaubox (there were arrangments that were cheaper than our cadeaubox so we got An upgrade to a suite).
The room was clean but looked dirty because of spots In the furniture, old carpets. Also the badroom was poor for a suite. On the other hand, entrance hall and restaurant looked fancy and it was good to hang around there. There was little variety in breakfast, but diner In club 1852 was extraordinary. Also nice location and parking facilities. We also went to a supermarket to buy water, because 5,50 euro for 75cl is a bit over the top.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Xavier,

Thank you so much for your review. Nice to hear that you found the entrance hall and restaurant looking fancy and was good to hang around there. Its good to have a relaxing time.

Hope to see you again in summer.

Best regards,
Nicole Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

GOOD: 1. Free car parking. 2. Free wi fi internet in rooms. 3. Free PC in a lobby with internet. 4. Good view on the lake. 5. Not expensive lunch is available in the restaurant near lobby with huge portions of meals (20 euro p.p.).

BAD: 1. No minibar. 2. Old furniture. 3. Small TV. 4. Far from Amsterdam, you should have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Andrey,

Thank you for writing your review and remarks, its nice to see that most of them are positive. I am rally sorry to hear that you did not found the minibar, we really have them in every room. The tv is 26 inch a nice flat screen tv I am sorry to that it is not up to expectations. About the furniture we are going to renew the rooms shortly so hopefully you will enjoy the rooms better during your next stay.

Kind regards,
Nicole S. Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We got a good deal for a night away and I was attracted by the large room and good reviews. Check-in was easy and the room and bed were indeed large. Bathroom (shower, no bath) was roomy too. The hotel is out of town so we decided to eat in the restaurant to avoid driving and we were pleasantly surprised by dinner - not cheap but very tasty and generous portions.
Our room was the first one on the corridor which meat there was a lot of passing traffic (guests going to and from their rooms) and so it was noisy. An internal door between the mini-corridor/bathroom area and the bedroom would help.
Staff were fine.
Breakfast was good but nothing special.
The hotel's proximity to Laren, Blaricum etc is a big plus.
All in all a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We were near the lift so everyone on our floor passed by our room - noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ykemichel,

Thank you for your good review on our deluxe rooms! The restaurant and the staff. We will discuss with the technical department what we can do about the noise from the corridor. Its good to hear that you have had a comfortable stay.

Best regards,
Nicole Lagas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen

Address: Labradorstroom 75, 1271 DE Huizen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huizen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in tranquillity: wake up in your luxurious, spacious suite to nothing more than the sound of the water birds on the Gooimeer. Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen is a fabulous hotel in the middle of the Gooi. It offers guests wonderful views over the Gooimeer and the marina. An excellent venue for a peaceful weekend, alternated with action. You can walk and cycle in the surrounding nature areas or take a (sailing) boat and sail over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Hotel Huizen
Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.