We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asteria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asteria to your Saves list
Hotel Asteria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maasheseweg 80a, 5804 AD Venray, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Venray
Annemasse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very good hotel, well situated near motorway and business park. Even though near road very calm rooms (well isolated). Warm welcome, late bar service Good breakfast. We tried the lunch not the dinner. Fast service for lunch at affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
18
1
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice, business class and an excellent dining room. The staff could not have been nicer and were very friendly and welcoming. Everybody spoke perfect English and there was no difficulty there. It happened to be very convenient to my business client also. I would definitely stay there again.. There is a lovely open air terrace to enjoy if the weather cooperates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 and the hotels has just gone through an extension programme. I stayed in one of the new rooms and was very pleased with the facilities and free wifi. The dinner was excellent and the breakfast was fine - we enjoyed the sports bar which was a good place to unwind and relax. The top thing though is this hotels location, just off the motorway and very near the main industrial area it meant that I could be in my office within 5 min! Overall I would recommend to business travellers mainly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have just returned from two nights stay at this hotel. I must say that when I booked the mixed reviews on this site and others were a slight worry however as it was close in proximity to where I was working and some colleagues had already booked into this hotel I decided to take a chance - big mistake!!

We arrived at the hotel late after flying into dussledorf and transferring by taxi and as we must have been the last guests due to arrive that day as we were just handed our room keys on arrival and asked for no information - a little strange to say the least. We enquired if we could order some food however were told the restaurant was closed. We enquired about the advertised room service till 1am however were informed that the kitchen had closed early due to a staff party - good start and even better customer service! We were directed to mcdonalds accross the road, however that was closed and only the drive through open! I therefore retired to my room hungry to freshen up before making my way down to the bar for a late drink with my colleagues.

I had been allocated room 3 which was an exterior room accessed by some steps down the side of the hotel. There were lights in situ down the stairs however these had not been turned on. The stairs were therefore dangerously dark and I fell badly grazing my knee. Once at the room door I found I did not know how to open the door and spent a good 15 minutes fumbling around in the dark trying to open the door whilst in severe pain with my knee. Normally I would have gone straight back to reception for help however I was worried about sustaining further injuries on the death trap un lit stairs. Finally however I had to admit defeat and had a straight choice between spending the night on the rooms doorstep or braving the stairs again and I returned (nearly falling again) to reception.

I informed the receptionist of my injury. No first aid was offered. All that was offered was for them to send a doctor at my expense. I decided to wait until morning when I could access a first aider or a pharmacy. This is the first time in my vast experience of hotels that theydid not have a first aider or first aid supplies on the premesis!

The receptionist accompanied me to my room to open the door. He however said as he had just started work there that he did not know how to turn the stairwell lights on and as a result it would have to remain as it was till morning!

Upon opening the room the first thing that hit me was the smell of drains and stale smoke. The receptionist and I then fumbled around in the dark room looking for a light switch - there was none near the door nor evident. We finally found one half way accross the room. The receptionist remarked 'it smells a little in here you might want to open a window before he left!

After inspecting the room I found that there was no main lighting and only side lighting which was not acceptable as I needed to work in there. Moreover the stench was unbearable and upon opening a cupboard which I thought was a wardrobe, but turned out to be a huge cleaning cupboard I found a bucket full of what smelt like sewage! I was not prepared to stay in this room any longer and therefore had to once again brave the stairs of death in order to request a room change.

I was finally allocated a 'proper' room within the main hotel which was adequate. It however lacked basic essentials such as tea and coffee making facilities, an iron or a safe, all of which are normally prerequisites in four star hotels! Also, when I turned the tv on the first channel that came on was a v pornographic movie channel - not something that offended me but I did happen to think this would not have been acceptable if I had been travelling with my family!

After freshening up and cleaning the wound on my knee the best I could without any medical supplies I made my way down to meet my colleagues for a drink. We had just ordered our second drink at around 12.20am when the barman came over and said he was closing the bar and we would need to move out of the bar and finish our drinks outside or in reception. We pointed out the bar was supposed to be open till 1am and enquired why and he explained he was closing early to attend the staff party!!! We therefore had to sit outside in the cold to finish our drinks!!!

After retiring to the room I was thirsty so returned to reception to ask for a drink. I was told they couldn't serve drinks now as the bar was shut - once again I pointed out it was before 1am however again was told things were different that night because of the staff party!!! I was directed to a vending machine for my refreshments however found the only drinks it contained were coke and beer. I am allergic to coke and could not drink any more as I was working and potentially driving in the morning so therefore I was left with spending a whole night thirsty without the basic essential of a drink of fresh water thanks to this 'hotel' and its failings!!!

To make matters worse when I returned to my room I discovered that there were only two tiny single beds in the room and not the double I had ordered. Again down to reception to complain as I am unable to sleep on a single bed because of a serious back injury. I was told however they have no doubles at the hotel, despite my confirmed booking being for a double!!!

As if that night could not get any worse the music noise and drunken behaviour from the staff attending the staff party went on nearly all night disturbing me and all other guests!!! Surely the second night would improve I thought and certainly could not get any worse... sadly I was sorely mistaken in thinking this!!!

the next morning we went down for breakfast. There was supposed to be bacon and eggs out but there was no bacon and the eggs were old, dry and like rubber. We asked tge waiter three times for bacon, each time he just said 'its coming'- it never arrived.

