We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard 3* Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1900

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1900 to your Saves list
Hotel 1900
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Russenweg 5, 1861 JN Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bergen aan Zee
Worthing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Standard 3* Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in November 2013 for a week. It's in the centre of Bergen with supermarkets, shops, pubs and restraunts all within 2 minutes walking distance. On arrival we felt very welcome and were shown to our room which was accessed outside the hotel. The room itself was small but if your going out all the time you don't need to worry. The toilet was seperate to the bathroom however the shower was sink areas were spotless and very nice. The only downside for me is under the bed there was a lot of dust and dirt as well as on top of the wardrobe and desk area. Breakfast was very nice with a small selection of breads, cheese and meat as well as fruit and cereal. All in all I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the Bergen area for a few days. Anything longer then I would advise looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    18
    17
    24
See reviews for
10
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at this eclectic hotel. I find it difficult to really rate it accurately, because my impressions were so dissonant.

Let's start with the good points:

- The service was always great. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful, and immediately made us feel right at home.

- We really appreciated the dog- and child-friendliness atmosphere. We had both our dachshunds with us, and though they had their adjustment problems at first, we never were given the feeling that they were a nuisance. There were other dogs staying there as well, so our boys felt very welcome (exception for the cat, that is....)

- We chose to upgrade our room, so were given a ground floor garden room. Although the weather didn't allow us to use them, it even came equipped with outdoor furniture and a grill. It was really practical for the dogs, as we didn't have to worry about steep steps or their occasional barking disturbing other guests.

- Breakfast was inexpensive and plentiful. There was a decent amount of variety which made it easy to have a healthy meal at the beginning of the day.

- It was great to be able to get snacks and drinks from the bar. The lounge itself was a bit like a living room, and offered an opportunity to have a quick conversation with other guests, as well as check the internet or watch a bit of TV.

- We also enjoyed the chance to sit out on the terrace and bask in the last warm rays of autumn.

- The restaurant across the street - Zusters - had a good menu, tasty food, and friendly service. We made good use of the 10% discount we got for being guests at Hotel 1900!

Now for the down side:

Although I appreciate the fact that it's an older hotel with a lot of quirky charm, the level of overall care and cleanliness simply didn't measure up to standards I'm used to from Germany and the USA. Don't get me wrong: bed linen and towels were spotless, and at first glance the room was certainly clean! But a close look around our room/the breakfast area/the lounge showed an unnecessary build-up of dust-/spider webs that was anything but appetizing and inviting!

Also there were many smaller and larger things that added to the overall "unloved" impression:

- Slats at the bottom of the Venetian blind on our room's door were broken.
- The bottom of the shower had not been cleaned well.
- The curtains/upholstry were shabby.
- My mattress had a noticeable dip in the middle, which made a good night's sleep a challenge.

In addition, in the garden room there was no window to open in order to air out the room! I could only leave the door open a bit every morning to let in some fresh air. Because it was unseasonably warm for October, that means we woke up every single night bathed in sweat.

Would we go there again? Probably! Bergen is a lovely little town and - as someone who is fed up with the sterility of business hotels - the atmosphere was definitely to our liking. Let's hope they do some updating and cleaning before the next time we're looking into a little get-away by the sea!

Room Tip: If possible opt for a garden room! (But - beware - the wifi signal is much weaker there.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Room number 6 is up the steep and narrow steps on the first floor of this historic building. Clean and efficiently furnished, though toilet-shower-in-one a bit cramped for long-legs.

Across the cobbled street, the food, ambience, and service at Zusters Restaurant were a feast. The flavours and textures of the Belgian stew and Fish casserole made us swoon. Though tempted to return and order the same dishes the following evening, our choice of Tapas in Bergen turned out a delight to match. Cubes of vegetable quiche, spicy gambas, and mozzarella sticks all competed for first place. Yet all the unlimited tapas ended up winners in the eyes and stomachs of us happy eaters.

Room for improvement: the corridors and breakfast room could do with a revamp. Clear clashing styles, de-clutter, and introduce clean lines throughout the building so its historic character can speak for itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Years and were pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel. The room was big (but a little dated) and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast served was wonderful and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is centrally located in the town centre and very close to nearby restaurants and bars.

Overall we were impressed with the hotel, especially for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room and especially bathroom very small and boring decoration.
The first night we stayed they had a party for about 100 people and we slept right above the restaurant. It lasted till the middle of the night, the noise was terrible.
The manager made his excuses and promised us to come up with something to make it up, but we never saw him again :-(.
Our offer was included with free parking but we had to pay 10 euro's.
Breakfast was good and the staff was nice.

Room Tip: don't sleep in the rooms above the restaurant, very very noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Nucia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a very nice family hotel with a good atmospher. Nice staff and our room was really good situated in the garden. We liked the breakfast and at the restarant Zusters you can gave a good meal. The location is in the centre of town and 5 minutes from the beach. When we are in Holland again we will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krommenie
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Who needs a new modern hotel like Yotel or Citizen-M. This hotal is all year 1900 style. On the room the small bathroom, the old stylish lights, the curtains, the beds, everything is old. And I liked it. Ok it's a little small in the rooms, but we had a good nightrest and the rooms were clean. Downstairs is a big living room, which can be used by everybody. You can do pool, sit by the fire, watch tv or do an old school board game. Breakfast in the morning is big and for everybody something to drink or eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1900

Address: Russenweg 5, 1861 JN Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen aan Zee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bergen aan Zee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1900 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 1900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1900, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.