We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn to your Saves list
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diepswal 21, 9101 LA Dokkum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dokkum
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in the separate accommodation just down the street which isn't a problem, but if you don't like stairs make sure you book a low floor. Rooms are a good size but our bathroom was small even by European standards, but very clean and the shower rose was high on the wall which is often not the case here! We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was great as was the service. The hotel has a great view on the canal in an upmarket area and some great clothing shops just up the road.

Room Tip: No lift in the offsite accommodation so you may want a low floor. View of canal would be lovely but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were driving through Friesland on a Sunday afternoon and decided to look for a place to stay over. Going through Dokkum we happened on this friendly and inviting hotel/restaurant with a lovely outside terrace overlooking a canal. We got a room in the old hotel building(500 years old, so no air conditioning) which was basic but clean and convenient. We spend a lovely time outside on the terrace before enjoying a really great dinner inside in the restaurant. Very friendly staff and good service and free street parking till 11:00am. My only regret was that the St Bonifatius Bitters was all out, so I will have to go back one day to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I was traveling on business. My company picked it, because it was the only one remotely close to our site. Upon check in it was a little confusing. No parking except on the street and if you didn't get there early you were parking all the way up the road. The front desk is actually the bar and they speak a variation of Dutch called Freislandisch. The rooms are not in the same building as the bar they actually walk you next door to another building that is kind of creepy at times. The doors are hard key locks not card locks and you must use your key to lock your room when you leave. The room is painted in all black and the bed leaves something to be desired. The flat screen tv is small, but my view was of a nice little courtyard. The room is actually larger than most that I stayed in while in Europe though. Across the street is an old ship makers building and provides a rustic feel. If you travel here in the fall the fog rolls in pretty heavy at night over the channel and through the streets. Everything is pretty silent during the weekdays so it will make you feel like your in the movie "The Fog", "From Hell", or "The Mist". If you don't know these movies GOOGLE IT and trust me they aren't romantic comedies. The bar is good to hangout at. They have Heineken on tap and even have the extra cold version. There are two bartenders that are primarily there one male and one female and both are exceptionally polite and nice once you get to know them. It seems a lot of the locals especially the younger ones like to hang out here. The food is amazing, but take a left out of the hotel walk over the channel and on the left is a restaurant that serves amazing kangaroo steaks even though pricey. Overall this is a good hotel considering all factors. Just don't expect too much from the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our group of about twenty people was served a lovely meal on a bleak Sunday evening as the cold wind whistled along the canals and through the narrow streets of this lovely Friesian town. My three courses were a mustard and ham soup, a delicious steak with two styles of cooked potato and vegetables, and a powerful coffee with both cream and a Dutch liqueur. They also had a Belgian Trappist beer and a warm fire. Mein Host was clearly in charge and the service was excellent. The warm fire was greatly appreciated too

Room Tip: We were only through for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel rooms are located under a separate roof from the hotel a short walk down the street. The rooms are generously sized and more like a small apartment. We were happy with the facilities in the room, and the lovely view over the canal. I recall that the shower over the bathtub was a bit inconvenient, and a very large step down which I found a bit disconcerting.
Like so many other Dutch canal cities, our car had to be parked at a nearby public car park as there is no possibility of onsite parking - in bad weather this might be an issue. There was no lift so the climbing the stairs kept us fit!
We loved the town of Dokkum and the hotel's restaurant served very good food. A quite nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, and we both liked the Posthoorn very much. We did have the Honeymoon suite, a good sized room, and the jacuzzi tub was wonderful. We did not have a canal view out the window, though. Breakfast was meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereal including corn flakes, and breads. The staff was great, always there and friendly. They do sell parking at a reduced rate, and it's just a short walk to the lot. Much nicer parking than at Leiden. Good restaurant at the hotel, good food, more good service. There is no lift, but it's hard to argue with a place that has a bar and tables outside overlooking the canal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dokkum
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum
4.2 mi away
Herberg de Waard van Ternaard
12.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
#1 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hampshire - Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden
12.2 mi away
Strandhotel Buren aan Zee
16.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn

Address: Diepswal 21, 9101 LA Dokkum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Dokkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dokkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.