We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland

Save Saved
You added Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland to your Saves list
Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Rijksweg 20, 6271 AA Gulpen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Gulpen
Beek, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We used a Groupon for a 1 night package with dinner. The dinner was pretty good (3 courses, nice waiter), the room was so-so...small...no view. The little spa was nice but it's silly that they charge you 6 euro per bathrobe so we just walked around in towels. It was our anniversary but the hotel did not do anything special for that. Friendly front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The personnel is very friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of center town. The room is okay, it has a good shower (not in the bath, which I hate). The carpet on the floor is sisal, which is unfit for a bedroom, because you cannot walk bare feet on it (and it smells). Breakfast is not too bad, but not great. Dried out scrambled eggs and not-crispy bacon. All in all, not a bad choice, but it might be worth a try to find better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel recently. We were absolutely delighted. The hotel was beautifully furnished, we had a lovely room with a big balcony and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (all spoke English). Just a word about the carpets in the rooms - they're rather hard and scratchy, but I'd read about this beforehand so made sure to take a pair of bedroom slippers with me! We loved the breakfast room and the buffet breakfast provided was excellent. My sister made great use of the free Wi-fi connection in the lounge. If you want to use a laptop in your room you'll need to have a LAN cable with you or borrow one from the hotel. The hotel is on the outskirts of Gulpen in a fairly rural area. Whilst we were there some building works were happening next door, but there was no noise or disturbance. They were building some flats for older people, and once they're finished I don't think they will be of any detriment to the hotel. The hotel is in an ideal location to make a base for touring around and it's within very easy reach of Maastricht.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Very nice atmosphere, cozy rooms, relaxed lounge-area with WLAN, excellent restaurant Miro in the hotel and a refreshing breakfast before you start. Liked it, will come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I have stayed twice this year at the Hotel Gulpenerland, the first time in June and latterly in September both after motoring holidays in France. We like the hotel for its close proximity to Maastricht and the motorway up to the DFDS Ferry Terminal at IJmuiden. In a nutshell, the hotel is really a pleasant place to stay, very clean with comfortable beds in the room and a delightful restaurant serving top class food. A ten minute walk gets you to the small town of Gulpen where there are a number of bars/restaurants etc as well as a couple of supermarkets. Would we stay at the hotel again - Yes we certainly would and I highly recommend it. .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I booked this hotel after having researched the area for a place suitable for a romantic stay. I was lucky to find this place. We had a double luxury room, very spacious, with a comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, coffee/tea facilities, safety box, etc.

We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant of the hotel. The restaurant is called Miro and has very nice paintings of Joan Miro. The restaurant offers a 3-course dinner for a very reasonable price.

Breakfast was as well pleasant. A lot to choose from and if you are lucky to have some sun, one can have his coffee on the terrace.

We really felt welcome in this place, therefore we will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Everything good about the hotel has been said in the previous reviews. It's a nice hotel. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast. However beware if you're staying at the hotel when there's a heatwave, as we did. When we got into our room mid evening, it was like an oven, as there was no air conditioning.
We tried to cool the room down by opening the windows and curtains, but this introduced 2 things. A very unsightly view looking onto the fire exit and a run down old garage ( which is owned by the hotel ) and flies. So you either had to sleep in an oven or be kept awake at night with flies buzzing about the room. We asked at reception if there were any portable fans, but obviously this idea hadn't quite registered with the manager. Avoid room 110 if you can.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulpen
Mid-range, Inde...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Saillant Hotel Gulpen
Saillant Hotel Gulpen
#4 of 5 in Gulpen
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Gasthof Euverem
Suites, EconoLo...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Kasteel Wittem
Kasteel Wittem
#1 of 1 in Wittem
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brasserie de Kroon
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
5.5 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#1 of 6 in Heerlen
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3-star, Family...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gerardushoeve
Hotel Gerardushoeve
#4 of 12 in Epen
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland

Address: Oude Rijksweg 20, 6271 AA Gulpen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Gulpen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Gulpen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saillant Hotel Gulpenerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.