We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albir Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Albir Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albir Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Would Not Return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here after reading so many good reviews and had honestly thought the odd bad one was just being too fussy but, no it is only one step up from Benidorm in my opinion. We had two rooms in B block and arrived with tired kids at 12 lunch time only to be told the rooms would not be ready for us until 5pm. We put our luggage in a room at reception and freshened up then had lunch, the kids wanted some slush this has to be paid for as does the popcorn and crisps. (on allinclusive)
The rooms need updating and are grubby although the bedding and towels were clean.
The restaurant was clean and there was a good selection of food on offer and the kids managed to eat well but there was too much pushing and shoving queue jumping for me.
Now I know it was august but this place was packed and the queues were ridiculous at the bar and one bar man would only serve us with one drink (Gaspar) but Spanish guests were served with 3/4 drinks at a time. So come on treat all guests the same. No problems with any other bar staff and there are a few of them.
The entertainment is dire to say the least.
Reception staff are really helpful and great if you need info on whats on in the area.
Albir its self is lovely but this hotel has seen better days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    237
    166
    81
    77
See reviews for
344
175
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

does anyone know if it is possible to upgrade from self catering to all inclusive on arrival at albir gardens i have been before but have allways went either half board or self catering we are due there in september and after having booked and paid for holiday we have decided to up grade and would like to khow what the cost is doing it thru the hotel thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bembridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in AGR for 1 week all inclusive from 12th August 2 adults 1 child (age 4). Overall the holiday was brilliant value - we booked last minute for a great price - and if it weren't for the lack of English speaking entertainment I would have starred it as excellent. Overall would def. recommend this place its great value

The rooms were basic but faultlessly clean - all beds comfortable and in good condition with proper mattress protectors and linen changed twice a week. Room cleaned very nicely everyday with new towels everyday (despite hanging ours up to use again!!). No problems in our room. (we were in H block)

The pools (all 4!) were very clean and well maintained (bit of sand in the big paddling pool but hey - not surprising as the play park is in a sand pit and wasn’t an issue at all) Life guards throughout the pool opening times who were very good and observant. I saw someone checking the chlorine levels 3 times during my stay and clearing the filters daily.

The restaurant - well, I was really impressed at how well the hectic service times were managed and how hard all the F&B and kitchen staff worked to keep the tables and plates cleared and new plates cutlery just kept coming like magic, the food was constantly replenished all hot and well prepared and cooked. Literally something for everyone (it did get a bit samey but cannot fault the quality and service - brilliant)

On the other hand the only downside in the restaurant was the guests behaviour and grumpiness in their quest to get food- it was sometimes very busy and I did experience an awful lot of rudeness, pushing and shoving not any one nationality, everyone was a bad as each other - it’s a shame because the food was so well replenished, there really was no need!! but with a really good snack bar with a constant supply of bread rolls (soft ones) hot dogs burgers chips sausages and sometimes bacon, and sandwich toasting friendly bar staff - this really wasn't a problem!

The entertainment was or would have been fantastic if they had been able to get more English speaking entertainers - there were more than enough English speaking guests to justify it and It’s the only thing I can think of that could be improved. The ents team worked really hard and I think were a bit put off as guests didn’t seem to appreciate it all – but I think that was all due to the language barrier….

There was a free Wi-Fi in the hotel bar and on the terrace by the bar - it was a bit slow but it did work to update emails and check FB *(if you want to on holiday!!) - you just had to ask reception for the password when you check in – it’s not brilliant and sometimes took a long time to load anything but if you do want to (not sure why you would - i loved escaping the internet) you can buy very reasonable fast Wi-Fi that works all over the hotel complex for very reasonable prices from reception either the desk or the machine - both fair speeds.

Our room was by the play park - which was a bit quieter than those by the main block or round the pool but all rooms are air-conditioned (very good in our room) so once doors are shut at night you can’t hear anything anyway! I love that the hotel is spread around several blocks only 3 story high and not a high rise monstrosity. The grounds are extremely well kept and really lovely.

