We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked our stay at the Kaktus Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kaktus Albir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We liked our stay at the Kaktus Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Before leaving home we read the reviews of this hotel and we ended up worrying that we had made a bad decision. Thankfully our concerns were eliminated by our experience during our stay.

We travelled with Saga and as usual we received excellent service from them.

CONS. The beach is made up of pebbles and not ideal for just laying on. To hire two beds and an umberella will cost you 13 euros a day. You can, as we did, get a bed in the hotel gardens (free) although there is not much space and not an abundance of beds.

PROS.

SERVICE. The reception staff all speak fluent english and are very helpful. Restaurant staff work extremely hard and werennonetheless very pleasant. The bar staff at the Saga bar (Free bar) were OK but sometimes sullen, however the service was good.

ROOM. Spacious room with twin beds, corner sofa, old TV (provided all we needed), writing table, balcony with sea view and an excellent bathroom that my wife wanted to take home. The rooms are serviced daily.

FOOD. This was one of our concerns after reading reviews. The selection for all meals was considerable. We had no problems. What you have to accept is that ingredients are cooked the Spanish and is therefore different to what you are used to. Overall we were well pleased with the options on offer.

LOCATION. Right on the beach and good place to walk along the promenade. You can get a bus round the corner to Benidorm for one euro fifty. You can walk to Altea (about 25 minutes) where there is a lovely church at the top of the town where you will find bars and restaurants and beautiful views. There is a train station in Altea town where for four euros twenty five (return) you can enjoy an hour and a quarter trip through the mountains to the resort of Denia that we would highly recommend.

ENTERTAINMENT. A duo perfomed songs on most nights and were professional. On two nights there were other acts. The dancing pair we saw were up to the standard you see from the professionals on 'Strictly Come Dancing'.

If you book a holiday here you shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 that enjoyed a good sea view and had the sun from early morning to late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    85
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
53
109
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spain - wonderful. Hotels, only okay. Service was wonderful though, but the beds were twins, pushed together. I know, this could be a European thing, twin beds, when we North Americans like our queens and kings. The twin thing I could handle, the beds though, were like rocks. Our view was fabulous! Beach is rock though. Literally. Little rocks. And naked boobs all over the beach as well, be prepared for that. Plenty of other stuff to see in the area besides the beach! Take the bus, take the train. People speak a lot of English, so no worries there, but please learn a little Spanish, the locals appreciate it when tourists make the effort to speak the language!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently with another couple. The plus points were extremely well appointed hotel, exceptionally clean throughout, beautiful spacious bedrooms with sea views, very helpful and friendly staff. The minus points were fixed shower in bathroom which made hair washing difficult and no drawers in bedroom just shelves. The food was varied but not the quality one would expect for a 4 star hotel, also the evening meal did not start until 8pm which made it late for going out to other places.The evening entertainment was very repetitive the duo played the same music each evening, the dancing was not really suitable for British tastes. There is not much going on in Albir, you need to go into Benidorm for ballroom dancing. Fare on bus going is one euro 50 cents per person each way, but you have to get taxi back late at night which cost 14 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third floor or higher for a good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel on the whole but was let down by one or two problems.

We stayed in room 125 (around the back), no sea view but it also had it's good points.

Firstly, it was beautifully appointed and was fully equipped for self catering since it possessed a microwave oven, an electric hob (2 rings) and joy of joys, a refrigerator!! (not often found in hotel rooms).

The room was also serviced daily by the maid and she maintained an excellent standard throughout the week.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, so can only comment on the breakfast which was very good indeed.
A cooked breakfast was available as well as continental options including cereals and fruit and it was of a very good standard.

We can also recommend the sea food buffet on Thursday evenings.
It is shown priced at 15 Euros per person but there is a 3 Euro per person discount for hotel residents,

(Please note, the discount was not advertised anywhere, so don't forget to ask for it when paying the bill).

Evening entertainment is adequate, it is provided most nights by a male/female singing duo and on certain nights there are guest acts.

On Saturday evenings, a fair number of (ordinary) Spaniards arrive to demonstrate their dancing skills and they seem to take it rather seriously.
Quite entertaining, if you like that sort of thing but not my cup of tea, I'm afraid

In general, most staff were helpful and friendly but sad to say, there were one or two, who were sadly in need of a course in customer service and it was this that prevented me giving a higher rating to the hotel.

Would we go back?? - certainly, in spite of the few problems we encountered, it is a very nice place and well worth a visit.
it is conveniently situated for the beach, it has a very nice roof terrace with a small pool and there is also an excellent bus service to Benidorm.
If you take the bus down to Altea, you can also catch the narrow gauge train to Calpe and Denia.

Try it for yourself.................

Room Tip: Rooms around the back of the hotel have no sea view but are much quieter. Rooms overlooking the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

5 of us went to this hotel recently with saga. Lovely hotel food very good and saga reps excellent, but alot of staff were very rude and we felt like second class citizens being treated differently from guests who weren't with saga. Saga so shouldn't be at this hotel, ok if you are Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As independent travellers we spent 4 nights from 9/9/13. The hotel is spacious with glass lifts and a huge bar/ lounge/ballroom. Our room had a sea view, large bathroom and was well appointed. The balcony was pleasant to sit on. All in all what one would expect from a 4 star holiday hotel.
However, the let downs stopped the hotel being great. The pillows were a very poor quality, these with the bed linen need to be a much higher standard.
The pools are what they are, not really aimed at swimming. The roof top pool area has no shade, so unusable in the heat. The sun loungers were filthy, we did not want to put our towels on the stains.
The weakest point was the dining experience. Whilst the food was uninspiring and the organisation was weak. There were too few staff and the restaurant manager appeared stressed. There was no clear indication where coffee and juices were dispensed and In fact they were at opposite ends of the buffet area. The worst experience was one evening when a large package holiday party booked in. When we went for dinner there were no free tables, although there were unset tables available. Eventually we took ourselves to a half set table and went to get the rest of the cutlery ourselves. The were other small irritations, the whole management of the dining experience needs to be overhauled by looking at more successful hotels. We only ate there twice for dinner.

Room Tip: Side sea view to the right of the hotel have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 30/08/2013 for 7 nights on full board basis. Food was lovely as was hotel, it's facilities and my room. I enjoyed the fact that I could leave the balcony door open all night so that if I awoke in the night I could hear the surf rustling over the pebbled beach.....Lovely sound and very soothing. Who cares about the TV being old fashioned......it was useful for news updates which is all I switched it on for the size of the TV is not relevant.
Staff were friendly, especially in the restaurant.....all very hard working. Reception staff could have been more genned up on local knowledge, given there was no on site representative from Jet 2 but guess I should have gone to tourist information office about cycle hire. Had a really lovely stay at this place and would certainly recommend it to friends and family and will probably return again myself

Room Tip: I stayed in room 507 so near the back on the left hand side. Lovely views towards Altea and Calpe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor’s Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Alicante Province - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaktus Albir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.