We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Mountain Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Blue Mountain Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly to travelers and tourists alike, Rafjam is a gem in the Blue Mountains. Located only 45 minutes out of Kingston town, this place is so beautiful and peaceful! I lived there for three weeks and referred to it as the Jungle Palace. The beautiful waterfall and pools in the backyard were my favorite places to relax and rejuvenate. Everyone there made me feel like family and it was such a pleasure getting to know the staff. The Africa room is very luscious with a rustic sweetness, and the other rooms are very comfortable as well. The place is very clean and well put together and has beautiful murals on the walls! Rafjam is near to a Rastafari village; it's very nice to go on a Saturday for sabbath, and there are many other walking and hiking trails as well. If you're looking to experience cool tranquil nature and sweet family vibes, Rafjam is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
36
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

While visiting Rafjam Bed and Breakfast, I thought it would be like any other Bed and Breakfast, warm and welcoming, but instead I was greeted with the most beautiful welcoming smiling staff I have ever met. My bedroom left me in awe, namely Van Gogh. The view from my balcony was out of this world, the sound of the running stream was a pleasant reminder of the fresh water that awaited my arrival.Our meals were prepared to order, the chicken in beer sauce is a must during my next visit. My hubby thoroughly enjoyed himself, he said" never have I experienced such silence". Needless to say I leaving was bittersweet , as I know I will be back. Special thanks to my meticulous chef Clyron and other staff members Chris-Ann and Georgianna.

Room Tip: Convenient location, excellent bedding, breathtaking view with sounds of the running stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here! Big thanks to Susan, such a kind gentle soul, and to the rest of the team who were all so friendly and hospitable! I was so lucky to be upgraded to the Africa room which had an amazing view of the valley.. I read my book and relaxed in my hammock, I went for my own hike down to the Irish town, grabbed a delicious iced coffee at Cafe Blue and really enjoyed the scenery from the magnificent blue mountains.. I loved the food at Rafjams too!♡ and the coffee was delish! I also loved cooling down in natural pools and water falls right by the property!

I was a little upset with the Rasta camp tour.. I paid 20 dollars for the tour which did include my entrance into the rasta camp which was all good and my hike up with Delroy was awesome..However the young lady who welcomed me to the rasta camp only showed me the tabernacle (which took 5 minutes) she then proceeded to tell me I had to buy something at the craft shop if I wished to do the tour. . I told her I had paid and she insisted.. so I only had 3 dollars on me which I offered as a donation as prices only started at 10 dollars at the craft market.. she then walked me up a few stairs telling me nothing to do about the rastafari community and telling me all about her life and asking me and out myself? . .. I kept trying to ask if I could see the village and she further demanded I pay 10 dollars if I want to see the tour as "thats the rule"... I didn't make a scene because I felt it was not my place to demand a tour but I was really upset that I never met any rastafarian ' s and saw how they grow their food etc. . As I was so looking forward to this. Maybe she needed more people I don't know. .but I just got fed up trying to argue.. So just be warned if you do go there to bring extra money?!? This had nothing to do with rafjams (everything was perfect on their part) I just was disappointed with the Rasta Camp and don't recommend this excursion

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

No high blood pressure meds needed here. The place is like the garden of Eden. Susan and her staff are very accomplished. We were picked up down in Kingston and brought on a magical roller coaster ride up here to RafJam.

The first thing we had upon request was the BEST pumpkin and chicken soup I have ever had, followed by a marvelous fish dinner. We fell asleep to the sound of the brook babbling below our room window on a cool night.

My guy hiked around and found some waterfalls and more cool rivers. This place is a must do yall, just GO.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The gardens are like a mini paradise, stunning with a natural pool. The staff are young and dynamic, helpful and fun. The cook goes out of his way to make great food. We really loved it here, perfect mountain break or weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Susan and her wonderful "staff/family" made me feel welcome from the very second I first contacted her.Richie met me at the airport with a huge smile,after a long flight from France'the best driver on the island,as a lonely traveler staying 12days ,I was never alone,this peaceful paradise was what I wanted.The Blue Mountain in all it's splendor,the beauty of the grounds and the natural pools and waterfalls,breathtaking !!!!! And the food, yummy!!!!!!and of course the best coffee ,and plenty of it! great for hiking and the 4 legged friends will be happy to walk with you.
Thanks to everyone for their kindness,my list of pros is very long, the cons ,that's a tough one........hope to be back next year!!!!! See you then,

Room Tip: If traveling as a family ,the cottage.Solo smaller budget , the "Africa ",to be honest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My husband and I truly enjoy our time there. From the minute we arrive every thing was prefect. Staff was really great,food was yummy. Meet 2 lovely friends that are like minded like us. So enjoy the nature walks on the property. So Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks a million guys and keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia. The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away. Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay. Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again! Rafjam: service beyond expectation... Rafjam also has a hostel in Kingston towN,for those of you who wants to stay closer to Kingston for night life, beach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.