We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel off the beaten path!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geesterweg 1a, 1921 NV Akersloot, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akersloot
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel off the beaten path!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel if you don't mind staying away from the normal tourist places. Amsterdam and Alkmaar are only small train ride away if you do want to go to the bigger tourist towns.

The rooms were very nice and clean. One thing I wish I knew before I got there is that they some theme rooms, of course a little pricier than a normal one, which if or when I come back I will definitely be checking in to one of them. The food is really good at the restaurant they have there except guess I'm used to the fast pace we have in the states that the service seemed pretty slow to me, but none of the locals or other guest seemed to mind.

Great place over all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canalesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed for three days in Akesloot hotel. It is at one of the most butifull areas in the world. The room I stayed in was very nice,clean and luxorious. It has a rear door gose to the garden which was good but it lies next to a service unit in the hotel. So u see the staff while they are working. I found a difficulty in getting laundary service as the hotel needs long time to finish laundary service ,one working day which I found it not practical so I had to cancel the idea. The services of laundary s off at weekends. The language used in the hotel catalogue was harsh in certain areas. It needs revision. There was no slippers in the bathroom nor loofa. There are some instructions regarding the use of towel which I find not necissary. The doors of the hotel closes after midnight and u need to call for opening them. The breakfast was a great experiance. Nice food and testy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayder4974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Van der Valk has been renovated and the new rooms are very nice and practical, had dinner in the restaurant which was good, at breakfast very good choice.
The only very bad point was that I was in room 254 and this was on the side of the highway and Schiphol departure, very noisy and absolutely inefficient double glasses, a lot of noise, awaken at 05.15h in the morning !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

For a getaway without our children we booked a large (royal) suite. The room is large, has a private sauna and jacuzzi, large rainshower and a huge bed. The interior is "Kitschy" gold coloured fake leather pillows on the bed etcetera. The smell inside the room was not to pleasant on arrival. Probably this is related to the jacuzzi plumbing. Although the room was not dirty it wasn't certainly spic and span. Cleanliness could certainly be significantly better.

The swimmingpool is large. On both occasions that we visted the pool it was also in use by schoolclasses that had swimming lessons. No real problem but not very quiet at these moments.

Staff is friendly but do not expect super service.

Regarding the amount of excellent restaurants at a short drive of the hotel I would advise not to dine in the hotel.

Breakfast is good, with a reasonable choice of ingredients.

There is ample parking place, the location in relation to cities like Alkmaar, Haarlem, Amsterdam and Schiphol airport is good.

Price quality ratio is reasonably good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me and my family spend 2 nights at this hotel and we were delighted with its facilities! The rooms are big and confortable. In the bathroon you have not only a bath but also a shower, which means that two people can get ready at the same time. The swimming pool is very clean and with perfect temperature. For people who can not pass without their workout routine, the gym is very good: plenty of cardio machines, powerplate, weights and a lot of TV channels at your disposal! The breakfast has great variety and a lot of fresh food. The meals at the restaurant are very tasty as well and the portions are quite generous. The staff is very friendly and the price of the hotel, considering what it offers, is very good. The only issue is that the hotel is big and you can get lost easily, but just follow the signs and you will be ok. I will definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spa bath was to die for, just what you need after a long day. must mention Jasper the waiter, such a pleasant person. Keep Jasper he is a gem! all the staff very professional and friendly as all dutch people are we find.

Room Tip: All Rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs to chill out on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celtictiger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in April 2013 as a place to rest in betweek business visits to 2 locations in The Netherlands. Had a standard room. It was clean and tidy, had a generously sized bathroom and a comfortable large bed. The view wasn't anything to write home about, it over looked what must have been a staff/suppliers entrance.
Outside of the room was nothing short of luxury. The reception foyer was excellently fitted, and it carried through into the bar and restaurant. Had a few drinks in the bar, it was well stocked with a wide range of choice. Ate in the restaurant and was very impressed with the meal. The quality was of a high standard.
The breakfast in the morning was a nice touch also, plenty fresh fruits, meats and cheeses. The pastries selection was just as good and the coffee machine serves great full flavoured drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akersloot
3.0 mi away
Hotel NH Heemskerk Marquette
20.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
13.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
9.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Huize Koningsbosch
Hotel Huize Koningsbosch
#1 of 1 in Castricum
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9

Address: Geesterweg 1a, 1921 NV Akersloot, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Akersloot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akersloot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being located centrally in the province of north - Holland, Hotel Akersloot has got something to offer for everyone ! You won't find as much diversity as in dutch nature with its forests, heaths, dunes, beaches, grasslands and polders. Metropolis, authentic cities, beautiful villages, folklore and high - minded culture. This area provides a varied surrounding if you want to take a walk, go by bike or even canoe. Due to its excellent location, cities like Alkmaar, Haarlem and Amsterdam are easy to reach, as well as the popular beaches in Bergen, Egmond and Castricum. Hotel Akersloot offers you the possibility to do so by bike or scooter! You can also take the boat and make some wonderful tours or visit the island of "De Woude". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing