We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton De Brug Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton De Brug Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton De Brug Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arkweg 3-17, 5731 PD Mierlo, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mierlo
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Newmarket group attending the Andre Rieu Concert. Hotel very nice and in fact we were given room 202 (honeymoon suite!!!). Although could do with a drastic refurbishment it was a massive room with large en-suite. Breakfast very good but we had the 3course set evening meal and I was a little disappointed. Meal looked rather "messy" as if the chef had tried "too hard". Our only grip was not with the hotel but with Newmarket's allocation of supposedly "upgraded" concert tickets. We were allocated seats FIVE rows from the back which they classed as "upgraded" - a complete farce!!! We could not see the stage and had difficulty in seeing the screen. Very, very disappointed with Haymarket. Many, many people also very unhappy!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear sirs,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences at Carlton De Brug. Unfortunately your stay hasn't been to your complete satisfaction due to the fact that you were not happy with the seats at the André Rieu concert. We are very sorry to hear that. Your comment about the menu will be discussed with the chef.
We hope to welcome you again in the future, in a refurbished room!

With kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    77
    46
    20
    5
See reviews for
41
91
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sosnowiec, Polska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel has well-developed sporting facilities incl. fitness rooms, swimming pool, indoor sports ground, tennis and squash courts. Might be a good base to host football players or other sports teams. The staff was friendly and helpful. Large, airconditioned and clean rooms assure comfortable stay (soundproof walls, A/C, free WiFi). Decoration and furnishing in rooms and public areas (lobby, halls) look old and all solicit for remodelling. Bathroom with old-fashioned fixture (beamy washbowl and bathtub) which are still in good, fine condition. Stuffy and hot in corridors - better ventillation required, it won't be possible to stand inside a room without A/C turned on around the clock. Electric outlets falling off stained walls, old carpets and wallpapers. Very good breakfast with big variety of dishes incl. pancakes and omellets that can be prepared on a guest's request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Andrzej S,

Thank you for posting your review. Good to hear you enjoyed the facilities. At the moment we are busy with renewal/renovation plans for the future. Hope to see you again to show you the difference!

Best kind regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed on a warm and busy weekend (Pinksteren in the Netherlands. Pool and spa area were brilliant for freshening up and relaxing after the heat of the day.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean with free, easy to access wi-fi.
If you want to stay in a small town rather than the city, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Canmore,

Thank you for posting your positive review. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay at Carlton De Brug. Hope to see you again in the future!

With best regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here at this hotel on a group booking with AJA , fantastic weekend as always, staff are very good. I only have one complaint and that is about the beds, we were in room 309 and the beds had no support, I suffered with my back the next couple of days, maybe it's time to replace them. Although we stayed there for just two nights our stay was enjoyable as always.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you very much for your good review. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you for your next stay. We will discuss and solve your comment concerning the beds with our housekeeping. Sorry to hear this.

Have a nice evening and hope to see you soon!

Kins regards,

Robert van Heeswijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
437 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Now in the middle of a 2 week stay here. Cleaning of room is not great. There were bits on the floor when we arrived and the room wasn't vacuumed for at least 3 days. The layer of dust on the small table's base is still here, as are the bits near to the walls. The dust covered cobwebs between the bamboo in the restaurant have been there since we arrived, and under the coffee machine is dirty but on full view from the restaurants dining tables. The staff are generally welcoming and friendly. The De Brug Activ centre is a massive plus point for this hotel. It has indoor tennis courts, squash courts, pool, sauna and massive gym. The breakfast is good but apparently used to be better. (My partner stayed here 4-5 years ago). This hotel is NOT in Eindhoven. It is actually in a small village called Mierlo which is approx. 15KM from the centre. They do have bikes for hire if you want to explore on two wheels. The restaurant evening menu is small but interesting. We ate there for the first time last night and I had the Red Perch which was very good. My partner had the rather large schnitzel which wasn't. We will try it again though. It seems to be fairly quiet during the week but with lots of weekend visitors.

