We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guardamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Guardamar to your Saves list
Hotel Guardamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puerto Rico 11, Guardamar del Segura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is frequented by clients on free inspection tours from estate agents who pay rock bottom prices.
The rooms are average, as is the food, standard of service and hygiene.
TIP: The only access to the rooms is via a short flight of stairs. Not recommended for disabled people.

Very few spaniards stay here which should tell you, there are better hotels in Guardamar.

Room Tip: Choose a.n.other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for two nights as we were finalising our apartment purchase and wanted somewhere reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and although my Spanish very limited were very amused that I tried! The rooms were very clean, and quite comfortable with a nice few of the sea from the 4th floor. We tried the restaurant on the first night as we couldn't be bothered to find somewhere as we got the about 7. The food was very local and pretty good but don't expect English dishes, breakfast is continental but with good choices of pastries and breads and cold meats and cheeses. We had drinks in the bar and liked the local crowd that used it. All round this was good value for around £45 per night. Dinner with a bottle of wine included was 14e, and again good value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our second visit to the hotel. Yes, you have a flight of 4 steps to go up to get to the hotel lift (there is a stair lift at this point if you need it). All the rooms have either partial or full sea view. The rooms are of an acceptable size (we have stayed in 4* hotels in Amsterdam and Alicante with comparable room sizes). There is a fridge in the room but no mini bar - but the supermarket is close by (about 5 mins). The hotel bar sells bottled water ( €0.75). Some floors are smoking and some are non-smoking - just make sure you specify which you want when you book. The beds are comfortable (doubles are 2 pushed together, but unless you're planning on moving in I don't understand why this is such an issue.....). Aircon works well, bathrooms are good size, internet access is free(it's wired but reception can supply a cable). No tea or coffee facilities in the room so bring a travel kettle!
The hotel is family run, and the staff are excellent to deal with - very helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. It was our birthdays (a day apart) while we were there, and although we never said anything, someone must have spotted the dates on our passports. When we came in from the beach on the evening of the first of the birthdays, the hotel had left a card signed by all the staff, a wine cooler with a bottle of cava, and a dozen liquer chocolates. We go away every year at the same time and this is the first hotel that has ever done anything like this. If they read this I would like to thank them all again for such a lovely thought.
The hotel caters for a lot of Spanish tourists, so learn a little of the language before you go - you'll be surprised how much people will warm to you. It is gay-friendly, so don't be put off.
Guardamar is typically Spanish , bustling when it's not siesta, bars and restaurants with tables on the pavement (even in the road), and an amazing beach that seems to go on forever.
Pay it a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with full sea views tend to be 7 onwards ( so 207, 307, 407)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Hotel reception looked ok. No ramp access for wheelchairs or kids buggies - even the lift is up a flight of steps. Could barely get past end of the beds in the room - tiny. 2 Single beds instead of double. Room stank of cigarettes, and had ashtray - with air freshners trying to cover smell. Guardamar is a dusty built up Spanish town.

Room Tip: Dont travel when Spanish have holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Hotel is located near the Guardamar beach, but nevertheless only 1 5 minutes walk from the centre. Good accomodation with excellent breakfast and rooms are well serving your relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guardamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guardamar

Address: Puerto Rico 11, Guardamar del Segura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Guardamar del Segura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Guardamar del Segura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Guardamar 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Guardamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guardamar Guardamar Del Segura, Spain - Alicante Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guardamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.