We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not camping, but in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Princess Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Princess Hotel Victoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woeste Hoefweg 80, 7351 TP Hoenderloo, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoenderloo
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not camping, but in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a great location this property is in, in a wooded area, with the rooms being spread over
a multi-acre sized treed area, where the buildings are 2 storey and contain approx 6-8 rooms per unit,with them sufficiently apart that you do not feel blocked in.
Room was fine except for the narrow circular staircase you need to climb...difficult with a larger
suitcase.
Resteraunt in the main building was good, with good selection of both hot & cold food available.
We stayed for 3 days in November

Room Tip: Try for the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
41
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a multi-building resort-like complex in an isolated location in the woods near the Veluwe park. It's very well-kept and comfortable although showing a little age here and there. The clientele seems to be entire football teams and elderly couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a weekend visit for two nights. The hotel is novel in that there are many rooms spread out across a spacious campus right in the forest with rabbits galore and situated near some great natural 'wilderness' (for NL anyway). The room we had was a 1st floor right at the far end of the complex. The ground floor rooms with a sliding window door were a bit pricey at 99 euro. We got a cheap deal from the internet with bike hire included for a day. There is free wi-fi and you can always contact the reception by phone. Although there is a climbing wall and adventure playground for the kids the place kind of a Butlins feel to it to be honest which doesn't fit in with the 4* assessment of itself. Small (empty) fridge which had difficulty working and no-one had cleaned the windows or window sills for an age. Breakfast was good although there were let downs like day old 'fresh' fruit salad. If travelling by bus from Arhmen there is a 4km walk SOUTH from the wok restaurant. The stop for the 191 nearest the hotel doesn't exists anymore. We phoned the reception an no-one had a clue how to get there from the main road which was irritating. How much trouble would it be to put it on the official website seeing as the Netherlands has a well established public transport system?. Maybe clients with cars are expected but this is adopting the old corporate philosophy in the 21C in my opinion.

Room Tip: These are at a variable price which dictates what you are offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Beautiful setting in the woods. Room was set back from the centre up a wobbly spiral staircase. Beds very squidgy due to cheap mattress. Ensuite a bit tired but functional. Pool pleasant but small.
Nice bar and restaurant. All staff have excellent English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Staying at this hotel in bitter icy weather was far from ideal but it was the closest lodgings to our large group's work in nearby Harskamp. The rooms are very spread out across parkland in at least three different buildings and, from talking to my colleagues, are variable in size and quality. The main building houses the reception, restaurant and bar, and small seating areas, around pretty courtyards, as well a giving access to the swimming pool at the rear.
No porters on arrival so the (female) receptionist helped me drag my bags to/from my room through the snow. They did find a man to go and collect it on departure. The staff were very obliging at all levels.
I was put off by reports of climbing steep spiral stairs, especially with my heavy luggage) and asked on arrival for a ground floor room. I ended up in the smallest double room I have ever seen (in the 3 series block), the double bed just fitted into the corner beside the door, minimal storage space for 12 days of winter clothes so most had to be left packed in my suitcase on the floor at the foot of the bed, thus blocking the way to the armchair which was squeezed between the foot of the bed and the window. Tiny working desk which I quickly filled with papers, hat and gloves, etc. and then used the chair as a bed side table up against the door. No bedside light but the switch to the main light was conveniently located beside the door/bed, along with two plug sockets. Above the worktop was a wall-mounted lamp and a small TV with five or six local Dutch channels only. Spent any spare time lying on the bed doing emails. Nowhere to put any luggage away even if I had unpacked it. It felt like a cell and I was glad we were working such long hours. It would have been impossible for two people to stay there. At least it was warm once I had turned on the radiators.
Minibar is empty on arrival but can be filled on application to reception; I learned the hard way that I could have filled it with bottles of mineral water from the local garage, for the price of each bottle that I was billed by the hotel - and then there was no bottle opener.
Pleasant small shower room and good towels and linens.
Breakfast buffet was very good and they arranged it earlier than usual for our group. The only night that was free for dinner, I ate with a colleague in their smart conservatory-style restaurant and had a good, if rather expensive, meal. The menu is seasonal and included a lot of game; I had the wild boar and my colleague a steak, both were OK but not exceptional. Their house red wine by the glass was (unusually for house wine) excellent. The service was not very good, given the few other diners, in that they forgot one of our side dishes, and no one was around whenever we needed to order anything else after the initial order.
The breakfast room and restaurant are very large although we saw no other guests except at the weekend. I imagine in the summer the hotel might get full and also attract local residents.
The bar staff obligingly found the Six Nations Rugby for us on their big screen TV (even though this is decorated as a football enthusiasts' bar). The bar stocks Murphy's bitter among continental lager beers (at a price) and has, immediately adjacant, two lanes of ten pin bowling (but you need to score for yourself if in a group as the scoring mechanism was stuck on one sole payer). There are also quieter corners to the bar and an attractive (gas, mock-wood burning) fireplace; there is a large outside terrace (with what looked like rattan furniture under the snow).
I did not feel like trudging all the way over to the (indoor) swimming pool, given the weather, but some colleagues did and reported that it was warm but shallow. Some also used the fitness room and the sauna (which is charged for and has to be booked in advance to allow it to heat up).
The cleaning of the room was surprisingly very hit and miss, especially the bathroom. I ended up cleaning the lavatory myself as clearly no one else was dping so.
I was left with an overwhelming impression of staying in a youth hostel, not what I was expecting from a Golden Tulip.
This would be a good place to come for a few summer days to visit the nearby art gallery/museum and/or walk in the woods. Families with or without children could benefit from the many sporting activities available and I imagine the grounds would look charming in daylight and sunshine.
I cannot comment on the rates as the accommodation was being paid for by my client.

