We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did not enjoyed my staying” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Berghaus Toni

Save Saved
You added Berghaus Toni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berghaus Toni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riederhornweg, 9, Riederalp 3987, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
All rooms from CHF 60
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Riederalp
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“I did not enjoyed my staying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I made the reservation at hotel.com based on the remark the hotel got.
The room looks very minimal the appearance is very disappointing, the toilet is something you cannot accept, the heater in the main room didn't heat while at the bathroom the radiator was on low heat, I was freezing at the room, also the cable TV didn't work too.
The breakfast was ok, I also eat at the restaurant and it was good too.
If I'll be back to Riederalp I will choose different hotel.

Room Tip: Different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Berghaus Toni, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr Rauscher,
Thank you for your recent review about our Hotel. Whether the comments are positive or negative we will always use them to ensure that we can better the guest experience. However, I find it a shame that the only comment you made during your stay was that the heating did not work. If any of your other issues had been raised at the time of your stay we would have been more than happy to resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Berghaus toni is a perfect place to get away from your daily stress and habit. In a nice car-free village you can escape into silence.
The hotel is near the ski slopes. And there are a lot of walking trails easy accesable.
The family who runs the hotel gives you the feeling that you belong there. They serve a full-option breakfast and lunch an diner is super !!
It has a nice Bar en cosey corner next to the fireplace. It is the place to be! if you want a holiday in the swiss alps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After 5 years of kids, working, no time to do nothing ;-) I wanted 2 weeks of absolute rest, 24 hours a day just for me, either to do something or just to do nothing. Since I had already been several times in Riederalp during winter, I thought why not go once in the summer. And it was superb. At Berghaus Toni I had everything I could wish for. A view from my room on the mountains, a blue sky every morning, a fantastic breakfast with very good coffee, astonishing hikes, and in the evening a very cosy bar and great 'soul' food! Soulfood is not just ordinary food, it has a touch, it's special, you'll see, go and eat there, and you'll understand.

For me, Berghaus Toni was excellent. The rooms, the service, very kind people, ...

The only disadvantage for me is the language, but that's my own fault. I hardly speak any German. But even then I wouldn't understand the dialect ;-).

So if you're searching for a vacation plenty of beautiful hikes, swimming in mountain lakes, good 'soul' food, and a nice hotel, Berghaus Toni and Riederalp are your destination!

Room Tip: I guess the rooms which have Sun in the morning or in the evening are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We liked this hotel very much. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. But what we loved most was the view from the breakfast/common room. It's pretty amazing! The hotel is also conveniently located - close to the lift and shops. Riederalp is a great place (largely because it's car-free and high up the mountain). We're planning to go back and we will definitely stay at Berghaus Toni again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevergem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Berghaus Toni, the hotel at the far end of the universe.
When you take the lift in Mörel and slowly rise up the mountain you leave all your troubles behind to reach a breathtaking environment in which you are overwhelmed by silence and beauty.
Berghaus Toni is the ideal location to enjoy all this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If one believes the trend watchers authenticity is the new luxury,
so the title of this review might as well be Alpine Luxury.
Those who understand that true luxury is not to be found in marble bathrooms or champagne showers probably know the value of hosts that treat their guests like friends, of a meal cooked with love using mainly local and natural ingredients,
of tiny cosy rooms that remind you of the 'snow camps' of your childhood.

Besides this 'immaterial luxury' Berghaus Toni offers a real ski-in ski-out location, the village of Riederalp is completely car-free - what a relief for us town folks,
and the 100km of slopes of the Aletsch Arena are groomed to perfection...
and finally, there are no waiting lines for the ultra-modern lifts. No as in none.

The same hustle-free atmosphere that characterizes Riederalp is to be found at Toni's.
I just adore it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The haus is the centre of a traffic free village… just perfect!
The warm welcome of the owners makes you feel home from the first minute.
Service is great, I could advice Berghaus Toni to everyone who considers summer or winter holidays!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berghaus Toni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Toni

Address: Riederhornweg, 9, Riederalp 3987, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Riederalp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Riederalp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Berghaus Toni 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berghaus Toni is a hotel where you will feel at home immediately. Managed by a team who will make sure that guests i.e. the friends of the “haus” are not short of anything. Don’t expect conventional waiters and waitresses, we offer an informal service by “friends” who will always assist you with anything you require (within reason) to ensure you have a relaxing and memorable stay in Riederalp.This will enable you to only think about what you wish to do the next day, what kind of book to read around our cosy fire place or who you wish to engage with at the bar. Don’t take our word for it, come to be “ among friends” in Riederalp and let us convince you. There will be a drink ready and waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Berghaus Toni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berghaus Toni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.