We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable hotel (Hotel is renamed in "Hotel Gulpen")” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saillant Hotel Gulpen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saillant Hotel Gulpen to your Saves list
Saillant Hotel Gulpen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorpsstraat 10, 6271 BL Gulpen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gulpen
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable hotel (Hotel is renamed in "Hotel Gulpen")”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is renamed in "Saillant Hotel Gulpen".
Enjoyable stay in an upgrade room (called "suite", which it wasn't). Small bathroom, but okay.
Large room. Too small a TV to watch it lying in bed. Good breakfast and helpful personnel.
We had room 15 (on the front). Heavy traffic early in the morning. Tough when you sleep with open windows. Room17(!) seem to be pretty nice. Excellent located and strting point for walkings and cycling in the area.

Room Tip: (Free) Parking on the back of the hotel (in living area of the village)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
10
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with a groupon deal, which included a 5 course diner.
It's located in the center of Gulpen. Therefore you need to be lucky if you find a parking spot in front of the hotel. Otherwise you need to park in a residential area.
I have a suspicion that because of the groupon deal we got a room the furthest away: 311. The (free) wifi signal doesn't come that far. The room has 2 single beds with for me a perfect soft mattress. My wife though didn't like that at all.
Tv with plenty of channels. Small bathroom with a surprising spacey shower. No airco, just opening the 2 windows must do the cooling trick.
Breakfast is normal. It would be good if they had fresh orange juice and fresh sliced fruit instead of the canned fruit.
The 5 course surprise meal is quite ok. Nice touch is that the sous-chef is serving the food.
Very nice staff! Although this is quite normal in The Netherlands.
All in all a nice stay with this deal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is situated in the heart of Gulpen. From the hotel you can make beautiful walks through the fantastic landscape of Limburg.

The rooms are average and the breakfast is standard. They refurnished the rooms but with materials of a simple quality. Our bathroom was old but clean, the bed was fine. Price/quality is fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked this hotel via a Groupon deal. On arrival we were very pleased to discover we'd been upgraded to the comfort room on the top floor. It's a nice room and the beds were very comfortable. Unlike other guests we didn't find the hotel noisy.

Dinner was part of our deal and it started with well with our starters and drinks on the table within 15 minutes. However we had to wait 90 minutes for our main course! My husband went to the kitchen to ask what had happened as the restaurant staff had disappeared. It turned out our order hadn't been given through to the kitchen. When it came the portions were miniscule. Just 4 fries! But no apology or compensation was offered. One of the inexperienced waiters came over and said it was front-of-house's fault, as if that was supposed to make us feel better!

Several other couples were looking equally dissatisfied as they waited for their desserts. Our desserts took about an hour to arrive at which point my husband went to the kitchen for the 2nd time. We were thorougly annoyed by then and our evening had been ruined.

I am not one of those people who takes delight in finding fault but there is something seriously wrong with staff morale at this hotel. Restaurant staff seem inexperienced and lacking leadership.

Breakfast was better service-wise, although on Sunday they did seem overwhelmed with the amount of visitors. I am pretty sure I won't return which is a shame because with some more attention to detail it could be a nice boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Comfort room on floor 3 is quiet and relatively spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Like :
- restaurant : food, win and service
- Wifi for free including in the room
- The room and hotel decoration

Not like :
- acoustic isolation between rooms and hall : we can hear everything from the next room : toilet, shower,... Like if the person on the next take the shower in our room
- The parking is too short
- No French channel on Tv
- The view from the room

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We staid in this hotel using a voucher from a giftbox. We upgraded our room upon booking. This request was answered promptly and with clear terms of conditions.

Upon arrival there is a parking space where you need to pay. A dedicated Parking place should be on the back of the hotel, but we did not find it. We parked in the rural area (5 mins steep walk).
Nice and decent reception, though small. The ground floor is more designed for restaurant function.

Trendy design with wooden textures and grey colors.

Hotel room was large but had a steep roof causing to lose half of the space of the hotelroom. Large, trendy and clean bathroom. Pity they did not use the space for an additional shower (had to stand in the bathtub). Room had access to a shared roof terrass with view over the village.

Internet connection free of charge.

The location is nicely located halfway Valkenburg, Maastricht and Aachen. All are easily reachable by car.

Recommended hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saillant Hotel Gulpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saillant Hotel Gulpen

Address: Dorpsstraat 10, 6271 BL Gulpen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Gulpen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gulpen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saillant Hotel Gulpen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and traditional hotel offers a homey base in the beautiful Gulp Valley. Enjoy the excellent restaurant, cozy bar lounge and free Wi-Fi connection.The Hotel Gulp provides modern, tastefully decorated rooms and suites with characteristic Javanese beds. Wake up each morning with a wholesome free breakfast buffet.The attractive restaurant Entre Nous serves culinary dishes, prepared with regional and fresh products, in a warm and intimate atmosphere. The bar lounge is a great place to relax at the fireplace with a glass of wine or a coffee with a liqueur. Why not also taste a traditionally brewed Gulpener beer.Enjoy genuine Limburgian hospitality and explore this wonderful region by bike or by foot. You can easily drive to popular and historic cities, such as Maastricht, Valkenburg and Aachen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Saillant Hotel Gulpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saillant Hotel Gulpen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.