We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful seaviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kaktus Albir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful seaviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently with another couple. The plus points were extremely well appointed hotel, exceptionally clean throughout, beautiful spacious bedrooms with sea views, very helpful and friendly staff. The minus points were fixed shower in bathroom which made hair washing difficult and no drawers in bedroom just shelves. The food was varied but not the quality one would expect for a 4 star hotel, also the evening meal did not start until 8pm which made it late for going out to other places.The evening entertainment was very repetitive the duo played the same music each evening, the dancing was not really suitable for British tastes. There is not much going on in Albir, you need to go into Benidorm for ballroom dancing. Fare on bus going is one euro 50 cents per person each way, but you have to get taxi back late at night which cost 14 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third floor or higher for a good seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
45
100
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel on the whole but was let down by one or two problems.

We stayed in room 125 (around the back), no sea view but it also had it's good points.

Firstly, it was beautifully appointed and was fully equipped for self catering since it possessed a microwave oven, an electric hob (2 rings) and joy of joys, a refrigerator!! (not often found in hotel rooms).

The room was also serviced daily by the maid and she maintained an excellent standard throughout the week.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, so can only comment on the breakfast which was very good indeed.
A cooked breakfast was available as well as continental options including cereals and fruit and it was of a very good standard.

We can also recommend the sea food buffet on Thursday evenings.
It is shown priced at 15 Euros per person but there is a 3 Euro per person discount for hotel residents,

(Please note, the discount was not advertised anywhere, so don't forget to ask for it when paying the bill).

Evening entertainment is adequate, it is provided most nights by a male/female singing duo and on certain nights there are guest acts.

On Saturday evenings, a fair number of (ordinary) Spaniards arrive to demonstrate their dancing skills and they seem to take it rather seriously.
Quite entertaining, if you like that sort of thing but not my cup of tea, I'm afraid

In general, most staff were helpful and friendly but sad to say, there were one or two, who were sadly in need of a course in customer service and it was this that prevented me giving a higher rating to the hotel.

Would we go back?? - certainly, in spite of the few problems we encountered, it is a very nice place and well worth a visit.
it is conveniently situated for the beach, it has a very nice roof terrace with a small pool and there is also an excellent bus service to Benidorm.
If you take the bus down to Altea, you can also catch the narrow gauge train to Calpe and Denia.

Try it for yourself.................

Room Tip: Rooms around the back of the hotel have no sea view but are much quieter. Rooms overlooking the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

5 of us went to this hotel recently with saga. Lovely hotel food very good and saga reps excellent, but alot of staff were very rude and we felt like second class citizens being treated differently from guests who weren't with saga. Saga so shouldn't be at this hotel, ok if you are Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As independent travellers we spent 4 nights from 9/9/13. The hotel is spacious with glass lifts and a huge bar/ lounge/ballroom. Our room had a sea view, large bathroom and was well appointed. The balcony was pleasant to sit on. All in all what one would expect from a 4 star holiday hotel.
However, the let downs stopped the hotel being great. The pillows were a very poor quality, these with the bed linen need to be a much higher standard.
The pools are what they are, not really aimed at swimming. The roof top pool area has no shade, so unusable in the heat. The sun loungers were filthy, we did not want to put our towels on the stains.
The weakest point was the dining experience. Whilst the food was uninspiring and the organisation was weak. There were too few staff and the restaurant manager appeared stressed. There was no clear indication where coffee and juices were dispensed and In fact they were at opposite ends of the buffet area. The worst experience was one evening when a large package holiday party booked in. When we went for dinner there were no free tables, although there were unset tables available. Eventually we took ourselves to a half set table and went to get the rest of the cutlery ourselves. The were other small irritations, the whole management of the dining experience needs to be overhauled by looking at more successful hotels. We only ate there twice for dinner.

Room Tip: Side sea view to the right of the hotel have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 30/08/2013 for 7 nights on full board basis. Food was lovely as was hotel, it's facilities and my room. I enjoyed the fact that I could leave the balcony door open all night so that if I awoke in the night I could hear the surf rustling over the pebbled beach.....Lovely sound and very soothing. Who cares about the TV being old fashioned......it was useful for news updates which is all I switched it on for the size of the TV is not relevant.
Staff were friendly, especially in the restaurant.....all very hard working. Reception staff could have been more genned up on local knowledge, given there was no on site representative from Jet 2 but guess I should have gone to tourist information office about cycle hire. Had a really lovely stay at this place and would certainly recommend it to friends and family and will probably return again myself

Room Tip: I stayed in room 507 so near the back on the left hand side. Lovely views towards Altea and Calpe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went with Saga to this hotel for 7 nights.Saga were good and took good care of it`s clients.There was an included cocktail party and gala dinner,which was acceptable and a good way to meet fellow guests.There was 2 included trips and both were well planned and enjoyable.
ROOMS-very dark and drab,everthing green.Big bathroom and cleanest bath I have ever seen.There was extra charge for everthing.Safety deposit box,and a small fridge,which was a godsend for a cool drink on balcony.Don`t expect privacy on balconies,because of hotel layout,the guests opposite were so close you could have a conversation with them.Remember to close curtains when undressing/dressing!!.Tv could have gone on antiques roadshow.
FOOD-very very salty.Meats cheap cuts.Had crab and crab claws one night but nothing to open shell with.breakfast the worse I`ve had in a hotel for a long while.Waiter service good and drink topup good.
ENTERTAINMENT-non existant.They showed a film on a sunday night,and apparently who got to reception desk first could pick film shown.They did have flamenco dancing one night at 11.30pm.Itwas Spanish dancing that was main event.Non residents came to hotel to dance,and was is cut throat.Men in black patent leather shoes putting chalk on soles for better glide.They were so competitive it was scary.
DRINKS-being with saga we were all inclusive.We had to stand at a certain area of bar for service,and there was NO waiter service for saga guests.Other reviews stated barstaff were rude ,we certainly didn`t experience that.
Overall hotel was clean and wellpositioned.
Would we return no.Poor food options,limited day and night entertainment.Very dirty looking roof top pool area,and air condition in bedroom next to useless,I`ll spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at The Kaktus whilst visiting friends in Albir. It's close to the (Pebble) beach

The room was from 1992 and the TV from before that but we did not really want to watch TV which was just as well as only Sky news was in English and the picture for that was unwatchable.

I cannot comment on the food as we never ate in he hotel at all even though we booked it as B&B. Room only would have been better as the are plenty of places for cheap excellent food all around the main street. Also there are plenty of places for expensive food. The entertainment is limited and the "Bubble man" on Saturday night was fun but I doubt I could watch his act twice.

Free wi-fi in the reception that is crap... Room WiFi you have to pay for

What else can I say, oh yes, it's really close to the beach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581 L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor’s Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Alicante Province - Costa Blanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaktus Albir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.