We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want something special?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oortjeshekken Hotel

Oortjeshekken Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooij
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oortjeshekken Hotel
Save
You added Oortjeshekken Hotel to your Saves list
Erlecomsedam 4, 6576 Ooij, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You want something special?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Oortjeshekken is a small lodgement less than 10 rooms, in the suburbian of Nijmegen. Environment is great and service perfect. But than again, please notice no television, no wifi in the room and no mini bar nor airco. Food is average to okay. I love it, like I love monastries.

Room Tip: Choose "opkamer" which offers three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Oortjeshekken really has the best of both worlds. It is right in the middle of the Ooijpolder (great views, lovely walks, nature, silence), and at a very close distance from the lovely city of Nijmegen. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable, and have great period charm. Ours, the Koninckskamer, had a wonderful view of the garden (and beyond) and a private terrace. Oortjeshekken was always famous for its scrumptious breakfast, and although it has changed owners twice, breakfast is still inimitable. Staff are jolly and chatty. Prices very reasonable.

Room Tip: We loved the Koninckskamer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Nice, cosy hotel at the dike of the wide river Waal, not far from Nijmegen. There are bicycles for rent, or you can walk in the wild nature of the Ooij Polder with special horses.. We enjoyed the food of the resturant outside on the charming terrace, Staff friendly but service was slow.
Rooms comfortable, good for reading, there is no tv. Attractive nice and quiet garden behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Sober but friendly, familylike hotel on a fantastic location, next to the river Waal. Nature in reach. Wild herds of cows and horses roam nearby.
Nice rooms, nice food en friendly staff.
Extensive breakfast.
Nijmegen and Arnhem nearby for the neccessary cultural activities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

We went there for diner after a splendid day at the Bisonbaai (just across the road) but found the whole place a big disappointment! Service was below all standards, the food was mediocre for the price they charged - we even had to pay for a desert we never had: we asked for some cheese for desert but we were told this was not possible since "the kitchen was too busy" ..... We went completely desillusioned....

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooij hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oortjeshekken Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oortjeshekken Hotel

Address: Erlecomsedam 4, 6576 Ooij, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ooij
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oortjeshekken Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.