We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, peaceful retrieve in the Blue Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature

Save Saved
You added Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature
Red Light District, Irish Town, St Andrew | Blue Mountains, Irish Town, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beautiful, peaceful retrieve in the Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I started our 10-day adventure in Jamaica with a 2-night stay at Rafjam based on a recommendation from a friend and former guest. The property is nestled into the hills of the beautiful Blue Mountains, where days are sunny and nights are comfortably cool (no need for AC). The property includes a river and small waterfall, where guests can cool down after a hike around the mountains. I felt really at home at Rafjam and was very sad to leave. Susan, the owner, lives on-site, and her family lives next door and across the street. Friendly pets (cats and dogs) greet you when you arrive at Rafjam, and birds and butterflies abound in Rafjam's lush, tropical gardens. This is the perfect place to stay if your looking for a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful, realistic experience in Jamaica. At Rafjam, you can avoid all the tourist traps and the chaos of Kingston to catch a glimpse of real life in the Jamaican hills. I felt like I was a personal guest rather than a tourist here, which added a level of comfort I always seek while traveling to new places. The price was impressively low considering how comfortable the accommodations were and how beautiful the property was. You also get a discount if you stay at Goblin Hill, where Rafjam's owner's husband is the Manager, after staying at Rafjam. Susan, the owner, is a sweetheart and a very genuine person who makes you feel at home and comfortable. There are some attractions within walking distance too - a coffee plantation, beautiful hikes, a Rasta community, some gardens, and horseback riding. Plus, it's only 30 minutes from Kingston if you need a dose of nightlife. I spent most of my time lounging on one of the hammocks overlooking the river. I've traveled a lot throughout the world, but Jamaica and the Blue Mountains specifically, is now on my top-3 list of favorite places. I missed Rafjam for weeks after I left - it was my favorite part of our trip along with Goblin Hill in Port Antonio. I highly recommend the Blue Mountains and Rafjam during your trip to Jamaica.

Room Tip: Susan had just finished building the cottage on-site - a more luxurious, larger 3-story building tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Manager at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
So happy that we could help make Jamaica so wonderful for you. Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
26
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I think this is a place that comes closest to paradise, cool mountain setting with a cold natural pool from a mountain spring, the garden is set up carefully to match the surroundings, a place full of peace and relaxation.

We just walked in and had no reservation so there was only two people from the staff, but they did everything to make us feel welcome, a place I surely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Utah H, Thank you for your review, we were very happy to welcome you both here and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. AT Rafjam we aim to please, please come and visit again soon......Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place and fantastic people! We stayed at their wooden cottage and it was fabulous. The bathrum is absolutley stunning and so is the natural stone on bottom floor. The view from the upstares bedrooms are also really nice. The small stream outside and the beautiful nature really makes this place magical. We had a lot of business in Kingston but did not want to stay there as it's so much husslin everywhere. So it was nice to get a way up to the mountains and eat some good food at Rafjam. No people trying to sell you stuff just some nice food, john holt and some red stripe. We had a 1 year old with us so we got very happy about having some kitchen facilites. Even if you are not visiting the mountains and you just have business in Kingston it's worth the 40 min drive down just to get out of town for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Tom, It was a great pleasure having you here at Rafjam, we saw you really loved it here to be able to return three times in one trip, is an honor to us, Thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Quentin, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great spot from with to discover the blue mountains scenery and atmosphere.
Getting to rafjam from Kingston is easy, rather ask for their preferred taxi driver or drive up the hills. Ask for directions. The way from the main road to the B&B is a dirt road and part of the experience, I had no problem with my rented toyota Corolla, by night.
Arriving there, the place is very clean, large rooms and bathrooms, and large smiles welcoming you.
We were a group of 14 and had no problem having our meals on the deck outside. There are covered places if you fear the sun or the rain. The menu is great with choices for various tastes, we really appreciated the local meals from breakfast to dinner.
The temperature was naturally cooler in the mountain than on the seaside, but there was no need to have a sweater on at this time. we rather had a swim in the natural swimming pool and a red stripe at the Tiki Bar.
We had first chose this B&B against the other short listed because it had many activities that could be organized. We visited a coffee plantation and went up blue mountain peak by night .
Beyond the scene, the place, the atmosphere, was a dedicated team managed by Susan. Very open and willing to share what their country has best in the mountains. Thank you all for taking care of us ! We had a great time and know where to go when we come back in the mountains.
Andrew

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Andrew, my staff and i always feels good when our guests can leave and are totally happy, we are very happy we could cater for your group and deliver in a great manner, We are happy you had a great time here. Please we will welcome you back at Rafjam the next time you visit. see you soon......Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went here together with two friends and their baby. We came here twice, both time because we had some things to do in Kingston, and we didn't want to live in the town. We shared the tree house together. What a place! Beutiful garden, wonderful house, and kind staff. The owners, and the staff really make you feel welcome and at home.

Good to know is that the road to Raf Jam is kind of a adventure. We had a rental car, and loads of luggage. Some of us had to walk a part of the road. But, as long as you are careful it is really nog a problem to get there!

I highly reccomend everybody to stay here! You will probably not regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Lovisa, Thank you for your review, We are extremely happy you had a great time here, we were very happy to host you. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.....Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I came up to RafJam to escape from Kingston for a bit. I'm really glad I did. Even though its a short drive from the city, it was like staying in a treehouse surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful wildlife. And, best of all, wonderful Jamaican people.
Susan and Raf were kind, down to earth and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spending 4 day's with my parents in this isolated place down a dirt road next to the little mountain village called Red Light i begun wondering if I would be able to enjoy myself, and regardless to say I loved it. Susan is lovely, and the family including their dogs are wonderful, they truly make you feel at home! The sound of the crashing waterfall in the garden puts you in a beautiful place, and the little paths leading up to the mountains are great to go exploring in and sight-seeing. I hope you're enjoying Yatzee! Its a fun game! Overall you need to visit this place to truly experience the wonder of it. Hope everyone is well and say hi to William!

Room Tip: They have an amazing little new cottage they've been building up themselves, and should be finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature

Address: Red Light District, Irish Town, St Andrew | Blue Mountains, Irish Town, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia.The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away.Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay.Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again!Rafjam: service beyond expectation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.