We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sagatastic!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaktus Albir to your Saves list
Hotel Kaktus Albir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sagatastic!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival at 2am, we were told that we could not have the room we had booked and if we didn't like it we could tell the manager the next day! It was a grim back room with broken furniture which I cut my foot on! We got moved the next day- so didn't really start our holiday until 2pm the next day- after we were moved and could unpack. Saga holidays had taken over the hotel ( we are both 42), and younger people simply were not catered for. No disrespect intended to the older generation- but the food was mushy gruel, which we had paid for too! Very disappointing stay, despite the beautiful location we could not wait to check out after our 7 day stay. Will not recommend and definately will never return!!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    57
    22
    8
See reviews for
57
117
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here for a week every year for the last four years. the hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable and the restaurant and breakfast room service is also good, the town of Albir is nice and is a break from the excesses of Benidorm - all in all a good stay and special thanks to the reception staff who couldn't do enough for us. I travelled with a visiting cricket team for a game against Sporting Alfaz. I'm sure I'll be there again next year

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if possible, but all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My third visit to this hotel. When I am thinking I need a peaceful week away the Kaktus always springs to mind. I just love the tranquillity of Albir, Benidorm is just a short bus ride and a world away and Altea is within walking distance. The location of the hotel could not be better, just across the road from the pebble beach. The rooms are pleasant, light and airy with side sea views, and the food covers most tastes, I could happily live on the salad buffet starters. It was important to me that this visit went well as I was with family members to whom I had recommended the hotel, it did not disappoint, I think they will be back also.

Room Tip: The standard double/twin rooms have side sea views, the front rooms(only 10, I think) are suites and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Hotel is ideally situated approx 50 meters across from a pebbly beach. Property is well suited for disabled people, easy access & plenty of room to move around in.
The ages of guests during our stay varied, but hotel accommodated all age groups.
Firstly, although not mentioned before the rooms do have a kettle, but no tea/ coffee provided. A mini fridge in the room costs ten euros & is stocked with a beer, water & soft drinks. Safe in the room & again costs 20 euros per week, although you do get your deposit back. The hotel states an indoor swimming pool, well it is situated on the roof, but is enclosed. The view is excellent from the roof of Albir, Altea & Calpe.
The food served was superb, plenty of choice @ breakfast & evening, to suit all tastes. They even had themed nights, English, Norwegian.
The hotel is spotless, our room was large & well appointed.
A majority of rooms do have a side sea view, but would suggest when booking try & find a plan of the rooms, to give you an indication.
The entertainment was much the same as a previous visit,an organist& singer but suited all tastes.
Overall a great holiday, good location, twenty minutes from Benidorm by bus no 10 & do not miss Altea especially the church.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Spent 14 days at this hotel, and wasn't too charmed by it. The most positive aspect is its position. It is on the sea front and its views are terrific. Apart from sunbathing there isn't a lot else to do at this hotel. The two-man band (a couple who play the organ and sing) appear to play every night, but their music isn't to everyone's taste. The rooms were ok, and the bathrooms a good size. Whereas the food selection seemed good the first evening, it was very similar, and therefore boring, from day to day. The restaurant staff were very good and helpful.. The hotel is beside some ok restaurants when the boredom gets too much, and there are a couple of nice shops on the sea front beside the hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Attended a wedding here and cant fault it. Food at wedding reception was fantastic. Bar staff could learn to smile or maybe if they are that unhappy in their jobs they could get employment elsewhere. I didnt stay over so cant comment on accomodation

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

stayed here end of September for 6 nights the rooms were a good size bathrooms were huge staff good.
Problems started in the serving area of the dining room which is far to small and because of this the lines of people getting served is awful I hate to think what its like in peak times having said that the food itself is very good so come on people sort this out.
Avoid the inner two blocks all rooms look directly into each other ask for the outer blocks or the back. Reception staff were fine but I would like to mention Iilya he was always very helpful and would do his best to sort any problem with a smile.
Overall great hotel but has the potential to be much better.

Room Tip: get an outside block for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor’s Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Alicante Province - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaktus Albir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.