We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Drachten

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Drachten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Lavendelheide 4, Drachten 9202 PD , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Drachten
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very modern hotel with high quality rooms, decorated nicely.
The food was good and the service from the staff was excellent.
Very pleased and will be staying again.
The rooms all have free wifi which was very quick and allowed me to do the business work I needed to complete.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

very nice room (newly renovated, i occupied no. 119). no aircon, but windows to be opened. relatively quiet vicinity. free WiFi at a very good speed. excellent breakfast and a really surprising hotel-restaurant at an excellent level. anytime again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are big, clean, with lots of light. The bathroom has a huge shower and lots of amenities for personal hygiene.
There is a safe box in your room and also a tea/coffee maker.
Fitness is included in the price of the room.
Breakfast is pretty amazing too, the choice is quite big: different baked goods, lots of different kinds of cheese, natural juices.
You can also rent a bike or an electric bike.
Free wifi in available.
The staff is polite, however our check-in took quite a lot of time (half an hour), so I would suggest they work on that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My work colleague booked the room for me as it was on the way from his place to our office in Leeuwarden. The hotel is a little off the beaten track and if it wasn't for the hotel bar and restaurant I don't know what else I would have done for the evening.

The rooms are clean and spacious, Internet service was excellent and free, always a plus on business travel. Breakfast was varied and an add on to the room. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant, including helping me deal with the Lufthansa baggage people over my mid-transferred bag.

For business I would stay there again. Price is right and it's convenient and comfortable. If was there to look around I would find something in an urban centre like Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvia, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Not much choice indeed in this city but the hotel is good. Good staff, great food (yes, it surprised me!). Rooms are clean and spacious, and because nothing happens in Drachten, well, it's quiet at night. All good? No! Beds are just bad (way too soft) and pillows huge, so big you can't use them. Don't ask me why.
So good quality/price. Deserves better sleeping "equipment", which does matter for a hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britsh Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night in May on our travels through Holland.
Would definetly recommend as it is a very convenient location and the rooms are very spacious and clean.( even had a garden patio) The staff were very helpful and it was very easy to book online.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived after an afternoon shopping in Drachten.
On arrival there was no-one at the reception and although our arrival had been noticed behind the scene, it took a little while before sombody materialised. Once we were being served, the check-in was friendly and quick.
We were allocated a room on the first floor in the original part of the building and by the look of it, it had been refurbished not that long ago.
As in most Van der Valk hotels I've stayed in in the past, the room was very spacious, very neat and very clean with a seperate little seating area as well as coffee and tea making facilities.
The bathroom didn't have a bath but did have a very large walk in shower which we prefer anyway. Toiletries were plentiful and everything was catered for.
If I was to make any comments it would be that the tv was of the older variety and there was no mini bar in the room.
During the evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was very good, not particularly cheap but ok. Staff were friendly and attentive.
Breakfast the next morning was very good as well but all self service- so eating of a tray as no tables were laid for breakfast. It doesn't bother me but does take away from the pampering you might expect in a hotel of this calibre.
One thing happened during the night which spoilt our stay completely but had nothing to do with the hotel.
Some guests came back a bit drunk and started to make a lot of noise at about 3am and took offence when being asked to keep the noise down. It escalated and police had to be called in to calm things down and take the culprits to a different 'hotel'.
The reason I do make a mention of this is that although I was thoroughly cheesed off by this event, I had a very nice letter from the the management during the week following this, offering us a free night stay within the next three months which i think is a brilliant example of how customer service should be.Well done staff and management!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Drachten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Drachten

Address: Lavendelheide 4, Drachten 9202 PD , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Drachten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Drachten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsNL so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Drachten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Drachten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.