We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in harmony with island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van der Werff

Hotel Van der Werff
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schiermonnikoog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Van der Werff
Reeweg 2, 9166 PX Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Splendid stay in harmony with island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely place to stay in this old-style hotel with good atmosphere, adequate rooms and restaurant for good breakfast and nice evening meals. The island is full of nice beaches and dunes, so walking around freshes your mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Back in time hotel,with a really good atmosphere. You don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on the island.
No loud music into the restaurant, sometimes a guest plays on the piano.
Dinner is great with good food in the most beautiful diningroom on the islands, lovely services and nice prices.
I, ve been here twice into the hotel for a weekend to stay. But each time when i am on the island i am going to eat into the restaurant into the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Before rating this hotel I have questioned myself a lot about which rating I should give it. On the one hand (the restaurant: dinner, breakfast, terrace outside) it is great and on the other hand (the rooms) it is poor. As I love sleeping and really value a nice bathroom with a good shower with sufficient water coming out of the showerhead I probably will never come back here, but looking at the service and the nice (nothing fancy) food you get here there are a lot of restaurants and hotels that can learn a thing or two from this place.

The waiters and staff are very attentative to anything you ask for or also not even ask for. The service during meals and also on the terrace outside is just outstanding. Quick, flawless, great knowledge, some excellent wines at very fair prices, Great !

The rooms however are disappointing in my opinion, the beds are small (width), the room does not feel comfortable and the mix of things that are in it does not give you a comfy feeling. Really if you just want to sleep it is fine, but do not expect anything else over that. Don't think about spending 2 hours in your room reading or so... The bathroom is very basic and the shower has problems producing water, but outside of that everything is clean and you will have plenty towels.

Last but not least the price is very fair and reasonable, we choosed for half board and were not at all disappointed pricewise, however if the rooms would be a little bit upgraded and made a little bit more cosy and warm then I would have no problem paying more (and would probably come back here more often). However it is fully booked now also around the year, so probably there is not much of a drive or necessity to do it. Which is a shame according to me.

A weekend was a sort of a pleasure with the special atmosphere and the outstanding service, so we took the rooms for granted, you will sleep anyway after a day biking and some drinks on the terrace, but I would not have stayed longer than that.....

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms and ask for a room on the backside which is more calm, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because we read good reviews about it. And they are right. Already the bus service from the ferry is very convenient. It was raining and most of the people had to go with the paid bus (which was very full) while we had plenty of space to sit. Check-in was very quick, we just got the key and that was it. The hotel is very old, but the rooms are adequate. Anyway, you don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on Schiermonnikoog.

Breakfast was very good, would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely dutch old fashion "brown" hotel. No fancy rooms, simple beds, bathroom, table, chairs, closet and tv. best way to describe the rooms is "cute".
Very dutch cold breakfast, (bread, yoghurt, fruit). I was little dissapointed there was no toaster and no cappuchino (just plain coffee or Black tea).
Dinner is great, lovely service when being served by the older men. good daily menu's with a lot of side dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every night.
The daily menu.
3-courses
Perfect waiters.
Perfect atmosphere.
Perfect food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Last week my family visited this hotel. It is a wonderful place to be for a few days if what you seek is to disconnect from your busy modern life and reconnect with your family. This is not the place to be if you seek luxury. The rooms are strictly for sleeping and showering. The hang out is downstairs where you can watch the natives come and go all day. You can also read, play chess or cards, and sip tea or whatever suits you. It is wifi connected but you will wonder why you need to be connected at all after a while. The food is very good and served with a wonderful old fashioned elegance that is hard to find in the Netherlands. I would recommend the hotel for downtime with the family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Van der Werff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van der Werff

Address: Reeweg 2, 9166 PX Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van der Werff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Van der Werff to your Saves list