We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, convenient, accessible, quality hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geesterweg 1a, 1921 NV Akersloot, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akersloot
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easy, convenient, accessible, quality hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Van der Valk, Akersloot overnight prior to an all day business meeting the following day. The hotel is beside the A9 motorway, with a motorway exit adjacent and is only 25 minutes by taxi from Schipol. You can get the train from Schipol to Uitgeest (change at Slotterdijk) and then a cab, which is cheaper, but slower.

The hotel is large with the guest rooms all on two floors and connected by a maze of corridors. Everything is well signed but it is still easy to lose your bearings. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with all the usual extras. I had a room facing the motorway and they must we very well sound proofed, because traffic noise was not a problem.

I enjoyed three meals, one in the restaurant and the other two in the buffet and have no complaints about the quality of the food or service.

There are excellent conference and meeting facilities on the second floor; our gathering had over 150 persons present and the hotel and staff coped well and withour fuss. In fact all the staff I encountered were both helpful and friendly.

This hotel is an excellent alternative to Amsterdam for business, but it is very fundtional and lacks atmosphere which is the only reason why I have only awarded four stars rather than five.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter from what I saw. Noise is not a problem for rooms facing the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
18
52
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel if you don't mind staying away from the normal tourist places. Amsterdam and Alkmaar are only small train ride away if you do want to go to the bigger tourist towns.

The rooms were very nice and clean. One thing I wish I knew before I got there is that they some theme rooms, of course a little pricier than a normal one, which if or when I come back I will definitely be checking in to one of them. The food is really good at the restaurant they have there except guess I'm used to the fast pace we have in the states that the service seemed pretty slow to me, but none of the locals or other guest seemed to mind.

Great place over all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed for three days in Akesloot hotel. It is at one of the most butifull areas in the world. The room I stayed in was very nice,clean and luxorious. It has a rear door gose to the garden which was good but it lies next to a service unit in the hotel. So u see the staff while they are working. I found a difficulty in getting laundary service as the hotel needs long time to finish laundary service ,one working day which I found it not practical so I had to cancel the idea. The services of laundary s off at weekends. The language used in the hotel catalogue was harsh in certain areas. It needs revision. There was no slippers in the bathroom nor loofa. There are some instructions regarding the use of towel which I find not necissary. The doors of the hotel closes after midnight and u need to call for opening them. The breakfast was a great experiance. Nice food and testy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Van der Valk has been renovated and the new rooms are very nice and practical, had dinner in the restaurant which was good, at breakfast very good choice.
The only very bad point was that I was in room 254 and this was on the side of the highway and Schiphol departure, very noisy and absolutely inefficient double glasses, a lot of noise, awaken at 05.15h in the morning !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

For a getaway without our children we booked a large (royal) suite. The room is large, has a private sauna and jacuzzi, large rainshower and a huge bed. The interior is "Kitschy" gold coloured fake leather pillows on the bed etcetera. The smell inside the room was not to pleasant on arrival. Probably this is related to the jacuzzi plumbing. Although the room was not dirty it wasn't certainly spic and span. Cleanliness could certainly be significantly better.

The swimmingpool is large. On both occasions that we visted the pool it was also in use by schoolclasses that had swimming lessons. No real problem but not very quiet at these moments.

Staff is friendly but do not expect super service.

Regarding the amount of excellent restaurants at a short drive of the hotel I would advise not to dine in the hotel.

Breakfast is good, with a reasonable choice of ingredients.

There is ample parking place, the location in relation to cities like Alkmaar, Haarlem, Amsterdam and Schiphol airport is good.

Price quality ratio is reasonably good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me and my family spend 2 nights at this hotel and we were delighted with its facilities! The rooms are big and confortable. In the bathroon you have not only a bath but also a shower, which means that two people can get ready at the same time. The swimming pool is very clean and with perfect temperature. For people who can not pass without their workout routine, the gym is very good: plenty of cardio machines, powerplate, weights and a lot of TV channels at your disposal! The breakfast has great variety and a lot of fresh food. The meals at the restaurant are very tasty as well and the portions are quite generous. The staff is very friendly and the price of the hotel, considering what it offers, is very good. The only issue is that the hotel is big and you can get lost easily, but just follow the signs and you will be ok. I will definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spa bath was to die for, just what you need after a long day. must mention Jasper the waiter, such a pleasant person. Keep Jasper he is a gem! all the staff very professional and friendly as all dutch people are we find.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs to chill out on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9

Address: Geesterweg 1a, 1921 NV Akersloot, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Akersloot
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akersloot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.