Room Tip: Look at them before accepting any room, if you have the time and stamina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel in scenic setting. Good base for walking and touring in the area . Excellent sports ameneties and a good restaurant . There is even a bowling alley in the bar. The bar is expensive but relaxing. The reception staff are very helpful. The hotel is good base if you are touring the area but a car is essential as it is away from good transport links.It is often used by National football teams for training as the complex has a full sized football pitch and excellent sports facilities.

Room Tip: Some rooms are only accessible by a narrow spiral staircase in one of the blocks , so avoid, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In the middle of nowhere. No so easy to find. Hotel is situated in a nice park. The main building has a reception, restaurant and bar. The rooms are spread all over the park, so it requires some walking (which is healthy). But the rooms are not very charming. Basic interior, dull colors. It did not give me a warm "at-home"-feeling, which some hotels are able to create. My room was on the first floor. The staircase to the first floor was too small and steep. The rooms are not well sound isolated. The food in the restaurant was below average. Not a 4 star quality, but the room-rate was accordingly. Probably a good location to visit with kids in summertime

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Victoria

Address: Woeste Hoefweg 80, 7351 TP Hoenderloo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Hoenderloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoenderloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Victoria Hoenderloo Hotel is located on an estate of 14 hectares in the middle of the Veluwe. The central location of the hotel on the Hoge Veluwe in the vicinity of the A1 and A50 makes the hotel easily accessible. The hotel is the nature of Varenna, Deelerwoud the Loenermark and 8 kilometers from the National Park Hoge Veluwe. The location is an ideal venue for meetings / courses, festivals and parties and other gatherings! The hotel offers 11 multifunctional meeting rooms / conference rooms and banqueting facilities for up to 250 people. Victoria has a long experience in organizing training camps for football. The football pitch is renowned at home and abroad and is known among other residence of the Dutch national team. Our team is ready for you, we would like to welcome you to Hotel Princess Victoria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Princess Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hoenderloo
Hoenderloo Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.