We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great placebo stay for the Walk of the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Graafseweg 699 | 6603 CE, 6603 CE Wijchen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wijchen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great placebo stay for the Walk of the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here together with 3 friend to join the walk of the world "de Nijmeegse-vier-daagse". The family hotel has adapted its high quality services to the walk of the world participants in an excellent way. Umberto offers a great breakfast and super dinner. The rooms are nice and quiet with good beds shower and bath.
We will be back again next year.
There is a bus connection to Nijmegen or one can go by bike in 30 minutes to the centre of Nijmegen.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visit Wijchen every 2 years on a football exchange and we booked 11 rooms with 6 in the New section and 5 in the old section. The New section rooms are spacious and worth the price per night. The old section reflects that some work needs on modernising but the price reduction reflects this. We had a meal on the Friday evening and because most of us eat together, the meals were a little staggered and one was forgotten, but this was addressed quickly and at 477.00 euros for 19 of us including steaks & drinks which were big and cooked to requirements. Chips and Veg wasn't restricted so this was a very enjoyable meal and great value. Breakfasts are good and the staff are very friendly with good English. Bob and Ilse Jansen are great hosts so well recommended and we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the modern section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stopped by the hotel as it was convenient and reasonably priced. A welcome smile and a very helpful reception. Rooms clean and well appointed with free WiFi. Restaurant was welcoming but regretfully I was not satisfied in the way the Chief prepared and presented my Dorade or Guilt Head Bream. It looked as if the chief had a bad day. Nevertheless, looking at all the other food that he was sending out of the kitchen it looked well presented and appetising.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubicon, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I travel to Wijchen often for work and stay at the hotel. There aren't any restaurants within walking distance but there doesn't need to be. I had a plate of duck breast and lamb in a red wine sauce with mixed vegetables, some I have never heard of before- all wonderful. The hotel restaurant is small, cozy and so the proprietors like Bob become friends. Great food, service, menu choices you can't get many places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, more like a motel really, but the restaurant is absolutely wonderful. Staff are very friendly, speak English, and nothing is too much trouble for them! The only thing I would say is that there were no facilities in the bedrooms for making tea and coffee, but this is common abroad, anyway. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel is tucked away in a very nice residential neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great people on staff. I arrived early and they had a room ready that was comfortable and allowed me to get a bunch of work done. Beds were comfortable and I slept well. Any concerns I had were addressed quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at Hotel Umberto with our soccer team. And since soccer club vv Alverna is just a 1 minute walk from the hotel, the location is perfect. The service was very good, so was breakfast and the sports meal (pasta) they made for us. The night out in Wijchen was fun, a little village and just a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The 2nd night we went to Nijmegen, just 15 minutes by bus, which stops close to the hotel. The room was perfect and the beds comfy. The shower and toilet are small, but clean. So just a great hotel to stay if you are on trainings camp or like it quit around you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto

Address: Graafseweg 699 | 6603 CE, 6603 CE Wijchen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wijchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wijchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant-Zalen Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.