The hot drinks machine was faulty meaning it only dispensed black coffee. The waiter brought milk out when asked twice however it was disgusting and tasted like butter milk not normal milk. No apology was made nor alternatives offered. We ended up going over to mcdonalds for an edible breakfast, and proper drinks.

We then ordered a taxi into town via reception. This was fine and no complaints with the wait etc. However the journey cost €30 to our destination and the return journey with the same company cost only €20. This situation repeated the following day too which I find odd. The only explaination any of us could think of for this is the possibility that the hotel are working on commission for this taxi company who are covering this with increasing the fares for pick ups from the hotel by 50%... suppose we will never know though!!

following a second uncomfortable night on the tiny single bed I was given in place of the 'deluxe double' I had booked it came around to breakfast time once more, surely it could not be worse than yesterday, could it???? The answer is a simple yes!! The coffee machine worked properly for a cappuccino for the first cup but when tasted it was disgusting. I returned for a second cup and the machine had ceased working again like the previous morning! The bacon was out that morning however it was the eggs that were absent instead! We couldnt even be bothered to ask this time and settled for dry bread (there was no butter out) bacon and orange juice (concentrate not freshly squeezed). Hardly the expected breakfast for a four star hotel though!!!

another observation regarding the stay I see has already been covered many times on this website - the free wifi advertised being non existent! Stood at the reception desk I was able to get one bar of signal for the wifi. No signal in the common areas, restaurant, bar or bedrooms! This resulted in me having to go to the expense of buying a data bundle from my mobile network to enable me to work!

Upon check out I was glad to be leaving this joke of a hotel as were my colleagues. The problems werent over yet though! When asked if the stay had been ok I said no and asked to speak with the manager. I was told he was not available (as I had been told numerous times throughout the stay - hence the title of this review!) I therefore decided to email my complaint in once back in the uk. Then, although I think someone should have in reality had to pay me for staying in this joke of a hotel, they tried to charge me for a huge bar bill from the saturday night which I had not run up. The only drinks I had in the hotel bar were put on the expense account of my colleague and I charged nothing to my room during the entire stay. Rather than admitting the error and apologising/ripping up the bill the receptionist tried to argue and intimidate me into paying, only backing down when I produced credit card receipts to prove I was dining 20km away at the time the bill was run up. Perhaps this is another money making ploy of the hotel or staff, I dont know???

Then, having paid the actual bill I noted after leaving the premesis that the hotel had charged me the local occupancy tax twice on my bill!!!

Having returned home I emailed my complaints to the hotel management. At first I received a polite reply and an offer of a refund of the first nights stay. However when I said this was not acceptable particularly due to the personal injury I sustained the following emails became abrasive and the last one even refused to pass my complaint to their head office.

I am presently seeking legal advice with a view to making a claim against this hotel. I also will be reporting the absence of lighting on the unsafe stairs leading to room 3 and its neighbours to the Dutch health and safety executive as soon as I have established their contact details.

It probably goes without saying but I wouldnt board my dog at this joke of a hotel and id suggest anyone considering staying here to avoid it like the plague - I think you would get a better nights sleep by pitching a tent at the side of a motorway!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roel A, Manager at Hotel Asteria, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We regret this review as it contains many factional errors and contains details which are not true. We feel we offered a fair amount of compensation for the part of inconveniences that were suffered. Despite elaborate contact we apparently were not able to come to a reasonable agreement and this guest carried out his initial promise to write a negative review about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venray hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed on business trip April 13.Although close to Motorway, I was not disturbed by road noise in any way.

Our trip meant we had dinner, breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was OK at best but lunch and dinner were fine and good value. Nice atmosphere in lounge/restaurant area helped by some really friendly and efficien staff.

Room was fine (i got a twin) and comfortable bed meant a good night's sleep was had

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are smaller than i am used to. unlike the signs hanging everywhere in the hotel the free wifi throughout the hotel they promise was poorly to not available. bad if you need to check your business mail. mentioned at checkout and asked to remove the signs or give a discount. barely got a reaction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for business in April 2013. Location was the primary reason. It was barely a 5 minute drive to work and was right off of the highway. The hotel was clean and updated. I had a comfort room which meant two twin beds. That was a quite a surprise. The bed itself was comfortable, the pillow rather firm. Typically I don't sleep well away from home but I had no problem. The restaurant was very good. I had dinner there almost every night and was very happy with meal and the service. The breakfast buffet was also very good, a wide selection of items. In the end I would have no problems recommending. It is a nice, clean place that was convenient. Personally I might want to try something else, but I believe the hotel asteria would be a good reliable back up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asteria

Address: Maasheseweg 80a, 5804 AD Venray, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Venray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Asteria 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Asteria provides a full service experience for all business travelers. All our hotel rooms are equiped with free wifi as well as the rest of the hotel and conference rooms.Our restaurant offers you a diversity of dishes, as well for lunch as for dinner. Our hotelbar is opened till 01:00 AM every dag of the week.The proximity of the highway A73 provides you speedy travelling to Dusseldorf Weeze Airport and Eindhoven Airport.Our friendly staff will make your visit to Venray as pleasant as possible. See you at Hotel Asteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Asteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.