We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas to your Saves list
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Relaxing overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night en-route to our villa holiday. The hotel is in an attractive, rural location but only a short distance from the main road from Girona to the coast. We booked the bed/breakfast/dinner option in a 'standard' room. The room was lovely, overlooking the gardens and hilside, and the balcony was large. The hotel wasn't busy in May and the large area around the pool (unheated unfortunately!) was very quiet and relaxing. The meal was good (apart from the raw fish speciality which is not my personal favourite) and the service in the restaurant attentive. The bar service was a bit hit and miss but, overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Grateful for the time spent on describing your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    70
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
53
114
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Five of us came here for lunch on Sunday. This was our third visit to the restaurant and although the food was absolutely fantastic as always, the service was really terrible. There was another table behind us, a Catalan family, and they were waited on hand and foot. In the meantime, we had to keep asking for bread (only two of us had been given any). It never arrived until the starter - which already contained pan con tomate, so we didn't want it then. Then they brought four desserts although we ordered five. The waiter had to be asked where it was. He went to fetch the missing one and barely apologised for the oversight. Although we spoke a mixture of Catalan, Castillian and English at our table, we did feel discriminated against. As we got up to take coffees outside, we were asked, very rudely, if we had paid. Then, we had to wait for the coffees which were forgotten so we had to ask again. Then, the waiter spilt one of them and didn't replace it. In the meantime, the Catalan party were followed outside with coffees on trays as though they were VIPs. The food was so wonderful but I am afraid the service really upset us and I doubt we will return. My parents had considered the hotel for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration next year but I think we will go to Mas Torrent instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the service offered on the day of your visit.
Exceptionally that day we had a small problem with the management staff that made that we could not offer a service with the same quality standards you are accustomed to.
We hope that this isolate fact in our service do not make you lose confidence in Us.
We hope to serve you again soon in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went here with part of my family. 4 babies from 2 to 5 and three couples. The rooms were big and confortable, with garden or terrace but in all cases capable for up to 4 adults if needed.
Due to having the babies the staff placed our table in front of the playroom in a private part of the restaurant which was great as we were not bothering other people. The staff was very friendly and willing to help ever. The restaurant better than the 5 starred Cala Pi from Salles hotels chain. A bit pricey but is worth if you want later to relax and not to take the car. The garden area is wonderful and better when the pitch and putt will be finished. The only complaint was the behaviour of part of the breakfast staff as they were not replacing anything from the buffet when finished and giving stupid reasons. If it's a 4 star hotel and a bit luxury you have to have the breakfast offer at full steam until the closing time. No excuses. The buffet itself is something to improve as is a bit poor. If this is solved the hotel is great.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's a really pleasure for us to see that your family and you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are so greatful for your comments.

Referring to the breakfast comments, we are sorry that your experience with the service had not been totally satisfactory, we'll try to do better the next time.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Since it's a spa-hotel we booked a room plus "45 minutes of relaxing massage for each guest". Apparently, it was 45 minutes of patting with oil, but not a massage at all.A pity feeling of being diddled...
In the spa we were lucky to meet a group of 10-12 kids playing in a hot-tube and a mom with a baby...So we didn't take a risk to join them...
The breakfast was good.
The room was big and nice, with a small balcony.
The bath was old and dirty (you know, dark stains on the bottom...)
In the restaurant the food was good but the restaurant itself was not cosy.
I think in summer staying here is better as there´s a nice outdoor pool and a big nice territory.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your confidence in Hotel Sallés Mas Tapiolas**** and also thanks for your comments about your stay in our hotel.

Our guests opinions are very valuable for us and helps us to improve day by day.

We are sorry to read your comment about the massage performed. We are awfully sorry that it has not been as relaxing as you had expected.
In any case, let me inform you that all our massages are performed by graduated chiropractors.

Attending your comment of the use of the services of our SPA, we informs you that the opening hours are from 10 am to 20pm although acces is restricted to children from 10h to 15h.
It's possible that you have used the services during this hours.

We also appreciate all the positive comments that you mentioned. Our first objective is the full satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to see you again soon, mybe this summer season.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the hotel itself represented excellent value for money. The pool and indoor spa were both fabulous.

Views from the garden were also beautiful, hard to believe you are so well placed for the main road as its very quiet too.

The restaurant food was delicious if a little pricey. Staff were all v pleasant.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your comments. We are so satisfied to read that you had a wonderful time among us.
Short stay but full of different experiences.

We hope to see you again soon. Contact with us if you need any help to organize your next stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I heard on various occassions about the beautiful environment this establishement.
Went there for lunch and on arrival I was impressed by the beaufiful views but I was not impressed by the menu. The offer gastronomic menu for lunch but there was nothing gastronomic about it, there was a burger among the choises... and we had an american mustard in the plastic bottle when we asked for it ...? Most of the other plate we took where ok but taste was missing and the tomato gaspachio had no taste. We will not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Gerente at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for writing your experience in our restaurant. Our clients' opinions are very valuable for us and critics help us to improve day by day.

We are absolutely sorry to see that we have not reached your expectations.
We would like you to give us an oportunity for you to see that we can do better and that we have a good catalan gastronomy.

Thank you another time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice hotel in a beautiful hilly location, quiet still close enough to the beach and with interesting surroundings to visit. All comfort to relax so you can spend few days just there - swiming pool, spa, tennis, garden... Many places to visit arround and also beautiful to cycle. The restaurant offers a very good menu and good wine list (expensive though for every day); good quality and variety offer for breakfast. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for the view to the hills and the nearby church!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your comments. Tripadvisor's users will also be happy to read your feelings and recommendations.

We hope to see you again maybe this winter to do a week-end break.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Address: Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Santa Cristina d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Cristina d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a traditional Catalan country house from the 18th century, Mas Tapiolas is just 10 km from the coast in Solius. It features an outdoor pool surrounded by beautiful gardens. Mas Tapiolas offers elegant rooms decorated with traditional wooden furnishings. They come with satellite TV and a balcony. The hotel's spa, which has an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, can be used for free. Massage services are also available and there is a lawn tennis court. A buffet breakfast is served and light refreshments are available in the bar-cafeteria with views over the Massis de l'Ardenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas Costa Brava/Santa Cristina D'Aro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.