We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel; good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atalanta 10, 8472 CA Wolvega, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel; good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel on a choir trip. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was particularly good with full shower and a big bath.

The breakfasts were excellent and we had one buffet dinner which was also very good. The wines were reasonably priced

I couldn't fault this hotel as a place to stay for a few days

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are best as they overlook a lake that has lots of birdlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here very recently (Sept 2013) with a large group attending a business event in Emmeloord, and had stayed here 4 years previously so knew it was good. This hotel is spacious, and comfortable with good food (but not too expensive). Rooms are large and most or all have a private verandah. Watch out for mosquitos if your room overlooks the water. Generally this was a good base for a business group, and breakfast and dinner was very good on all days. The bar is very comfortable and drinks not outrageous. Sometimes the service was a little brusque at dinner when our group was ordering, but nothing major; probably due to misunderstandings with the ordering. There is free WiFi all through the hotel, which is great, and there is plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have tea and coffee making facilities, so ask if you want this. Avoid leaving your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a great 1 night stop my sister and i found when we followed a hotel sign on the A32 coming from Giethoorn.
When enquiring about the prices we were told they had a last minute/standby special. We paid 80Euro for a luxury room and breakfast was included.
The room was large, clean, comfortable. We were on the ground floor facing the lake. The bathroom was huge and included a separate shower and a big bath, great for a long soak.
We ate at the onsite restaurant, the service was exceptional and the food was fabulous and we thought the prices were reasonable.
We were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. There was not a great choice of cereals, the pancakes were never refilled the whole time we were there and the bacon and eggs seemed to have been sitting there too long.
The reception staff for both check in and out were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I travelled to Wolvega last week for a business trip and i had to spend 4 days in this hotel. If you take into account that is a little remoted, all the other sound perfect. The rooms are really spacious and you can play football! If you are lucky enough end you have an even number of room (122, 124 etc.) then you also have a wonderful view on the river. Breakfast was sufficient enough. There was variety of products; however it was not something special. Main weakness was the lack of sweeties. Lunch and dinner buffet were excellent. I would definitely recommend it as well if you are a fan of ice skating as there is a stadium just 10 minutes away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff was amazing and so was our room. We booked it in october 2012 for 1 night for a family visit and had the perfect stay. The ambiance is to die for and you are really taken care of by the staff. We had a buffet diner, which I really recommend, and it was to a very high standard same as the breakfast the next morning, this was even better and the choice is really overwhelming. The room was the size of a ballroom, that big!! The bed was at least king size and it had everything you which to find in your hotel room. The only negative thing I have is that van der Valk has 140 x 90 cm duvets which I find really odd. I really hope they will take in consideration that people nowadays are longer, (and sometimes even) bigger and to a great certainty have llits-jumeaux's at home!! But except this minor detail the hotel is amazing and I could recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering to stay here. Just book it it is a real value for money. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was very good, very big and spacious. It was quit. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice. I will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 1 night with no Pre-booking. The rooms are big and spacious and has everything one needs but are nothing special. The Resturant was a bit noisy so we ate in the large bar area with a nice fire place. Food was good and well priced. The view from our room was very nice. Nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Address: Atalanta 10, 8472 CA Wolvega, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Wolvega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.