We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alternative view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature to your Saves list
Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature
Red Light District, Irish Town, St Andrew | Blue Mountains, Irish Town, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Banbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An alternative view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had booked for 2 nights at Rafjams, and having read reviews were looking forward to it. We had to walk down the mile long track, as our taxi was unable to negotiate the terrain. Theo and another lad from Rafjam did help with cases. Once we arrived, we were shown to the bar- down a narrow passage between a building and the hillside. We were keen to have drink after the exertions of dragging cases down the track, but we found that there was only one Red Stripe beer, available, and some soft drinks. The verandah by the bar did not have safe railings- a 3 year old boy was staying, and his parents had to keep a close eye on him to prevent him falling under this rail-at least an 8 foot drop. There were also many uneven steps, poorly lit.
We had a one course supper- no choice of food.
Our rooms were small, and poorly lit-no central light.
Our daughters were woken at 07.00 by barrels being rolled down the front garden- accessed from the road by a bridge with no handrails.
We had breakfast in the reception area- 3 chairs for 4 of us. The other family were asked to have breakfast in their room, as we were using the only available table.
There was a lot of coming and going in the morning, because we were told , they were hosting a 12 hour party that day. There were a lot of people around, but no-one acknowledged us- too busy getting ready for the party.
There were also several cats and dogs about.
So much for tranquility. We checked out.
Susan had not been present during our stay, but arrived when we had found another place to stay. We had a refund. She was also helpful later that morning when our taxi driver was unable to find Rafjam. By the way, Redlight, where it is suggested that you can find lunch is a very small hamlet, with few opportunities to find food.
We had been staying in another part of Jamaica , and were looking forward to this Blue Mountain venue, but were sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, all reviews are welcome as long as it is true and fair.

These guests got all the information about how our roads are in the directions i gave them
(Posted below)
Use a map of Jamaica that will direct you to Papine, in Kingston. In entering Papine there is a petrol station (the only one in Papine) pass the petrol station and take the left turn, which is Gordon Town road, take the fourth left turn which is Irish Town road, from there it is twenty to thirty minutes drive, there are signs that says rafjam bed and breakfast follow these signs, to red light square, you can ask anyone FOR REDLIGHT. in Redlight you will turn off on Hopewell Road this road is a dirt road, tell the driver before, that the road to our place is a dirt road about five minutes drive from redlight square. follow the signs that will take you directly to us. IF NOT SURE, ONCE YOU GET TO REDLIGHT YOU CAN ASK FOR SUSAN

I did say that they should let the driver know. We also offered transport to the guests and they refused. Even though they failed to understand the directions we were quite helpful by going for their baggages, since there was no car on property at the time, Theo my son and my Nephew made every effort to get their bags here. Of course we are in the Blue Mountains, it is rough terrain, I am sure these guests have knowledge of what a mountain is like....or maybe not.

The passage to the bar is Four feet wide, That is how our place is designed cannot change that. of course these guests arrived late and there was one redstripe, since we had guests previously, but they got their redstripe in less than twenty minutes, theo made sure to get some immediately so as to meet the guests need.

The WOODEN DECK at the back is a normal Verhandah with rails, the guests who were here before had no complaints and problem until this particular guests checked in, they said they were quite happy and never complained that the rails were too wide until this guest appeared, of course everywhere you go you would have to watch your children, again we are in the Mountains. This Guests actually forced the other guests to check out, after leaving them out side with their babies, with all their baggages including theirs, we were very hospitable and tried making them comffortable as possible.

Not sure what uneven steps she is talking about, must be the ones that goes down to the river and the same day these guests checked in a wooden step was built so they must have heard that from someone else. All our property has light, not sure what bad light she is talking about.

You only get a one course supper, for the price of $600Ja for a chicken meal, if otherwise stated it would have been given to them, just like all our other guests we sent our menu and ask for them to order in advance, since we cooked to order, if the guests have not ordered anything, we usually prepare something so that if they are hungry on arrival there is something for them to eat. They could have ordered from our menu when they arrived but would have to wait about an hour since everything is freshly prepared, they never complained about this at all until now. Again we are a bed and breakfast, not a hotel and we treat our guests like family not like total strangers and always go out of our way to make them happy.

