We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Must See' if you are in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Liberation Museum 1944 - 1945

National Liberation Museum 1944 - 1945
Wylerbaan 4, Groesbeek, The Netherlands
+31 24 3974404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Groesbeek
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Dover
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A 'Must See' if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Didn't look that big from the car park but managed to spend four hours (including lunch) looking at all the exhibits. My wife and I learned so much about the war in the area. The parachute shaped centrepiece contains the names of all the 156,000 allied personnel buried in Holland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worth an hour or two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One line lingers....."The Germans stole our land, the Canadians stole our hearts". A great exhibition of the daily life of the Dutch and how they suffered and were freed by the allies. A worthy memorial to the soldiers and the Dutch population

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“War brides exhibit is a 'must see'.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I would strongly recommend a visit to this wartime museum to view a most interesting exhibit which just opened on June 6. It is the work of a very talented artist, BEVERLY TOSH from Calgary, Alberta Canada. 22 individual paintings of war brides who married Canadian soldiers and emigrated to Canada are portrayed in stunning realism and sensitivity along with a brief history of each bride. It represents a time in wartime history that resulted in Canadian Netherlands bonds that persist today. There is much more and it will be of particular interest to all Canadians and Dutch people. The museum is large and exhibits enough to keep visitors engaged for a day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is our second visit to the National Liberation Museum with our last one over 10 years ago. The museum has not changed a great deal in that time and provides a very informative insight into life in the Netherlands Pre, during and Post Nazi occupation, focusing on Operation Market Garden in September 1944. At present there is a special exhibition on the plight of Jewish families that were depatched to Vught Concentration Camp prior to the children being separated and sent off to death camps further east. The individual stories that are arranged around the room really bring home the suffering that these familes must have gone through and combined with the artefects from their past really make this special exhibition particularly poignant. I could mark the museum down on it's catering facilities but this seems a bit churlish so I won't.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but dated exhibition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Although this museum has a great selection of memorabelia and information about the second World War, the way it is shown is a little dated. Sometimes complicated for kids, but still interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Liberation Museum 1944 - 1945 also viewed

Groesbeek, Gelderland Province
Overloon, North Brabant Province
 
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Oosterbeek, Gelderland Province
 

Been to National Liberation Museum 1944 - 1945? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Liberation Museum 1944 - 1945, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.