We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Postillon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Postillon to your Saves list
Hotel Postillon
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hobiel, Buochs 6374, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Buochs B&B and Inns
Bulacan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a quaint cabin themed hotel on the outskirt location of Switzerland. It's a few minutes away from Lucerne by bus. The room and w.c. were all simple and clean. I can't complain. The highlight of my stay here would be the fantastic view of the lake and the icy mountains which are at the opposite sides of the hotel. It was the best view that I have seen from all my hotel stays. Imagine at one side you have a lake that's partially covered with fog but still has portions reflection the sun's beautiful morning shine against a backdrop of snow covered mountains. It's wallpaper, screensaver and poster worthy. I also enjoyed the dinner they served which was roast beef with gravy on top.

With regards to wifi, they charge a certain amount for it. There's no place to shop or buy necessities around the area. I believe Lucerne would be the nearest city from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the lake. It's amazing to see it at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
14
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The view from the hotel was stunning but it could do with a makeover to match the view! My room had adequate space but a little tired in places however it was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was fine if a little 80s coloured :) There was no A/C in the room but it did have a fan which helped a lot as it was quite warm when I was there. Breakfast was perfectly OK with a good range of hot and cold dishes and the staff were helpful and friendly. There didn't appear to be an evening bar after about 2100 which was a bit of a shame as it would have been nice to sit out on the veranda looking at the view. There's plenty of parking available at no charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senggigi, Indonesia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the view, as it's facing the lake and mountain. But, once you are inside, you will forget about all of those things.
I stayed there because my tour booked this hotel, and it seems make the service even worse.
Breakfast choice is poor, dinner is very bad, no heater in the room, everything in the room looks so old. But, what makes it even worse, all staffs are so rude. They even forced us to have a seat where it should be, without showing us where it should be, which means, you can not just sit anywhere in that big restaurant eventhough there are so many unoccupied seats during dinner, if you are in a group.
And all receptionist will not greet you at once nor stand up while you are there to ask their assistance. They prefer to just sit and answer your question in such a rude way.
I can't understand, how this hotel can be in Switzerland, which is so famous for its hotel schools?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buochs hotels

Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location for a stop and go. The lake view is relaxing. The triple room we had was not so great. Big enough but everything was old... In addition there was a bad smell probably caused by the carpet. Fine for a 3 stars, not for a 4... Breakfast was honest, even if the cheeses in the basket were a little too "aged"...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i absolutely loved this hotel; it is beautiful with stunning views from every angle. The rooms were so cute that it's one of the few hotels that I have ever had to photograph. It was clean, comfortable and I found the staff to be quite nice. We were booked as part of a group so this was booked through our agency. I never felt like I was part of a group. Meals were delicious and service was friendly. Some people have mentioned that they felt that being close to a road would be an issue, but in all honesty, there are not many cars that go down the road and for the ones that did, I never heard them. I would highly recommend this hotel. I travel quite a bit and have to say that this is in my top 3 ever.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, one that faces the street (and overlooks the gorgeous lake) and one that overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On the road from here to there a surprisingly all-round Swiss luxury hotel.Rooms are good, quiet though nearby the road. Restaurant pleasant and friendly service. Have returned several times.
A great place for German and Dutch travelers to take a deserved break from traffic home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I togethere with our tourmates had stayed on this hotel for 3nights. The hotel location is about 30 - 45 minutes drive from the city but is along the high way and it is easy to locate. Parking space is available, coffee shop, wired internet with pay, restaurant and a 24 hours customer service front desk assistant. Buffet breakfast is served everyday with a variety of food choices. The room is comfortable and clean, beedings are clean and we have a nice view of Lake Lucerne. Toilet and bathroom are nice and with complete toiletries. The area is sorounded by beautiful mountains and if you love nature you will enjoy the view. Public transpo is quite limited although there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: room on the 3rd floor with overlooking Lake Lucerne is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Postillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Postillon

Address: Hobiel, Buochs 6374, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Nidwalden > Buochs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buochs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Postillon 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Postillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Postillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.