The rooms you got was not small at all for the price you pay the vangogh which is a 13x13 room and the Escher which is 15x14 room which has a huge door big window and its own balcony, well lit, again the only dark room we have is the suite and we are currently putting in a sky window, which would make the room much much brighter

Again we apologise if there was any noise in the morning, but there was no barrels comming in on the property, not sure what this guest was talking about, These guests were told about the party a little late and we sincerely apologise for that.

Yes of course our small bridge has no handrails which we are currently working on, this is apart of the adventure of being in the Blue Mountains and at Rafjam.

And again i do not like when people are unfair, There was only munchie and theo at work in the morning busy preparing breakfast and dealing with these guests there was no other staff on property so when she is saying a lot of people around and no one acknowledge them, that is not true, theo was busy trying to meet these guests needs.

This property is big, these guests could have eaten in any one of the gardens, they never had a problem eating downstairs, of course a chair was removed from the table the night before and it was put back for them to have their breakfast. And it was not the only available table.

The other guests have a dining table in their room they were asked if they wanted to eat in there instead of the deck at the back and the guests said yes it was not a problem at all, they never complained once about eating in their room.

Yes i arrived at 9: 30am that morning, not because the guests were checking out, but because i was coming from Port Antonio, which is a three hour drive to Kingston. And of course we are always hospitable and always try our bests to make our guests feel comfortable, even though i had refunded the guests their balance on their deposit, They were still leaving without paying there bill, she did not want to pay she ask me if theo would have to pay it if she dont i told her yes and so she payed this bill.

All in all again we are very very sorry it turned out this way for you, but we delivered service, we were very hospitable, even though these guest were angry from the moment the entered our roads up until they leave we still helped them, after the hotel they booked sent a small little broken down jeep for them that could only hold three persons without baggage, we were still trying to find a drive and taxi for them, which we never had to.

We will maintain our tagling...SERVICE BEYOND EXPECTATIONS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

It was incredible to get away from busy Kingston (which I also liked a lot) to peaceful Rafjam that truly felt like home. Or a friend's home.
Susan, Theo and the team - nice and sincere people you may not meet everywhere in Jamaica! The stay was really good value and rooms nice and clean! The breakfast was satisfying, so was the dinner at extra cost (good food and price)! The coffee is the really good Blue Mountain coffee in the guesthouse available upon request, also books to read in the rest area...there is also WIFI!
You should definitely take a hike to the rasta community up in the mountains, once in a lifetime experience.
The great thing is that Rafjam offers pick-up from Kingston that could be quite a trip if you start coming on your own.
If you travel to Jamaica, do go party, do the beach, but also do the Blue Mountains and Rafjam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hello friend, it was a pleasure having you and are really happy you enjoyed this relaxing environment, and everything in it. Again thank you for making it Rafjam hoping to see you again soon.....Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Rafjam’s Bed & Breakfast is my home away from home! Stayed there twice while I was in Jamaica and had an awesome experience each time. I knew this would be a great place from the moment I spoke to the owner, Susan. I had arranged for a short-term apartment rental in Kingston that fell through at the last minute. Upon hearing this, Susan kindly offered to pick me up in Kingston and take me up to Irish Town. What a warm welcome! Rafjam itself is a rural paradise with a fun, family-style environment. It’s right in the heart of the Blue Mountains, and the lush scenery is spectacular. There are plenty of hammocks to chill out in. The outdoor dining area and tiki bar are also very cool. Rafjam offers different rooms tailored to your budget and all are clean, comfy, painted in vibrant colors and decorated with local crafts. I highly recommend eating there too -- the home cooked meals are delicious. If you’re looking for a fancy resort experience, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a taste of the natural beauty and authentic spirit of Jamaica, then Rafjam is perfection. Special thanks to Susan, Rafael and Theo for their hospitality!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the waterfall. It's a very peaceful sound, especially when you go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it is always a pleasure to take care of our guests, and happy you see rafjam as your home away from home. Thats our policy to treat our guests like family and to have very relaxed staff and environment, also in a clean and very comfortable setting with warm colors, in the rooms and yes!!! a Tiki Bar with the river running there is what our guests love, with hammocks all across the gardens to relax in.

