We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo to your Saves list
Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Praia de Silgar 3, 36960 Sanxenxo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Bellegarde-sur-Valserine, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The view....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Location: excellent
The building: modern nice
The rooms: with balcony and a perfect view of the bay
The staff: very, very helpful
Restaurant: good food, good value for money.
Spa: apparently somewhat average, I did not go, my friend did. Perhaps a matter of taste.
WiFi: yes

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I was storm bound in Sanxenxo and this, I was advised, the best hotel still open and proved a real treat. Staff were really friendly and helpful (particularly when I arrived at 11PM somewhat debraggled). Rooms are nice a spacious. The views very pleasant. The buffet breakfast is decent enough and they happily had the chef cook eggs and bacon for me. The real gem, however is the salt water pool and spa which was really good, and after 6 days crossing Biscay, heavenly. If you do find yourself in the area, this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I only stayed here one night but would have been very happy to stay longer if there had been availability. I got a great bargain even for being a solo traveller and because I was trying to budget on this particular trip I didnt eat in the restaurant or take advantage of the Spa attached.
I was lucky enough to be given the room with the biggest balcony in the hotel! It had the only wrap around balcony and would have been wonderful if Id had time to take advantage of sunbathing on it. Nice large room, modern, stylish, lovely linens and towels. Classy.

Staff on reception speak excellent English and their customer service is exemplary.
For a very reasonable additional charge to my room rate I could have had a days use of the Spa, attached to and part of the Hotel. I explored the Spa and have only seen one other Thalassotherapy pool like it in all my travels around the world. So I would definitely recommend taking advantage of that deal if you are not on a budget.
The restaurant looked lovely, but again, being on a budget, I didnt eat there. I did have a coffee and the restaurant staff were also very attentive and friendly.
The only disadvantage I could see to staying here is that the sun tends to be on the hotels location only briefly in the day, which in the height of Summer is probably not something to put you off. The beach is only a 100metres away. But at the time I travelled it meant the outside bar area was in shadow and a little chilly. It is in one of the best locations in Sanxeno.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is that one part sits forward of the other, so the part above the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the beach and resort of Sanxenxo. many rooms have seaviews with private balconies. Good, comfortable beds, contemporary style rooms, tv, a/c, hairdryer, etc. The restaurant has an amazing view over the beach and town. A perfect place to spend an evening. It is only a 10-15 minute stroll into the main resort along a beautiful promenade.

Room Tip: Room with a seaview on the 4th floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Despite the fact that we found the room and the beds a bit small, the great view and localization, makes it worth it. It's really nice to spend some time at the balcony admiring the sunrising at Silgar bay.
Some noises at night with the water pipes, but nothing from streets or ocean. We stayed at 2nd floor.
The breakfast it's really nice and diversified. Perfect for the ones that love to eat early in the morning!
We also had some issues during the stay that where well resolved, as expected at a 4*. The staff it's nice and polite.
It's a great value and you want to repeat it.

Room Tip: Sea view, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had the privilege of staying for 2 days in this hotel, in a beautiful, very comfortable suite with breathtaking views of the beaches of Sanxenxo. Upon arrival, we had our lunch in the hotel-restaurant, sitting on the terrace, enjoying both food and drink in a very relaxed and agreeable atmosphere. The staff very friendly and efficient, both in the hotel and in the restaurant. The Spa (saltwater) is really a positive experience. Breakfast excellent variety and well served by waiting staff. In short, a highly recommendable place for a couple of days of real relaxing. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Try for the suite, it's definitely the best room for the lowest price you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had 2 days here during a trip to Santiago de compostela. It was perfect.

The rooms were modern and stylish with a nice spacious balcony/seating area with the most breathtaking views. The hotel is situated on the cliff-side so overlooking the beach and marina.

The staff were incredibly helpful, and considering my poor Spanish, very courteous. Dinner was a real highlight as the restaurant extends out onto the balcony where a romantic setting lies. Quiet, relaxed and only the sound of crashing waves to fill the air. The food was excellent, and reasonably priced (66euro for 2 course meal for two with coffee and wine).

The hotel is ideally placed right next to the beach. We forgot to take a towel down, it took 5 minutes to get up there, grab a towel, and get back down again to swimming in the sea. Also there is a wide variety of top top quality seafood restaurants for you to pick from along the sea front.

Finally and possible most importantly the extremely pleasing spa facilities. Sublime spa, with fresh sea water pools. Loads of fun, invigorating and relaxing. Either sitting in the sauna, or doing some lengths in the 25m pool, or just pressing all the buttons and see where the water shoots out! On occasion we were the only people in there.

If your looking for a nice treat, go here.

Room Tip: Well the higher up you are, the better the view of the beach. We was on the 4th floor, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo

Address: Paseo Praia de Silgar 3, 36960 Sanxenxo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Pontevedra Province > Sanxenxo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach hotel is spread over 3 floors and comprises 96 rooms, of which 5 are suites. Facilities include an inviting reception area with a 24-hour reception, a lift and a hotel safe. Further facilities include a TV and lounge room and various rooms for conferences, meetings and banquets. Facilities include a cosy cafe with an outdoor terrace, a lively and traditional Irish pub and a stylish a la carte restaurant. Guests may make use of the laundry service and room service, and hotel garage parking is also available. The hotel also offers wheelchair accessible facilities and guests may opt for smoking or non-smoking room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.