We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but needs warmth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee

Save Saved
You added Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badweg 4, 8881 HB West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location, but needs warmth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I am frequent travaller to Paal 8, usually with family, little kids, grandparents etc . We absolutely love the location right at the beach and at biking distance from both West and Midsland. Rooms are nice and roomy, and views on the ocean side are great. On the downsite, the hotel is build a couple of years ago and there were not able to give it some really warmth and caracter. I like modern buildings however this has a cold, sterile feel to it in just too many places. When the weather is bad you want to drink a bottle of wine in front of the fireplace. However the hotel only has a couple of little couches, jut enough for 10 guests to sit at. You cannot really sit at the bar either as it is right in the middle of a large room. With some interior design trics this hotel would look so much better.
Breakfast is a large buffet with good choices and is included in the price. The waiters act a bit funny when you order a cappuccino for breakfast, which should be not problem (and should be included in the price) in a hotel of this level. Overal: great summer hotel due to its location, in the winter would not recommend it due to sterile interior design.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in Sandton hotel Paal 8 and enjoyed it thouroughly! Our room was much bigger than expected, we had hotelcheques so it was real good value for money. The seperate living-room was a big bonus and the balcony was large. The bathroom was spacious, with a big showercubicle and a large bath. Handy that the toilet was next to the livingroom, we didn't have to disturb our 3 year old, when he was in bed in the evening. There was a coffeemaker, a hotwater kettle, a cd/radio, a small fridge, a hairdryer and 2 (!) lcd tv's (one in the livingroom and one in the bedroom). There were even 2 bathrobes, you could use. The breakfast is buffetstyle and it was really good. Nice fresh bread, croissants, fresh orangejuice, coffee and tea, meusli, 4 kinds of meat, 3 kinds of cheese, (softboiled) eggs, fresh fruit and much more. Staff was very friendly and cooperative. The pool is relatively small, but more than enough space. We swam for 2 nights and were the only ones in the water. There is a sauna and a turkish steambath, both small but good. The carpark is a small walk from the hotel. The location is excellent, it is a 2 minute walk to the beach/sea. We were lucky to have excellent weather, so we spent a lot of time at the (almost empty) beach. Terschelling is a nice island, beautiful nature and some nice enough small towns. The island is excellent for walking and biking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Recommended by a friend as a great place to stay and we were not disappointed. Although the hotel is set in the dunes on the opposite side of the island the local bus service synchronises it's timetable to and from the ferry. The best way to see the island is by bicycle and you can hire these at the hotel and enjoy miles of cycling routes through the dunes and down to West Terschelling town. The local beach is superb too as are most of beaches around the island. After a day out discovering the island it was wonderful to return to the comfort of the Hotel, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable, good hot power showers, the only downside I thought was the lack of toiletries in the bathroom which I thought was rather mean for a luxury expensive hotel. Particularly in these difficult days of travelling with liquids. I would have expected at least shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. There is also a complimentary spa ie pool, sauna and steam room, most welcome after a day's cycling. Although avoid school holidays if you want to enjoy a quiet relaxing time. The breakfasts were the best on our week long tour of northern Netherlands and we were very impressed with the food in general. Normally, we prefer to dine away from of our Hotel but in this case I would say the Paal 8 offers some of the best food on the island.
Another downside of this hotel, more irritating than costly is the fact you have to buy credit to gain internet access. An Hotel presenting itself as 4/5 Star should provide this service free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Europe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights here in the summer of 2006. The hotel looked very new. The summer was warm, the hotel was too (no airco!).

The room was spaceous with a seperate living area. The hotel was impeccable clean (new!).

Though not much to do, you have to make your own entertainment.

Good for relaxing... if your party lets you!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

I stayed here 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. My standards are high and I must say I was impressed by the accomodation, the surroundings and the entire time in Terschelling. This hotel is fantastic, it has everything - the accomodation is spacious and serviced daily. There are 2 restaurants serving good food and the area is truley stunning. You could go here summer or winter, its a holiday like no other. The dunes are so gorgoeus and make you feel like you are somewhere...but not quite sure where. The beach is HUGE when the tide goes out...and Im from Australia.
I was very impressed with this hotel, however it has only opened a year ago and the staff are still a little inexperienced. This didnt matter to us too much as we had out own thing to do and a toddler to keep us busy but if I was travelling as a couple I would have found it a little annoying. I would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee

Address: Badweg 4, 8881 HB West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Hotel Paal 8 Aan Zee Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Paal 8 aan Zee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.