The play park - My daughter loved it! it was really good! Couldn’t rave about it enough!

The pool sun loungers! Very funny to observe - we just aren’t the sort to join in the morning battle for a spot and reserving loungers- if you want to join in tho – you have to get up and out before 8am and put a couple of chairs with your towels out where you want your loungers then be ready for the off at 9-9.30 when they unlock the loungers (yes, unlock – they chain them up at night! – I don’t blame them people can be funny!) If you are like us there is plenty of soft grass and garden space to sit lay on around the pool and actually, it’s more comfortable ;)

The kids club ???? well due to lack of English speaking entertainers my daughter (bit shy anyway, she is only 4!) was too scared to join in anything she preferred to play with the friends she had made in the paddling pool, and was so tired out after dinner she was happy to sit and listen. Although I did see that older kids loved the activities they looked fun and older kids seemed to really enjoy it so hope that helps.

If you are wondering what the noise in the trees is – cicadas, look them up - fascinating!!
The location is really lovely – L’Albir is a really lovely place with a friendly feel it has obviously suffered a little from the recession and the fact that all the major hotels in the town/village have everything their guests need on site… – but I found it really welcoming and all shops great – there is a fab place down on the seafront at Albir to visit in the evenings with fair rides etc. and shops, bars ,cafes worth a walk down there. There is great market on Sunday mornings about halfway down the main road to the beach would recommend a wander to that. Regular Buses to Benidorm if that’s your thing?! although taxi is much quicker and not too pricey. Top tip check shop closing times – it’s not Benidorm, real people live here, so it’s not 24/7 or open into the night and they don’t appreciate a supermarket dash at closing time – oops!

The transfer time from the airport is quite long if you buy your transfer from the standard coach type company as you have to weave through the labyrinth of streets of Benidorm first for all other drop offs – don’t be surprised if you are last drop off and first pick up – having said that it’s the best value (if money isn’t an issue get a cab ;) but it really wasn’t awful!

If you can avoid flying R**n air, then do! But again it was good value (if you weigh your case carefully!) and no delays etc. read all the reviews on them before you travel!

Only slight grumble was our room wasn’t ready until 5pm on our arrival day we arrived at 1pm and the travel company had told us check in from midday but had a look at the hotels website and check in is from 5pm – not a lasting problem they issues our all-inclusive wrist bands and as I’d packed swimming stuff in the hand luggage so after a huff and a puff and a dig in the case for the sun cream we enjoyed the afternoon anyway! Anyway as said when we did see our room we were delighted so no biggie – oh any yes there is not an electric kettle but the hob kettle worked fine! If you are going self-catering it is very basic in the kitchen but it’s all clean and functional.

Yes there are a lot of Spanish people holidaying here ( it’s in Spain!?)– but in general everyone was friendly, you always get the odd nightmare family everywhere and they can be any nationality.

Staff are Brilliant and resort is fantastic value for money (but don’t expect the Ritz) its basic but it does basic very very well! I think it’s classed as quite a low star officially but I think for that classification it more than exceeds expectations. We would go again 

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family (all ages) has just arrived home after a 7 day all inclusive holiday. The rooms are very dated but really clean, the towels were changed daily and the sheets once. The catering covers all tastes, although we did eat out a couple of times. As others have stated, the dining room is a free for all, unfortunately the Spanish who outnumbered the British were very rude. The staff on the whole were polite, but as there were not enough of them by the end of their shifts some were obviously tired. The entertainment was awful, although families with young children seemed to enjoy it but it was mostly in Spanish. As a family we made our own fun. It is a 15 minute walk to a lovely promenade by the beach, and there are some decent shops on the way there. Overall we really enjoyed the holiday, the apartments are set in lovely surroundings, the pools are great, and as it was quite a cheap holiday, we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

