We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a small but surprisingly friendly and cozy and a very clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vassy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Vassy to your Saves list
Hotel de Vassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuurtorenplein 1 | Boulevard Ir. de Vassy 3 (corner), 1931 CV Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Egmond aan Zee
Istanbul
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“This is a small but surprisingly friendly and cozy and a very clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a small but surprisingly friendly and cozy and a very clean hotel.
Upper floor rooms are smaller than the ground floor rooms. Breakfast is quite good too.

The only problem is that the beds are "too" soft, if you have lower back pain problems the beds are not good for your back.

Other than this, everything is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ten Boer
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel De Vassy is situated in the tourist town of Egmond at Sea, directly under the lighthouse. We stayed for a weekend. Our room was spacious with separate parts for the bed, a sitting area and a dining area. Also, the room and the bathroom were clean. Still, the furnishings is 'middle-of-the-road', and somewhat cheap. Don't expect a design styling. But then, costs are low for these rooms. And there is free WiFi. Also, the hotel has a large lobby where someone can get a complimentary cup of coffee or tea. Unfortunately, the bed was not to my liking as the mattress was to 'soft' for me.
We had a room facing a backstreet. Later we learned that for a room with a balcony and a view to the sea you need to book directly via the hotel website. Via Bookings.com (as my wife had done) or similar booking sites you will get a less favorable view.
Breakfast is OK. Dining is not possible in the hotel, but a number of restaurants are situated in the vicinity.
We liked our stay. Although I missed the possibility to boil some water for a cup of coffee or tea in the room, the complimentary coffee or tea in the lobby is a reasonable alternative. And perhaps the mattresses should be replaced.

Room Tip: Book directly via the hotel website if you want a room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were there in March, it was freezing, hadnt planned anything and arrived in that nice hotel, 85€ a night, and we got the best room : the one on the corner you see on the picture, it's got a view on the see and on the lighthouse, a small balcony. The staff speaks a bit english and is very friendly, it's a family business. I'm sure this place is overbooked in the summer !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianeatwork, Owner at Hotel de Vassy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your visit and the nice review.
Its good to hear that your stay was a pleasant one.
Regards,
Diane Meijer
Owner
Best Western Hotel de Vassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Didn't really know what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. The check in couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped, the town has lots of restaurants and bars. Probably not for the mobility challenged, there are a few stairs to negotiate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

they cancelled the agreement because a Travel-organizer asked for it

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeVassy, Owner at Hotel de Vassy, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Your feedback pertaining to the cancellation is very important to us. We apologize that you were misinformed. Sincerely, Staff & Management of Hotel de Vassy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Vassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vassy

Address: Vuurtorenplein 1 | Boulevard Ir. de Vassy 3 (corner), 1931 CV Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Egmond aan Zee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Egmond aan Zee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Vassy 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel the Vassy is one of the most modern and most beautiful small hotels of Egmond. The hotel is situated in the Egmonds dune area on 50 meters of the beach and sea and on 150 meters of the cosy village. The balcony rooms have an unique view on the lighthouse, the beautiful village and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Vassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.