We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel on busy road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weisses Rossli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Weisses Rossli to your Saves list
Hotel Weisses Rossli
Hauptstrasse 69, Staad 9422, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Staad B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent hotel on busy road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a good little hotel. The rooms are small, but clean and the bathroom is updated. The restaurant is good and the location on the lake is very nice. The downside is a lot of traffic noise if you are on the road side (our friends had lake side and heard no traffic). The only other downside is there is nothing to do within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would stay ere again, but only if I could have lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is a small and somewhat old-fashioned Swiss country inn. The rooms are simple but fully satisfactory in every respect. The hotel is very clean, and offers free wireless internet.

Best thing about this hotel is that all of the staff are very friendly and quickly learn your preferences. The kitchen is excellent, offering good food and lots of variety from day to day.

I often stay here from 3 to 7 days at a time due to business at the local airport (Altenrhein Airport, less than 1 km away), and I am very happy with this hotel.

Rooms that face the roadway can be a bit noisy because there is a train track on the other side of the road. If noise is a concern for you, ask the staff to give you a room on the lake side of the hotel, rather than on the roadway side.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The title says it all really…..but then again it doesn't give the whole picture.

The drive from Zurich took about 75 minutes. Parking is easy - there's a hotel car park just across the road, and check-in was quick, with lots of smiles.

The hotel is clean, really clean, the rooms are lovely and quite large for a hotel of this type. I always thought that our room gave the impression of being in a much larger hotel. The bathroom was nice and spacious - and everywhere just looked fresh.

The location scenically is lovely, we had a lake view and it is well worth the few Francs extra to get it, but there is very little around the hotel. There's a pub next door, and one restaurant a fair walk away - we didn't try either - and that's it. If you want anything else you have to drive or get public transport into Rorschach. The location is great for a drive around the lake, St Gallen, a quick trip into the Alps or the scenic area of Appenzellerland (although as we drove through dense fog I can't comment on the actual scenery!).

Fortunately the food in the hotel restaurant is really good. It was a bit on the expensive side, but is there any other side in Switzerland? Some locals also ate here so it couldn't have been much more than the average for the area I guess. Menus are only in German, but the waitress on the first night did a really good - and patient - job of trying to explain what things were. Discovery of the hotels free wireless LAN made translation a bit easier using my phone's Internet connection. It was a bit of a shame that on the second night service was a bit more hit and miss, we were never offered dessert that night - perhaps they'd had enough of translating the menu!

It's ironic that the previous reviewer mentioned that the hotel wasn't suitable for children as that is where my only complaint lies. After doing the scenic drives all day we do like to return to the hotel for a bit of a rest before dinner. However on 2 of the 4 days of our stay there were children who were literally screaming in the corridors and using the staircase as an adventure playground. It later became apparent that these children belonged to people dining in the restaurant and basically had gone off to play around the hotel. The owners really should have had a quiet word with the parents even if, as I suspect, they were locals who knew the owners personally.

Overall the people were really friendly and welcoming, the hotel was lovely and the scenic location superb. If I was to return I'd look around for somewhere with a few more restaurants and shops we could walk to, but I suspect if you found one it would cost a lot more that the Weisses Rossli charge for a room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Let's see what this hotel can propose.
It has 2 sides: a good one and a bad one (like many places).
Let's start with the good points:
-It is very near the Lake Constance. So if your room is facing the lake, you will have a lovely view, and if the weather is with you, you might enjoy some fantastic sunsets. Have a look at the photos!
-It could be a lovely place to go to with your partner for a romantic week-end.
-It is very close to the train station in Staad.
-The rooms are clean.
-The rooms have aircon, which can help in the summer, as the building has been built for cold winters. Some of the rooms can get incredibly hot in the summer.
-The restaurant proposes good food, and has a lovely terrace with lake view.

Now let's start with the bad points:
-The other side of the building faces the road, and the rail tracks. If your room is on the side of the building, you might even be facing a pub! Have a look at the photos. If you book a room, make sure you ask for a lake view!
-The building itself is not appropriate for families with young children, as it hasn't got a lift, so you will need to carry your pushchair upstairs. And as you might see if you read further, the infrastructure for is a bit dodgy for babies.
-They are really hard to reach on the phone.
-For some reason, the bathroom blind is tied to the handle of next door. So suddenly the blind goes down, because your neighbour has decided to shut it in his room!
-And now let me tell you about the few problems we encountered during the stay.

We had tried very hard to make sure they would have the right infrastructure for our 10 months old son. They had confirmed that we would have a suite, with a cot, and a fridge, so that we could keep our a bottle of baby milk refrigerated. We also wanted a bathtub, so that we could bath our son.
When we came in, we suddenly realised that they had messed us around.
They had presumably given the suite to somebody else, and they hadn't prepared another room for us.
So, they sent us to a room that was still free, and when we saw it, we really thought we were going to leave that place and go back home.
The room was quite small, it had no cot, the fridge wasn't working, the wardrobe lock was blocked. So we went downstairs, and had a little discussion with the landlady.
She personally came with an employee to check the fridge and the wardrobe. And she brought a fairly old cot, that had probably been used by several generations.
Things started to get pretty bad, when she realized that it was no longer safe for a baby, as some wooden parts had shrunk.
So she brought another old cot, fitted it for us, and transfered it to our room. Useless to say, we didn't have enough room for a cot in our room! And we had already lost one hour trying to move furniture around, and assembling the cot.

We went to the restaurant for a nice dinner and came back to our room to put our little guy to sleep. The landlady looked very embarrassed but did not apologise.
What a surprise when we saw that the cot base had fallen on the floor! That cot wasn't safe either! So the landlady sent her husband and he improvised a solution with some bits of mattress, to make sure that the frame would not fall again!
We were pretty annoyed with that.

After coming back home, we wrote a little complaint letter to the Minotel central office, and finally got a nice reply back, saying that the landlady apologised and had refunded us half of the price of our stay! So, it wasn't a bad bargain after all, but it took some effort!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weisses Rossli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Rossli

Address: Hauptstrasse 69, Staad 9422, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Staad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Weisses Rossli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weisses Rossli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.