We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pentillie Castle

Save Saved
You added Pentillie Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pentillie Castle
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Mid-week theatre break
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything about Pentillie Castle is interesting and it is a wonderful place to stay. Location is beautiful right on the River Tamar, the place is steeped in history, the owners look after you superbly - it's just like staying in a country house, the food is delicious, the staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and well-appointed. Can't think of anything I could possibly criticise. A real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
86
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just been to Pentillie Castle for a second time and have to say that both experiences were fantastic. The family and staff are very welcoming. Everything is well organised and you are made to feel special. I took afternoon tea on the patio with the rest of my party and could not believe the variety of home-made cakes we were given. The bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are beautiful. You are provided with fresh coffee, tea, home-made shortbread and Pentillie's own water in your rooms. There is a choice of breakfasts, each being freshly prepared with local produce to order. The evening meal was perfect and plentiful. So far, we have stayed in the Parker, Howard and Coryton rooms and intend to return to try some of the others!

Room Tip: The Coryton Room is a little noisy if you are a light sleeper because of the clock tower chiming on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Pentillie Castle for one night in July 2013 to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's birthday. We stayed in the Coryton room which is gorgeous with a stunning vista over the River Tamar. The roll top bath and toilettries were really luxurious. Breakfast was perfect - poached eggs done to perfection, good strong coffee and a lovely view over the Tamar. We also enjoyed lounging by the pool whilst sipping champagne... heaven! The staff could not have been more helpful and polite. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Pentillie Castle for two nights at the end of April 2013. We had the most wonderful long weekend break. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was extremely comfortable and the decor superb. The luxurious slipper bath was too nice to get out of and the shower - large and powerful. We had dinner at the Castle on the Sunday night and this too was superb. The grounds are extensive and views far reaching. As I have a bad ankle we didn't walk around too much but the area that we did cover was delightful. We visited several local areas and ate at one of the local restaurants on the recommended list on the Saturday evening. I am now trying to find an excuse for another long weekend there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of July and found everything to be amazing. The warm welcome, the beautifully appointed room and huge bathroom with far reaching views of the river Tamar. The friendly service at all meals and the welcome by the family every morning at breakfast. We felt privileged to be sharing this lovely historic house and to be able to amble about the extensive grounds accompanied by the family's black Labradors. It was peaceful and relaxing. The other guests staying were sociable. All in all it was an experience we will remember for a long time and hope to repeat in the near future. Thank you Sarah, Ted and Sammie and the house team.

Room Tip: Dewhurst, Coryton and Tillie have the best views and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Dewhurst suite for four nights in June and it is an experience I will long remember. This lovely house is beautifully appointed and the decor elegant and just how you imagine an English country house should be but sometimes, unfortunately is not. No decaying elegance here! Our suite had a king size four poster bed, a lovely sitting room with tv, and a fab marble bathroom with bath and a huge walk-in shower. The bedroom and sitting room had windows looking out on the terrace and gardens down to the Tamar River. I had the opportunity of having a quick tour of most of the rooms and they were all beautifully appointed, all a slightly different decor but not a jarring note anywhere. Sarah, take a bow!! As other reviewers have noted, we really appreciated the crisp white bedlinen, elegant tea service in the room complete with home made shortbread biscuits (these made we were told by an old family retainer who has been doing so for decades, and he has obviously perfected the recipe as they were delicious).
The dinner on our first night and breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice and fresh local ingredients and the staff all friendly and helpful. All the public rooms are inviting and comfortable with plenty of reading material and it is possible to imagine that you are the lord and lady of the manor, at least for an hour or two! A walk up to the mausoleum on a late sunny afternoon was a treat with lovely views down to the Tamar river and there are at least three National Trust properties quite close that are worth a visit. Overall, a great place for a really relaxing stay and as in our case, to recoup our energies after a month's hectic travel. We will certainly be going back to stay at Pentillie and many thanks to Sarah, Ted and Sammy.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the first floor are lovely but Dewhurst is just a bit extra special with a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchuch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

loved everthing,stayed in warren room (disabled) downstairs which was the cheapest,could not fault.breakfast superb,setting views,grounds,all wonderful.hospitality and service first rate.cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pentillie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mellion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentillie Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.