We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay amidst nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel I Grappoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel I Grappoli to your Saves list
Hotel I Grappoli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ai Grappoli | Sessa, Sessa 6997, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sessa
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay amidst nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As part of tour itinerary, I got an opportunity to stay in this hotel for one night. The hotel is located near Italy border. The first view of the hotel mesmerized me. The hotel is located in dense forest with ample space to move around. It was indeed pleasure after long travel to relax amidst jungle and breath the clean air. Rooms are specious and provides all the basic amenities. Nothing great to mention. Each rooms provides private balcony which directly opens in the forest. The restaurant also has open restaurants which adds to the fun of the hotel. Hotel also has well stocked bar for those who wish to spend their evening in forest with a glass of wine. Hotel also has small play areas for children.
This hotel indeed is best place to relax away from city hustle-bustle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Beautiful location but no lifts to the rooms. Rooms are very big but bed was okay and pillows were very thin and not comfortable. The power saving policy of the hotel stretched too far. No automatic sensors to sense the presence of people, therefore the lights went off, before we could even reach our room. The lights going off so fast and we having to manually switch it on was a bit of an inconvenience. The view was very good and the fruits served in the breakfast were just outstanding. Service was nil as we had to carry out own luggage and there was no pillow for our child. Even though we asked for an extra pillow, they never gave us one. The worst thing about the hotel was that they had mentioned extn no. 200 as the no. for reception. When we called this number for a pillow, the person who picked the phone shouted that it was the number of the GM and one shouldn't call it. This was terrible as they themselves have that number written as the number for the reception. So if u are loooking for service, do not even venture near this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is one good hotel that we stayed in, just the one night, but the hotel has an amazing reception lobby and the rooms have a great sit-out to look into the hills. The restaurant is spacious and the breakfast range is very good...the fruits served here were of top quality. we travelled by coach hence did not realise the distance from the nearest station of highway. The rooms have 2-3 windows, that have a odd opening style. I was sold out on the sitout and definitley would love to go back to this one.

Room Tip: take rooms on the upper floors if you do not have too much luggage to carry up, else ask for the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. A nice hotel, good restaurant and foods, good room, good service.
The minor problem only the hotel is a bit walk away from bus stop and its OK if not rainy but if rainy then its a bit messy because night time you have to walk a bit in the dark and maybe can get lost too.

We just take a room not bungalow because the bungalow is on the back on hotel so a bit far , the room is OK....except for me prefer the mattress a bit thicker but probably typical hotel in here like that...lol.

The food is very good, breakfast is buffet style, still have a bit varieties. Lunch and dinner is OK....

Room Tip: If you have a bad leg, don't choose the the 2nd floor that means you have to climb 2 stairs...a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

No problem reaching by car but not easy to access via public transport. Arrive Lugano railway station, buy a ticket to Ponte Tresa and walk to the adjoining smaller station for 20 minute trip on a tram-like train to Ponte Tresa, then take 'bus (once an hour only) to Sessa and a long driveway to walk down to this country hotel. Once there, the staff are multilingual and very helpful, particularly Mrs Angela Neuman on reception. Rooms are clean, showers in en-suites are adequate size. Beds are comfortable but the constant chirruping of the crickets at night may keep you awake! Dining room is bright and roomy and food is good quality. Rates are inexpensive by Swiss standards, but beware, everything in Switzerland is significantly more expensive than in the UK.

Room Tip: Contact by e-mail and negotiate a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel I Grappoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel I Grappoli

Address: Via Ai Grappoli | Sessa, Sessa 6997, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Sessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel I Grappoli 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel I Grappoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel I Grappoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.