We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, but dated rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterhiemweg 1, 9161 CZ Hollum, Ameland, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hollum
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good facilities, but dated rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is ideal for enjoying a weekend on Ameland. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean but dated. There is one nice pool and breakfast was nice and plentiful. The beach and the lighthouse are within walking distance. Servings at dinner were unfortunately too small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The first time my husband took me to Ameland, to the Amelander Kaap, I instantly fell for the location and the lights of the lighthouse shining in our hotel window after sun-down. The proximity to the beach, on our rented bikes, was an attraction. And then, oh, that endless ivory beach... It has kept us coming back to Ameland over and over again - it is now engrained in our hearts. I do hope, Amelander Kaap team, that you will enjoy the results of my hard work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is dated and I really don't think they earn a 4 stars hotel.

Our room was in bad condtion. The bed was hard. The ceiling had damage. Also the coridor and entrance are looks more like a youth hostel than a 3 or 4 stars hotel.

Breakfast was poor, only ready made products and very little choose.

Pool is nice and full of light but there are no change rooms, so you need to go to your room to change, which is ok.

Room Tip: I think a room at the end of the corridor. When we were there, there were many children and they kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We used this hotel to relax for a few days on Ameland and it was perfect for what we needed. The Hotel and the rooms are clean and the restaurant is also good. You can hire bikes nearby at Tweewielerbedrijf Visser. The island has good bike routes and wonderful beaches.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I attended a large conference at this hotel, and the overall impression was that time stood still for the last 20-odd years. The appartments on the ground floor are barely adequate for two people, and *very* noisy. The higher floor appartments get very warm in summer, and have no AC. Opening a window helps, with the continuous breeze on the island. However, the bedroom is in a separate en-suite room with no windows and barely gets any fresh air.
Also the conference rooms were not well equipped, the projectors were too small to serve the entire room. Though additional projectors were placed half-way, the slides were still hard to read from the back.
The only reason I still rate the hotel as average, is the good and friendly service I received, and the quality of the food, which is also very good, given that they were serving well over a hundred people at once.

Room Tip: In summer, try to get an apartment on the ground floor, they have big sliding doors, which makes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This place is alright if they would not charge you like a 4 star resort because they definitely are not!

They have rooms, apartments and small houses for rent. We stayed 3 nights at the actual hotel. The rooms are basic. They're clean but old and with thin walls. The TV was very small and had bad reception too.

Parking at this hotel is no problem at all. Because it's on the island Ameland most people come by boat and don't bring their car. There is a bicycle rental business near the hotel. About 5 minute walk from the lobby. You can just leave your bicycle at the hotel at a large parking spot for bicycles.

The breakfast buffet was very good. Very large variety of different kinds of bread, cereal, yogurts and juices. The coffee was bad, I have seen people order coffee at the bar and bring it with them in the breakfast area. We also had dinner at their restaurant 2 times. Both dinners were very nice. The food quality was definitely worth the stars but the restaurant setting is again basic and old.

One night we were sitting outside and got hungry at about 10:30pm. I went to ask for the food menu. The girl at the bar looked surprised somebody actually came in to order something and told me they did not offer any food at this time of day. Only drinks. The mini bar in our room only contained some chocolate bars and a small bag of chips, so this was pretty inconvenient. We went to bed hungry.

The location is alright. It's about 5 minute bicycle ride to the sea. However next time we're at Ameland we will not stay at this hotel because the town Hollum is pretty dead. I would have rather stayed in Nes which is far more alive and most tourists actually stay around this town. Nes is about 10km away from from Hollum and the Amelander kaap.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

As we travelled with our dog that was not allowed in the appartments, we rented both an appartment and a hotel room. The appartments are a bit basic with a tiny kitchen and no luxury feeling at all. As the entire building has a wooden base structure, it is rather noisy and we were glad we had an upstairs appartment.
The quality of the hotel bed was far better than the ones in the appartment. The outline of the hotel room however too is basic; no minibar, no coffee facilities etc. The breakfast is sureley no 4 stars.

In short; the location was excellent (2 km from the beach, walking distance from Hollum) but the look and feeld of both the hotel and the appartments a bit outdated!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap

Address: Oosterhiemweg 1, 9161 CZ Hollum, Ameland, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Ameland > Hollum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hollum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap is a fully equipped 4-star hotel on the west coast of Ameland. The hotel is situated just outside the village of Hollum and reachable within a 5 minute bike ride from the beach. The hotel and his surroundings has much to offer. The area is perfect for astonishing hiking and cycling. It is also possible to play squash and tennis or golf on the challenging golf course next to the hotel. In Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap you will lack nothing. The hotel offers many amenities including an a la carte restaurant, cozy pub, indoor pool, sauna, solarium, darts, big screen TV, children's playgrounds, skate park. Apart from standard hotel rooms it also features a range of luxurious rooms, rooms with balconies and family rooms for up to 4 and 6 people, equipped with all comforts therefore ideal for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap Ameland/Hollum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Resort Amelander Kaap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.