Please, you are always welcome at Rafjam.

See you soon

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our first visit to Jamaica, our first night at Rafjam. After a long journey from London, we had the warmest welcome! Our brief stay in the Blue Mountains was memorable, made so by our kind hosts. The accomodation was comfortable and excellent value. The setting was stunning.
Thank you Theo, Susan, Rafael, Dav and especially William!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This spot is excellent!! Rafjam is located in the foot hills of the blue mountain near Irishtown & Red light. 30-40 min. ride to Kingsston & about 10-15 degrees cooler than Kingston. Very relaxing & calm. The road to reach Rafjam is a bit rocky but it is worth the bumps. The small community of Red light which is a simple walk to the main road is a happening place & the people are very cordial for those who like to engage in conversation. Monday nights the town of Redlight has a community road party where the business rotate from one another & have a a small community road side get together/party in the night with some good tunes, food & beer. We didn't have time to hike up to the rasta community but it is something I wish to do next time. The coffee tour was interesting & the coffee was reasonably price & very tasty (for those who like coffee I would recommend this). All in all a very nice time!! Many thanks to the Owners Susan & Rafael. Respect to Theo, John, Gracie & the rest of the crew..
We are looking forward to coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was the perfect place to hole up and reflect on life. I loved staying in the Tiki Room and relaxing in the hammocks. It was lovely to sleep to the sound of the river. I definitely recommend doing the hike up to the Rasta village but found the coffee plantation trip to be overpriced and uninspired. It was nice to get a massage, but they definitely charge U.S. prices. John, the driver, is awesome and really takes good care of you, as do Theo and Susan. Good food, but not part of the room price. They do not take credit cards, so be sure to bring plenty of cash.

Room Tip: They are all pretty nice. It just depends on how many people you are traveling with. The shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjam10, Owner at Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it and is quite happy you enjoyed the sound of the river at nights from your room and your stay. The shared bathroom never had a heater, we have installed that since and sure the guests will not have to worry about cold water in that bathroom. Our masseuse work on call, so i guess that makes her price a little bit more, she is charging 60us for a full body massage. Glad you enjoyed it. Yes the hike to the Rasta Camp is amazing, the coffee tour is about an hour and a half drive from our place so we have to pay the driver for his time and transport and so on. There are others nearby but the Twymans to us is more authentic, but i understand its not really your cup of tea. Glad you made us know how you feel about it.

John is awsome!!!! he has all the patience in the world for our guests, and of course The great team could not be completed without good staff and good management, Theo ensures that our guests are totally happy and goes out of his way.

Thank you again for a lovely review and please feel free to come back to Rafjam the next time you are visiting Jamaica......Massage treatment is complimentary once you return to Rafjam

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Wow. I am so glad to have discovered RafJam. This place is a piece of land close, close, close to Heaven. Susan, the owner..... so sweet and hospitable. Theo.... what a charm. Gracie..... made my bed and breakfast, and more importantly... my day. I have told so many about this amazing place since returning to Boston. I took so many pictures. Every corner of RafJam is beautiful. I planed to stay one night. I ventured out to find another place to stay for the second night..... but turned around to come back "home". They make you feel so at home. This place is not to be missed. Love you guys! I hope to be back in March - my birthday to stay in the new cottage. - BLESS

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature

Address: Red Light District, Irish Town, St Andrew | Blue Mountains, Irish Town, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia.The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away.Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay.Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again!Rafjam: service beyond expectation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafjam's Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages and Nature, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.