We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantatic museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kroller-Muller Museum

Kroller-Muller Museum
Houtkampweg 6, 6731 AW Otterlo, Ede, The Netherlands
+31 (0) 318 59 12 41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Otterlo
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kroller Muller Museum features one of the largest Van Gogh collections and the largest sculpture garden in Europe.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantatic museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Kroller Muller museum is located in a national park (Hoge Veluwe), approximately 1 hour east of Utrecht by the national road. The drive is beautiful and once you reach the outside of the park, drive carefully. We almost hit an enormous deer that jumped out but as we were driving under the limit we only scared each other! The park is stunning. You can bicycle but we didn't because it was raining. The museum is fantastic. We loved it. It had very few visitors and the collection of Van Gogh is stunning. It is the biggest after the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam. It has a lot of the early period, the "nature mortes" (a stunning sunflowers-see photos), the "Potato Eaters" and the yellow "Cafe Terrace at night".

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    88
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice museum with great sculpture garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice modern art museum centered in National Park De Hoge Veluwe.
Beautifull selection of Van Gogh paintings and great exhibitions.
Do visit the sculpture garden!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the museum u have to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

this is probably the best museum i've ever visited, and i'm always happy to visit it again and again...
It has a very large collection in a unique atmosphere. It's not cheap, but what u get for it is enormous. U get scenery, indoor and outdoor, there's a kids-parcour, its just fabulous.
Get up early, and stay up late! visit the museam and visit the park on a free white bike afterwards, i'm sure u want to go back there afterwards!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Van Gogh and Seurat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice modern museum set within a national park. If you arrive by bus at the gate you pay for entry to the park (and museum separately) but can then use one of the 1,500 free "white" bikes which are dotted around the place. It's a good few kilometres in tho so leave plenty of time if you're travelling this way.

There's plenty of wildlife about and viewing posts to watch it.

Inside the museum, great exhibition with Van Goghs being the main attraction. At the moment there is also a visiting collection of Seurats from various museums and collections worldwide.

As well as the above, there's an interesting collection of works from various other impressionists.

Staff friendly and unobtrusive, in my view, compared to museums and galleries in the UK.

There's a cafeteria serving drinks and snacks. Nice and not too expensive.

For 2 of us and a car for admission to the park and gallery it was Euro 41. My top tip would be to go early and get your money's worth.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“van gogh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

In the advertisments about the museum you will read that there are about 250 pictures of Van Gogh.
When you visit the museum you will find only 40-50 pictures. I have been told that, rest of the pictures are stored and exhibited only periodically.
So don't expect for more!!
Anyway, the museum is very impressive and also the sculptures garden.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kroller-Muller Museum also viewed

 
Oosterbeek, Gelderland Province
Apeldoorn, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Kroller-Muller Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kroller-Muller Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.