We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wairepo House

Wairepo House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wairepo House to your Saves list
Wairepo House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Weka Road, Mariri 7175, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mariri B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This tranquil oasis was one of the highlights of our tour of the south island. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable but the star was the garden which is simply amazing. Joyanne and Richard are fabulous hosts - lovely breakfasts and excellent advice on what to see and where to eat and charming company. One day after spending hours on a wine tasting tour we decided that we could not be bothered to go out to a restaurant ... within minutes Joyanne dropped in with a platter of food for us for which she would accept no payment. Definitely worth going out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hosts, Joyanne and Richard, are great people. We had a busy schedule while staying here, but they made the time to have breakfast with us. The room was OK, the bathroom had its best time. We loved the gardens and the surrounding estate. The hosts did what they could to make us feel at home here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Joyanne and Richard run a beautiful place and even though they were so busy during our stay, they always had time to spend chatting to us and making sure that we made the most of our visit.
The room we stayed in was extremely spacious, well laid out and comfortable. We certainly slept very well.
The gardens around the house are absolutely beautiful, and if we hadn't been so busy dashing about seeing all the sights, I am sure it is a lovely place to relax and while away the time whist sipping a glass of local wine.
The breakfasts are second to none, plenty to choose from and a freshly cooked option also.
I can highly recommend staying here if you want to visit Abel Tasman and the surrounds as it is very convenient but also Joyanne and Richard have so much knowledge of the area, they point you in the right direction for restaurants and places a little off the usual tourist track

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

A lovely B & B with a great breakfast and nice owners, but over priced and limited eating facilites in Oct- the spring of New Zealand. Not worth the high cost of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This was our second visit to the Wairepo House. Joyanne and Richard are fabulous and warm hosts. Gorgeous grounds and accommodations along with the best breakfast in NZ.
Have visited many B&B's in NZ and this is at the top of the list.
Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-On-Trent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Boutique Hotels can be hit and miss. You can find a great place with nightmare hosts, a terrible place with wonderful hosts and anyting inbetween.

Wairepo House is therfoee truly a rareity and maybe even a one off because the setting, rooms, price, hosts, food, everything iscompletely first class and would put to shame a business class hotel.

Having stayed there in November 2008 for two nights as a part of our honeymoon the only complaint that we had was that we only stayed for two nights and not four like the other honeymooners below!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

We decided to come and stay at Wairepo House in November as part of our honeymoon trip around New Zealand. We stayed for 4 nights and where to begin.... Joyanne and Richard were lovely hosts. Whether pointing us towards the best sights in the area or suggesting restaurants, they were really helpful. Both have an excellent sense of humour and make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. The accomodation was a spacious room with ensuite and dressing room and all a very high standard. The main property was a lovely family home set in beautiful gardens and orchards. There was even a tennis court! Joyanne prepared what can only be descibed as the best breakfasts ever. No, really, they were so good and there was so much choice! I can recommend the waffles and bacon, they are to die for! IAlso, if you are stuck for a traditional pizza ask Richard VERY nicely and he may even make one for you with his very own pizza oven. Would also like to pass on a big thank you to Vanessa and Charlotte who helped make our last night so much fan. Thank you all very much and who knows we may come and visit again!

  • Liked — Th eroom was lovely but the actual setting was beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing - but - If we were there 2 weeks later would have had use of the pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wairepo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairepo House

Address: Weka Road, Mariri 7175, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mariri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mariri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairepo House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wairepo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wairepo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.