We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Log Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Tui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenhope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Triple Tui
Save
You added Triple Tui to your Saves list
2454 Tadmor Glenhope Road | RD2, Glenhope 7073, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenhope B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome Log Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our three nights at Triple Tui "Riverstone" Log Cabin. Our hosts Tracy and Steve were friendly and helpful. Feeding the lambs and ducks was a highlight of our ten year old son's holiday. The cabin was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The beds very comfortable and we were pampered with quality linen and towels. The large bathroom had a great shower with ample pressure and hot water. We made full use of the well equipped kitchen with gas cook top and roomy fridge. The log fire was excellent and a great pile of fire wood provided. The cabin was very quiet, private and peaceful a great rural retreat. It was a pleasure to wake to a dawn bird chorus and the sound of a bubbling stream. We used it as a base to explore Kahurangi and the Nelson Lakes National Parks easily accessible by car. Our three night stay went far to quickly. Next time we hope to have more time to sit on the deck, fire up the barbecue, enjoy the solitude, explore the stream and walk around the farm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Since discovering this haven 4 years ago after an awesome tramp up Mt Owen we always stay here when visiting the top of the south island. The location is perfect if you love exploring the outdoors or just want to get away and relax. There is superb walking nearby in Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes national parks, and so many beautiful rivers nearby for fly fishing. The drives to the west coast or Blenheim are very scenic, with everything from rafting to wineries to visit. We have stayed more than 4 times across summer, spring and most recently in autumn when the colours were just beautiful. Our little girl loves the swing bridge across the creek and visiting the sheep and the many ducks. Feels just like your own private little bit of New Zealand as you savour a peaceful coffee on the deck in the morning and spot native birds. The evening sky is magnificent on a cloudless night after a bbq on the deck. The cabin is beautifully crafted and appointed, warm with the log fire even on the coldest wet evenings. The owners have achieved the perfect balance as helpful hosts, lovely to talk to if you need them but otherwise leaving you in peace. They can arrange or advise on the best fishing and hunting trips in the area. Highly recommended, but really we don't want to share this secret!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

After tramping in Nelson Lakes, this was the perfect place to crash out. So much so, that we didn't get to go anywhere except a walk around the "estate".
Pray for cold nights so you can get the wood stove glowing.
There is an old railway line running out the back, but as they pulled the tracks up years ago, it's really quiet, just the sound of the stream to lull you to sleep.
We voted it our best NZ bach for 2011.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

A+ relaxation! Loved everything about Tripple Tui from the quite tranquil location, Log cabin and cosy fire, also the amazing guided fly fishing day with Steve, chasing trophy sized trout on un tapped stream pools. Most highly reccommend for anyone looking to avoid the hussle and bussle of city life and experience the real quality of NZ.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Just had 2 night stay at Triple Tui - what a wonderful place! Our boys loved it - felt like a adventure. Steve was very welcoming and the cabin had everything you could want. Loved the fact that there was no mobile phone or internet - that made for real relaxation! Thank you. Perfectly placed for the Lakes - had a wonderful day at Lake Rotoiti.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I booked a stay at Triple Tui, it's out in the country about an hours drive from our home in Nelson. I didn't tell my wife where we were going, it was her birthday surprise but I had no idea about what to expect when we got there. Tracey and Steve welcomed us with big smiles and took us to our cabin, like a mini adventure in itself, a short walk along the river bank and over a swing bridge. Some cabin, more like a house really,an authentic log cabin with a cosy wood fire, beautiful inside and out. The only sounds out there are from the birds in the bush and the stream. Excellent breakfast too. We both highly recommend this excellent accommodation and the great hospitality that goes with it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Spent 3 nights at the beginning of our NZ honeymoon. An absolutely lovely, quaint place - perfect for a private romantic honeymoon. The log cabin was beautiful and practically furnished, and had cute gold-coloured fittings. Bed was extremely comfortable. Steve and Tracey were really friendly, down-to-earth kiwis.

Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Triple Tui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple Tui

Address: 2454 Tadmor Glenhope Road | RD2, Glenhope 7073, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Glenhope
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenhope
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Tui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.