We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a great stay at this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Hotel Schylge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Hotel Schylge to your Saves list
WestCord Hotel Schylge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Burg Van Heusdenweg, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again a great stay at this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times before, but this time it was very special: our wedding on the island!
As always very friendly people, convenient rooms (very good beds, especially our round bed in the honeymoon suite!), and a great view!
For a number of years now, the hotel features the restaurant of Ton van Scheppingen, which is a Michelin type experience in itself! Our weddingparty and our 4 course diner with our 30 guests was once again very very good. He keeps up the high standards he set for himself: a great match with the standards of the hotel! The hotel is very well managed by Wendy and Kees, with special care to ensure you enjoy your stay and a good eye for details (and friendly staff!). Thanks once again for a great stay!

Room Tip: Take a room with seaside view (on the harbour)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    88
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
118
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ideally situated, just a couple of minutes walk from the Ferry Terminal, or 3 minute bike ride if you hire bikes once off the boat. I enjoyed my two day stay at the hotel, room was clean and bright and furnished to a good standard, however it did lack a few mod cons that you may come to expect, such as a TV (didn't bother me but some may like)...and also no air con...however, we did have a balcony with lovely harbor view so we did manage to catch a breeze during the night. The bar terrace, dining & breakfast rooms and reception area all seem to be outfitted to much higher standard than some other parts of the hotel, the indoor pool area and corridors leading to the rooms seemed a bit more dated - not really a complaint, just an observation. A bit of dusting would go amiss on the balcony too!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

It is the upmarket hotel on the island. Bayview is wonderful, easy to reach from the ferry. Away from the tourist humdrum in the village. Rooms, beds, bathrooms are as to be expected in this price range. But the hotel needs attention to detail. The shower shows wear and tear, balconies are not kept spotless clean (algae), barservice on the sunterrace is slow, waiting lines at the coffeemachines over breakfast, no serving trays for your breakfast stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a very nice stay for two nights. Apartment with a beautiful view over the harbour and a large deck. Excellent service in the restaurant with good quality food and good wine. All in all a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff was very carefull. We had a no sea side view but the room was very nice and you can watch the sea from the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with very much choice. We didn't use the pool so I can't commend on it. It's a short walk to the village and you can park your car in the garage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very good hotel. Excellent value for money. Nice rooms, all features and balcony. Be sure to book a seaside room. Very good beds. Average breakfast (not that much choice). Pool is somewhat on the small side. No towel service.

Room Tip: Seaside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our second stay at the Westcord Hotel Schylge. Everything was perfect again!
Excellent beds. Clean rooms. Great service, friendly staff. Beautiful view. Loved the indoor pool.
And than the breakfast, in one word WOW! We would recommend this hotel to everybody! It is not the cheapest hotel on the island, but you get really value for your money..
Also we received a nice "thank you" postcard from the hotel when we were back home. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Address: 37 Burg Van Heusdenweg, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip
WestCord Hotel Schylge Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Hotel Schylge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.