After a 2 hour transfer taking in most of Benidorm we arrived on a scorching hot day. The room was not ready for us so we had lunch in the dining room and waited until 3pm before we were finally given our key card (check in time was supposed to be 12pm and we arrived at 1pm) the room however was OK when we eventually got in, air conditioning is a nice touch for a budget hotel, we stayed in block D which was nice and clean and near enough to all the facilities.
FOOD - Really pleased! There is always something on the menu even for the fussy eaters, I ate Steak a couple of times and there were roast chicken and Fish on most days as well as the standard Spanish fayre. Particularly enjoyed my Bacon, Eggs, sausages and beans every morning and the drinks flow freely. If you like a bottle of wine with your meals this isn't a problem either. There doesn't seem to any particular queuing system in the dining hall and don't be surprised when the Spanish barge in the queue in front of you, I think this may be a cultural thing and to be honest it didn't really bother us as there is always a plentiful supply of food, by the end of the week I found myself just barging in as they did and nobody gets offended by this. The barbecue and pool bars are particularly good if your peckish throughout the day too! A winner with the children.
POOL - Fantastic, cleaned daily and big enough to accommodate everyone. There are 4 pools all together but our favorite was the smaller of the 2 main pools with a maximum depth of 116cm so safe enough for the kids to splash around in while we soaked up the sun - the weather during our stay was faultless (if anything it was too hot - ranging from 29 to 35 degrees and we barely saw a cloud!)
ENTERTAINMENT - Dire! Our children have enjoyed mini discos on our last few holidays but even they weren't that interested here! It was mainly geared towards the Spanish guests who I would say outnumbered the English by about 4 to 1. The evening entertainment for grown ups wasn't much better either mainly consisting of 2nd rate entertainers who didn't really seem too eager to please, the only decent thing I enjoyed the whole week was a movie theme quiz, all i would say about the animacion team is okey dokey bye bye! having said that there are pool tables, air hockey, table football, games consoles and various other machines (all costing either 1 or 2 euros to play) and pay per use wifi available as well if you want to keep in touch with people back at home.

Overall we had a good stay and the hotel gave us a packed lunch to travel home with because we left before breakfast which I thought was a really nice touch and saved me some money buying overpriced food at the airport. We payed £1500 for 2 adults and 2 children and I think that's a fair price for peak season, I'd be disappointed though if I'd have paid anymore than that, it's not the Hilton but I suppose you get what you pay for so overall we were very satisfied!
Would we stay here again? Probably not but don't be put off by the negative reviews on here and the pictures of broken plug sockets it's an OK complex if your traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have just returned following a week here all inclusive. Cannot fault it. Not in Benidorm (fortunately). Room cleaned everyday. Place spotless. great pools. Ideal for families. Normal debacle for sunbeds in the morning, but quite funny. The restaurant was busy at times, but you learned the busy times to avoid. All staff lovely. Any problems dealt with swiflty (eg light bulb in bedroom blew and was sorted within half an hour).
We got a last minute deal so was an absolute bargain. A great mixture of guests, Spanish. Engish etc.
Regular and reliable bus service No 10 goes into Benidorm and the beautiful Altea that has a pebbly beach. 1.5 euros each. They do not appear to do return tickets.
Top tip, the entertainment in the evening goes on til midnight, so if you have children or want a quiet apartment, do not ask for the room overlooking the pool. You are better away; near the children's play area etc where it is quiet.
Surrounded by well maintained gardens and beautiful mountains.
We had a fab week, until the Clampitts arrived but that is another story.
Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid pools side and main hotel if you wish it to be quiet. ask for blocks E, or anywhere near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days In July All inclusive WOW, extremely clean everywhere, apartment blocks are quiet, well serviced/cleaned daily fresh sheets/towels regularly. Air Con!
The pool is very clean and cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis, The food is fab, everything you could possibly want, from Spanish foods - English foods and always chips pasta and bread available for the more fussy eaters. Staff were very friendly chatty and helpful, A queuing system is in place on an evening for the bar, however this works well as you aren't stood about ages waiting for your drinks with people pushing in front of you Loved it an would defo stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Spain/Alicante Province - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albir Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.