We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique concept, excellent flavours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha House

Cha House
Arnhemseweg 20, Ede, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Ede
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique concept, excellent flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is really something else. I had dinner here with a family of 4 and was surprised by the great variety of dishes. The fact that we opted for fish and vegetarian only did not compromise this diversity. The concept is more or less similar to that in a typical 'Tapas restaurant' and we decided to follow the Chefs choice in composing a three-course dinner for us because we simply couldn't choose. All dishes were very good; flavours we never tasted before.

Two minor things worth noting: the waiting time in between courses is rather long (up to 45 minutes in between courses) and what you will pay for your dinner in the end greatly depends on whether you put your own menu together (e.g. you can choose less and/or cheaper dishes) or you let the chef choose for you (three full courses was quite a lot and resulted in an accordingly priced bill...).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided to try the in-house restaurant in the hotel where we stayed, so we booked a table for 19:30 and went downstairs when when it was time.

We started with their "Asian bites" (they have an English menu available!) which was a couple of steamed dumplings, some sushi and sashimi, fresh salmon and fresh scallop - very nice! In fact, the whole meal was delicious! The dishes were smaller, more like tapas style, so you could try more. Well worth it.

Had Kasteel Donker (a Belgian 11% beer) with the food, as it was the only dark beer on the menu, but it was very tasty and was served in impressive Kasteel glasses.

This restaurant is probably the only reason we'd decide to go back to Ede. Well worth a visit, even if the town itself didn't seem to have much going for it, from a touristy point of view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Astonishing flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had dinner with my parents here last weekend and the one thing which made me write this review was the astonishing flavor of each and every dish we ordered. If you like spicy I recommend the Tausi Beef and if you like sweet then try the Sweet Chili Monkfish.

The menu only contains dishes which can easily be shared with your table companions, and I recommend you share, so you can taste as much of them as possible!

The location isn’t as great as the menu but don’t let that hold you back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Asian food - a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ate here last night - just arrived at the hotel and because it was raining we didn't want too walk too far so decided to eat here just expecting a standard Chinese restaurant. Absolutely loved the food, the monkfish was amazing but everything was fantastic. The waitress gave us great advice about what foods would work together and between 2 of us we had 7 dishes which were all great and we had a small space to share a "grand dessert" - FANTASTIC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really great sushi & good thai! Fine dining asian style...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Just started but great asian food, really well balanced menu! Small portions so you can try and taste lots of different dishes!

Been there two different occasions and both times got service that suited!

Can't wait to visit again when I'm in town...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha House also viewed

 
Ede, Gelderland Province
Ede, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Cha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.