We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“28th July-8th August 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albir Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albir Garden Resort to your Saves list
Albir Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“28th July-8th August 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

First time to mainland Spain family of 6 we went All Inclusive.We arrived at 2am and we asked for a bottle of water to get told we had to pay for it because bar closes at 12am. We had 2 rooms which was nice sizes and cleaned every day. Pool area was nice, enough sun beds to go round. Restaurant for breakfast , lunch and dinner was OK but later on in our holiday it became like a cattle market , we feel there was no variety for children and the quality of the food when down as more people arrived.You had to queue up for your drinks at all bars. There was not enough seating for evening entertainment if you wanted to watch it , which wasn't great mainly for the Spanish and not suitable for children.The staff in general wasn't helpful and all for there own ( Spanish).
We spoked to a few British family's and there opinions were the same as ours.We spoke to British people in the pub opposite hotel and they heard the same things all for the Spanish.We will not be returning to this HOTEL but might go back to the resort Albir which was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    269
    199
    99
    86
See reviews for
411
195
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall I thought hotel was great value for money. I loved the fact that the resort was so Spanish. The little apartments were great for the two of us, and the whole place was spotless. The 2 drinks bar limit wasn't a problem with just the two of us. The buffet food was good for a three star resort, the seafood and paella was excellent. Staff were competent. The location was excellent, with a relaxing beach just 15 minutes away. Albir itself has plenty of restaurants, and the easy #10 bus takes you to central Benidorm with all its busy, fun, crazy bars. The evening entertainment was family based and it was nice to see so many of the kids join in with full gusto. With plenty of pool tables ect, the teenagers seemed to have plenty to do too.

But it is not for couples or singles. The pool was so busy with kids playing, I just didn't feel like I could get in.

A few small bumps that individually shouldn't put you off. It was just so busy, there are so many apartments and just not enough resources. At night there was always a huge queue for the bar. It was tricky to get a sun lounger and the 1 pool was so packed, it's clear they need to add a second. Puddings were terrible, and were mainly fruit and yogurt. The bar closed at 11.50pm, which was too early for us. The snack bar between lunch and 8pm dinner needs a non deep fried option.

For a family I'd really recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I read a number of reviews before we booked here & took our chance based on the more sensible ones.

We returned yesterday & had a great time. The 1 bed apartment was a reasonable size, it was clean but a bit tired. The room was cleaned every day we were there. The complex as a whole was very good with a reasonable range of food on offer, even for some choosy teenagers. The entertainment is a bit cheesey & more suited to younger children. We spent a couple of evenings in the Irish bar opposite which was quiet & had free wi-fi, which was handy.

All in all, a very good choice especially when you take into account the amazing price (£70 per night for 4 adults all inclusive). Albir itself is quite nice, nothing like Benidorm!

One piece of advice, it got significantly busier from 1st August so suggest you go in July or early Sept if you want a 'kids-holiday' break.

We all agreed that we would return.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor in the blocks & liked it as it was a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We have been to benidorm 12 times over the last 7/8 years, and I must say when I came across this resort on the net. I knew It was for us as a family of two boys 10yrs & 3yrs there was plenty to do we went self catering as I works best for us as both my 3yr old & myself are fussy eaters. There was a big super market rite in front of the hotel & another mercado on down the street towards the litte town, there is also a McDonalds & a lidl on down the street right where you get the bus to benidorm, it's also just across from left side of hotel. The bus to benidorm is €1.50 & run right until 1.30am, as last bus from benidorm is 1.20am to albir/altea takes you about 25mins & leaves you off right outside. We stayed for 8nights but cldve done 4 more quite happily entertainment was brill & also water aerobics in the mornings were fab ha ha. There is also two real big bazaar's which sold everything isles & isles I never even got round them all as they were so big! If real Spain you want with a little bit lively up the road to the dorm for the shows plus keep the kids happy you get the best off both worlds here at this resort amazing. We are planning the month if nov/dec back to it the little gem of blanca we loved it!! Defo give it @ least a good 4*plus. A great spot can't wait now to get booking again, thanks to German & merche the receptionists who helped a great deal see you soon . Luv the little belfast family xx.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

just got back this morning and missing albir already, what a beautiful hotel very clean with wonderful staff. very close to shops and a 15 minute walk to a lovely beach and quaint market. this was a last minute deal for us and i am so glad we got it, will deffo go back would reccomend it. 5 stars for me xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

stayed for 10 days in the second half of july, had a great holiday, albir is a nice quiet resort and has beautiful surrounding views, the beach is about a 10-15 min walk from hotel, the beach is pebbly but the sea is clear, there is a lot of small bars and restaurants on the beach front and on the main streets and most are less than 2euros a pint through the day, the albir gardens was very average, we stayed all inclusive, we enjoyed the food and there was alot of choice and a different main everyday, also the pool side snack bar was open most of the day with burgers chips hotdogs etc, the pool is quite big and clean with 2 kids pools and was busy all day with music and a good atmosphere, the rooms were very basic which we didnt mind but the beds were very uncomfortable and i didnt sleep much, the room was cleaned with fresh bed linens and towels everyday, the hotel is a large resort so a room towards the back would be better for families with small kids to avoid the noise of the entertainment as it goes on til midnight but it can be a bit of a walk back to the pool area and restaurant, as we were all inclusive i didnt like the idea of paying for things inside the hotel but ice creams, slushies and wifi all had a price tag, at night the bar was very busy and huge queues built up and went down slow due to not enough staff, and alot of the staff was ignorant and rude,(although a small few were pleasant) and the entertainment wasnt good and was mostly in reception of the spaniards (of which there was alot) one of the entertainers spoke english but wasnt great at it,......a tip for eating out, just down the road near LIDL there is an indian restaurant AVOID at all costs, over priced for a start and the food was vile, save ur money but if u do fancy a curry there is an indian near the beach, we didnt eat there cos we had to book 2 days in advance cos it was so popular and we was going home the next day but try at ur own risk :D happy holidays

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with my two sons and husband and had a wonderful time. We didn't go all inclusive but found that food in the supermarkets etc were not extremely dear so this suited us well. Swimming pool was fab. Plenty for kids to do. My only gripe was that the room was only cleaned once in the 7 nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Spain/Alicante Province - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albir Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.