We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in harmony with island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van der Werff

Hotel Van der Werff
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schiermonnikoog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Van der Werff
Save
You added Hotel Van der Werff to your Saves list
Reeweg 2, 9166 PX Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Splendid stay in harmony with island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely place to stay in this old-style hotel with good atmosphere, adequate rooms and restaurant for good breakfast and nice evening meals. The island is full of nice beaches and dunes, so walking around freshes your mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Back in time hotel,with a really good atmosphere. You don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on the island.
No loud music into the restaurant, sometimes a guest plays on the piano.
Dinner is great with good food in the most beautiful diningroom on the islands, lovely services and nice prices.
I, ve been here twice into the hotel for a weekend to stay. But each time when i am on the island i am going to eat into the restaurant into the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Before rating this hotel I have questioned myself a lot about which rating I should give it. On the one hand (the restaurant: dinner, breakfast, terrace outside) it is great and on the other hand (the rooms) it is poor. As I love sleeping and really value a nice bathroom with a good shower with sufficient water coming out of the showerhead I probably will never come back here, but looking at the service and the nice (nothing fancy) food you get here there are a lot of restaurants and hotels that can learn a thing or two from this place.

The waiters and staff are very attentative to anything you ask for or also not even ask for. The service during meals and also on the terrace outside is just outstanding. Quick, flawless, great knowledge, some excellent wines at very fair prices, Great !

The rooms however are disappointing in my opinion, the beds are small (width), the room does not feel comfortable and the mix of things that are in it does not give you a comfy feeling. Really if you just want to sleep it is fine, but do not expect anything else over that. Don't think about spending 2 hours in your room reading or so... The bathroom is very basic and the shower has problems producing water, but outside of that everything is clean and you will have plenty towels.

Last but not least the price is very fair and reasonable, we choosed for half board and were not at all disappointed pricewise, however if the rooms would be a little bit upgraded and made a little bit more cosy and warm then I would have no problem paying more (and would probably come back here more often). However it is fully booked now also around the year, so probably there is not much of a drive or necessity to do it. Which is a shame according to me.

A weekend was a sort of a pleasure with the special atmosphere and the outstanding service, so we took the rooms for granted, you will sleep anyway after a day biking and some drinks on the terrace, but I would not have stayed longer than that.....

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms and ask for a room on the backside which is more calm, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because we read good reviews about it. And they are right. Already the bus service from the ferry is very convenient. It was raining and most of the people had to go with the paid bus (which was very full) while we had plenty of space to sit. Check-in was very quick, we just got the key and that was it. The hotel is very old, but the rooms are adequate. Anyway, you don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on Schiermonnikoog.

Breakfast was very good, would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely dutch old fashion "brown" hotel. No fancy rooms, simple beds, bathroom, table, chairs, closet and tv. best way to describe the rooms is "cute".
Very dutch cold breakfast, (bread, yoghurt, fruit). I was little dissapointed there was no toaster and no cappuchino (just plain coffee or Black tea).
Dinner is great, lovely service when being served by the older men. good daily menu's with a lot of side dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every night.
The daily menu.
3-courses
Perfect waiters.
Perfect atmosphere.
Perfect food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Last week my family visited this hotel. It is a wonderful place to be for a few days if what you seek is to disconnect from your busy modern life and reconnect with your family. This is not the place to be if you seek luxury. The rooms are strictly for sleeping and showering. The hang out is downstairs where you can watch the natives come and go all day. You can also read, play chess or cards, and sip tea or whatever suits you. It is wifi connected but you will wonder why you need to be connected at all after a while. The food is very good and served with a wonderful old fashioned elegance that is hard to find in the Netherlands. I would recommend the hotel for downtime with the family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Van der Werff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van der Werff

Address: Reeweg 2, 9166 PX Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van der Werff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.