We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, staff with bad attitude, food mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roobeekweg 1, 5944 EZ Arcen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel, staff with bad attitude, food mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Rooland with a coach party. From arrival we were met with arrogant, unfriendly staff. Throughout our stay it felt like we were a nuisance and unwelcome. I have never stayed at a hotel before where there was no choice on the menu. One dish was offered for each course, tough luck if you didn't like it. Breakfast was good, but on the whole the food was mediocre. Unless you wanted to pay over 20 euros for a bottle of wine, all that was on offer was a disgusting house wine, only one. Towards the end of our stay we did meet different staff some of whom at least smiled and communicated in a friendly manner.
Rooms were comfortable if a bit tired although no tea or coffee in room. would not stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
4
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My boyfriend booked the hotel for us as a special weekend treat. It was so bad we actually did not stay although he had paid upfront. We picked up our belongings and drove back home. If this is 4**** I am from Mars. The Fletcher Group should be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed for one night at the hotel Restaurant Rooland. Our triple room was located at the 3rd floor (not renovated), facing the exhaust pipes of the ventilation. We could not open the window and there was no air conditioning. The room was very small, with also a very small bathroom. However, the worst experience was during the breakfast next day. I asked the waitress to occupy one of the several free tables facing the windows. She answered very rudely and said that I should seat at one of the rear tables, as it was reserved for my room. I insisted, and she aswered even more rudely! I am 48 years old and have travelled around the world but I have never met staff with such attitude!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Rooland for one night. We had a nice and clean room. The only disadvantage was that it was situated on a busy road, so it was a bit noisy. I certainly would recommend people to stay here for one or two nights to go to the thermal bath or Hertog Jan brewery. Longer then a couple of days would get a bit boring.
There is one thing we did that I would reccomend no one! We had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel..... It tasted like everything had been cooked days ago and was just preheated in the microwave. Beside that it all tasted the same and more then half of our plates were covered in potatoes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland

Address: Roobeekweg 1, 5944 EZ Arcen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Arcen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant Rooland is located on the border of the pretty village of Arcen in the beautiful landscape of northern Limburg. There is a bar and spacious patio with barbecue facilities. The comfortable rooms are equipped with TV and desk. And some of the rooms have a sitting area. There is also a restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious dinner. The village center of Arcen, with its beautiful gardens, is only 5 minutes away. Also the German border is close by and in 45 minutes you will reach the city center of Eindhoven. Various walking and cycling routes surrounding the hotel bring you to the rich flora and fauna areas of the Meuse valley and National Park Maasduinen. You can rent bikes at Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.