We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
Atalanta 10, 8472 CA Wolvega, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wolvega
Central Coast NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a great 1 night stop my sister and i found when we followed a hotel sign on the A32 coming from Giethoorn.
When enquiring about the prices we were told they had a last minute/standby special. We paid 80Euro for a luxury room and breakfast was included.
The room was large, clean, comfortable. We were on the ground floor facing the lake. The bathroom was huge and included a separate shower and a big bath, great for a long soak.
We ate at the onsite restaurant, the service was exceptional and the food was fabulous and we thought the prices were reasonable.
We were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. There was not a great choice of cereals, the pancakes were never refilled the whole time we were there and the bacon and eggs seemed to have been sitting there too long.
The reception staff for both check in and out were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I travelled to Wolvega last week for a business trip and i had to spend 4 days in this hotel. If you take into account that is a little remoted, all the other sound perfect. The rooms are really spacious and you can play football! If you are lucky enough end you have an even number of room (122, 124 etc.) then you also have a wonderful view on the river. Breakfast was sufficient enough. There was variety of products; however it was not something special. Main weakness was the lack of sweeties. Lunch and dinner buffet were excellent. I would definitely recommend it as well if you are a fan of ice skating as there is a stadium just 10 minutes away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff was amazing and so was our room. We booked it in october 2012 for 1 night for a family visit and had the perfect stay. The ambiance is to die for and you are really taken care of by the staff. We had a buffet diner, which I really recommend, and it was to a very high standard same as the breakfast the next morning, this was even better and the choice is really overwhelming. The room was the size of a ballroom, that big!! The bed was at least king size and it had everything you which to find in your hotel room. The only negative thing I have is that van der Valk has 140 x 90 cm duvets which I find really odd. I really hope they will take in consideration that people nowadays are longer, (and sometimes even) bigger and to a great certainty have llits-jumeaux's at home!! But except this minor detail the hotel is amazing and I could recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering to stay here. Just book it it is a real value for money. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was very good, very big and spacious. It was quit. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice. I will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 1 night with no Pre-booking. The rooms are big and spacious and has everything one needs but are nothing special. The Resturant was a bit noisy so we ate in the large bar area with a nice fire place. Food was good and well priced. The view from our room was very nice. Nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in the hotel while attending a conference on site. The hotel was good with nice spacious rooms, the restaurant offered a very nice buffet stype breakfast and lunch, whilst evening dining was also enjoyable. If you're travelling in the area, you should have no complaints here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the hotel while traveling in north Netherlands. The hotel was a great base with nice spacious rooms, very good breakfast, and very kids friendly. We had rooms in the ground floor and the kids had much fun walking out thr room back door to a big lawn and the close (50 M.) lake side.

We ate supper twice there. The food was good, the stuff very tolerance to the kids special request, but service was slow.

BTW - Freisland area in the north of Holland is a lovely place to travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Address: Atalanta 10, 8472 CA Wolvega, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Wolvega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wolvega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.