Room Tip: Top floor nice and quiet. First floor if you want direct access to the fitness centre or conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Google Translation
Goede middag,

Dank voor de uitgebreide recensie betreft uw verblijf. Fijn te lezen dat u de ruime faciliteiten van ons hotel heeft kunnen waarderen. We liggen inderdaad iets van het centrum van Eindhoven af, maar er zijn veel mogelijkheden om snel daar te komen. We bieden inderdaad diverse arrangementen met de fiets aan.

Erg vervelend dat de schoonmaak niet naar wens is geweest. Ik heb de opmerkingen meegenomen naar onze Housekeeping Department en uitvoerig besproken. Hopelijk mogen we u nogmaals als gast verwelkomen.

Vriendelijke groet,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here with family (7 grown ups and 5 childeren) in the first weekend of the christmas holidays. This is a very nice family hotel! Very close to Eindhoven.
Staf is very friendly and correct.
The rooms are decent size, especially for family’s with children. Everything is a little bit out of date but very clean and well taken care of.
Grand lobby with lots to do for children: cyber room, chess board, play area, pool table,…
The swimming pool is very nice, the gym is huge. There is also a bowling, didn’t do that.
The restaurant is nice, also good children’s menu’s.
Breakfast is extensive.
Definitely will come back here with my family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonDeBrug, General Manager at Carlton De Brug Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Google Translation
Goede middag,

Veel dank voor uw lovende woorden. Fijn te horen dat u met uw familie heeft kunnen genieten van de zo vele faciliteiten. Graag wil ik vertellen dat we momenteel druk bezig zijn met het ontwikkelen van nieuwe producten in ons hotel voor families, gezinnen, stellen en (sport)teams.
We hopen u dan ook nog vaak als gast te mogen begroeten en ik weet zeker dat uw gezelschap en de kinderen nog veel leuke activiteiten in ons hotel zullen ervaren.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Robert van Heeswijk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is a place with many possibilities.
In the lobby is a huge chessboard and people can play billiard, there is a cyber room for kids and I believe there are also conference rooms.
There is an enormous gym - the biggest I have ever seen and their gear is modern and looks glamorous, there is a small pool and 2 jacuzzi's and this place is decorated in Roman style, there are tanning beds, a sauna that we didn't find - unfortunately the entrance doors to the sauna were closed. Ashame, but we didn't complain.
It's a very child-friendly hotel with lots of amenities.

It's not really in Eindhoven city, but in a village nearby, bordering to Helmond.
The village is called Mierlo, a quiet and friendly village.

The hotel itself doesn't look very modern, one can see that it's used for several decades.
But still everything has been taken care for.
The room was clean and comfortable, the SPA was included, there were bathrobes and slippers for us and there was nothing to complain about.

We went several times to the restaurant "De Morel" and the breakfast was great.
Unfortunately the dinners were a bit different than I expected, or at least: hoped.
A good advice for the reader: Do NOT order the lamb, as I did so and I got an old sheep cutlet.
I complained about it and I got something else, but the nice girl told me that the kitchen staff denied it was sheep. She said she was between a rock and a hard place, because we said something else than the kitchen staff maintained that they were right.
The last thing a staff can do is quarrel with their guests.
The day after there was another misunderstanding with someone else from the staff and we did not get any sauce on our fish.
When we complained the first time they ignored it and said that the dish was meant to be like this, a second time, when our plates were almost empty we complained again because we really missed the sauce and when I was busy with one of my last bites finally the sauce arrived.
It should be saffron sauce as they promised on the menu, but it was a fake saffron sauce.
I was not very amused by this behaviour and the lady apologized and we got a coffee and liquor for free at the end of our meal.
She claimed it was a misunderstanding between some people in the kitchen, very disappointing for us though...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mierlo
9.6 mi away
Novotel Eindhoven
Novotel Eindhoven
#5 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
11.2 mi away
NH Eindhoven Conference Centre Koningshof
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Eindhoven
Holiday Inn Eindhoven
#9 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
NH Geldrop
NH Geldrop
#1 of 1 in Geldrop
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
7.2 mi away
Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel
Van Der Valk Eindhoven Hotel
#11 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Collar Hotel
Blue Collar Hotel
#15 of 23 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton De Brug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton De Brug Hotel

Address: Arkweg 3-17, 5731 PD Mierlo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Mierlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mierlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton De Brug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton De Brug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton De Brug Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.