We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EAT HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van der Werff

Hotel Van der Werff
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schiermonnikoog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Van der Werff
Reeweg 2, Schiermonnikoog 9166 PX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“EAT HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every night.
The daily menu.
3-courses
Perfect
waiters.
Perfect atmosphere.
Perfect food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Last week my family visited this hotel. It is a wonderful place to be for a few days if what you seek is to disconnect from your busy modern life and reconnect with your family. This is not the place to be if you seek luxury. The rooms are strictly for sleeping and showering. The hang out is downstairs where you can watch the natives come and go all day. You can also read, play chess or cards, and sip tea or whatever suits you. It is wifi connected but you will wonder why you need to be connected at all after a while. The food is very good and served with a wonderful old fashioned elegance that is hard to find in the Netherlands. I would recommend the hotel for downtime with the family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Holland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This must have been on of the most unique hotels i have ever visited. Ever corner of the entrance hall, the beautiful staircase and the restaurant reminded me of the grandeur of times long gone by.
Unfortunately, my room was located in one of the little houses just outside the hotel. It seemed it was turned over to the forces of nature at night. Windows were so old i couldn't even close them properly and wind entered my bedroom from different sides.
Yes, everything else worked properly, but the hotel owners should be careful to check the state of the rooms regularly, as its really shows it age.
The good news is that the room prize is so affordable you can't really go wrong with this hotel, especially when you think about all the beautiful nature and rest you can find in this small island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is now being enlarged; building activity starts at 7.30 am. Very noisy right under your window.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Van der Werff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van der Werff

Address: Reeweg 2, Schiermonnikoog 9166 PX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van der Werff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Van der Werff to your Saves list