We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kon Julianalaan 32, 6576 AS Ooij, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Ontario, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Everything in the area was pretty expensive, so we stayed out in this little town. It was still a bit pricey, but the best considering. The room was good. Great free wi-fi. Great breakfast. The balcony had a big enough gap on the bottom for our 1 year old to fall through. We didn't get the crib we'd requested. The shower floor is the same as the bathroom floor, so water gets pretty much everywhere. Fortunately they had an elevator. Easy parking right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
7
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed there for one night on a visit to close-by Nijmegen. Pretty comfortable and the breakfast buffet was nice. We considered it great value for money when compared to the rest of the hotels we stayed on during the trip.
We would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had been there last year for the first time. We liked it but noticed room for improvement: noise, for example. So this time we booked a room on the ground floor, with no connections with other rooms. Good, spacy,clean room. As Ooy is a tiny village, life after 20.00 hrs. is non-existent and so is the noise. No trouble with noisy neighbours.
The choice of food for dinner is limited but quality is good. We can recommend the "chef's specialty" being fish croquettes He also produced an excellent musterd soup. Breakfast was ok : nothing out of the ordinary, but who wants out of the ordinary for breakfast?:
Overall service was firendly. A very pleasant stay,indeed..

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor if you can: those are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights too long in this hotel through Palmer/Glenton Holidays for the Floriade. Whilst the rooms allocated were nice and clean, the toilets were high off the ground - they must think that everyone is as tall as a giraffe (maybe they should provide a step up). The food left a lot to be desired. It was basic with not a lot of choice. Food was not to standard - sometimes half cooked. If we had been staying a week we would have starved. The drinks were over the top price-wise - even charged for tap water. The staff were rather surly and unhelpful. Breakfast was absymal. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't bother - all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a coach package for the Floriade. As the heading says, the food is good, hot, and served well. However, there is only a daily choice of 3 main courses - meat, fish or vegetarian. There is no option for soup/ fruit juice (unless you pay extra for the fruit juice from the bar) and there is no choice of sweet. In addition, if you want a bread roll with the soup it's €3.50 extra. No - I didn't mistype - it's 3 and a half Euro for a bread roll. If you want a glass of tap water it's a further €1.00 extra.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a 'consumption' card for each room, with a list of the various types of drink available from the bar (beer, spirits, wine etc). This is then your bar 'tab'. There was a note at the bottom that the consumption card must be handed in the evening before your departure and a lost card would be charged at €100 !!!!
Whenever drinks were ordered, the bar staff always asked for that card - sometimes insisting - rather than cash. Result? You didn't know the cost of your drinks until the card was presented at reception. By then it was too late to know that the cost of even a modest bottle of wine was €20. One of our party asked for their part-used bottle of wine to be stored for the next evening's meal. It arrived with 25cl ( a third of the bottle) of wine missing.
Rooms!! Clean, with a firm though comfortable bed, but cheap, tacky flatpack desk and bedside cabinets. Our desk had just 3 small drawers - one of which was broken. The hotel doors are thin, cheap panelled ones and you can hear noises of people moving around, flushing the toilet, taking a shower or watching tv. Packet snacks were available on a small tray, but at €2.00 for a small packet of crisps and €2.00 for a bottle of lukewarm spring water I wasn't tempted to sample them.
Location: In the middle of a housing estate. Rather odd for a hotel but admittedly noises from cars, children playing outside etc, stopped as the evening wore on.
There is a computer for guest use and also WIFI. To use either you must subscribe to a Dutch internet provider in prepaid units. You can however use the same provider at different WIFI hotspots (in bars, restaurants etc) at many different locations. As ever, the more you use the cheaper it becomes.
Staff: Friendly, polite always .... but if there was a problem they had to wait until the manager was in the building. Presumably he/ she didn't have a phone. I asked one of the staff for some local information but she didn't know anything as she came to work from a different area,

I have given the hotel an average rating purely because the food was good. I drank beer with my meal and paid cash, so I didn't have problems the others had.

I will not be using this hotel, or any other Fletcher hotel again.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms. See other reviews before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I found the room comfortable, shower was excellent, the bar, was a bit scruffy and it did smell of damp. The staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good, bread excellent and nice coffee. There was however a lot of noise from other guests at night, the staff did not seem to be responding to this.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. Bedrooms and en-suite beautifully clean, and comfy bed. Breakfast good. Friendly, helpful staff. Down side was the connecting door to another bedroom (great if a family wanting adjacent rooms) mentioned by recent reviewer. We experienced same problem - noisy neighbours who didn't mean to be! Could hear ordinary conversations and TV in morning, early evening and until 10pm. This spoilt the quietude of the location so wouldn't return and if wanting to stay at another Fletcher Hotel (it is a chain) would enquire whether they also had connecting doors.
Go up onto roof terrace (in need of some TLC) for all round view of area.
Short walk down country lane to the river where there is a seat for watching the barges going up and down. Also lovely round walk clockwise along river and back to Ooij. We were told it was also possible to hire bicycles at the hotel - there was a cycle track nearby.
Supermarket 2 minutes away well stocked but closed on Sunday and not open until 10am on Monday. Closes about 6pm.
Almost next to hotel, pizza and icecream outlet and good cafe which served food until about 9pm. Staff friendly and helpful in translating menu!

Room Tip: Select a room without connecting doors if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooij
3.0 mi away
Hampshire Landgoedhotel - Holthurnsche Hof
2.4 mi away
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Erica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Landgoed Jachtslot de Mookerheide
5.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Wolfsberg
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort

Address: Kon Julianalaan 32, 6576 AS Ooij, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ooij
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort is situated just outside of Nijmegen and just outside of the delightful village of Ooij. This charming and comfortable hotel is the perfect place to stay if you would like to discover the Gelderse Poort. The Gelderse Poort is a unique nature reserve between Arnhem, Nijmegen and Emmerich where you can walk or cycle for hours. Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort offers you all of the comfort and facilities for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The charming restaurant serves a wide range of delicious dishes, something for everyone's taste. The hotel also has a patio where you can enjoy a beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.