We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Easter overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Save Saved
You added Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late Easter overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a gorgeous property, in the peace and quiet of the Spanish countryside. Hotel is worthy of its four stars, our family room had a large double and two single beds, no sofa beds here.....Hotel is out of the way, which makes it a slightly captive audience for prices etc., but whilst the food and drink is not especially cheap, it is in line with what you would expect to pay in a four star hotel. We had lunch for four (2 adults + 2 children) for about £70 and dinner for about £100 (including a bottle of wine).

Staff are welcoming and charming. Spa area was great and we had it to ourselves for an hour, on the saturday we stayed.

Found the hotel first time, using the sat nav, but can agree with some of the other reviews that it may be tricky to find without one.

It was a perfect end to a week's break and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

we are really pleased to read that you had a satisfying experience in our hotel.

Each new guest is an opportunity for us to demonstrate our idea of quality and service and we are really happy to see that we reached the expectations you had about us.

We hope to see you again soon. Please contact with us for your next stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    60
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although finding this hotel was very difficult we were not disappointed when we finally arrived. An exceptionally rustic retreat with plenty to do and see - despite the unseasonably poor weather. From our first encounter with staff we were treated with courtesy and helpfulness. A car is a must to explore the beautiful area of Catalonia, either inland or on the coast.
The food was of an exceptional standard, particularly the breakfast. We did sample the evening menu which was delicious. However, we had decided from the offset to sample other restaurants and bars in the local area – The tapas bars in Palamos are excellent and reasonably priced.
The hotel also has many outdoor activities to participate in, from mountain biking to walking in the local hills and forests, again fantastic views in all directions. We particularly enjoyed the archery which wasn’t well publicised in the hotel. The young man that met us and gave excellent tuition, followed by a very interesting game hunt through the local forest, was experienced and informative Note: targets were not real but very lifelike.
In summary, a fantastic place to stay set in exquisite surroundings. Very attentive staff that make your stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Plenty to do and see for those who want to get out and explore the local area or, if you wish to just chill out by the pool or use the spa facilities, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,

it is a pleasure for us to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we want to thank you for this complete description of your experience in our hotel.

We can see that you made use of most of our services such as breakfast, dinner, spa, swimming pool, biking, walking, archery, etc.

We would be pleased to welcome you again, maybe in summer, and propose you other activities such as: outdoor dinners with live Catalan music, horsing, massages, spa by night, etc

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I agree that having a car makes it easier to get to Mas Tapiolas, but once you are there you really dont have to leave for a few days there is so much to do and a great place to relax, unless, like us, you are inclined is to explore the general area. The rooms are very bright and comfortable, the rooms with balconies are a treat. There is a view of a small church/monestary that is worth exploring. The beach is only 10 or 20 minutes away.
The food was extremely tasety and very reasonable from an American city dwellers point of view. Cava for 2 or 3 eruros a class. The spa is quite nice, a little small and not quite hot enough but still relaxing. The staff is very, very friendly.

The downside, it is a hard to find without very clear instructions or map. One entry is up a dirt road that could be disconcerting, the other is off the main highway, but not easy to spot the hotel sign.
If you are a vegetarian, the menu choices are extremely limited, but if you speak to the waiter/staff before dinner they will come up with something for you. You can always order an omelet. It is helpful to learn the Spanish or Catalan words for veggies that you like so that you can order them. Catalans are meat eating people and according to the meat and fish eaters in my group they are pretty much unsurpassed. The breakfast was very good as well.
As an American, we sometimes expect a little more with our hotel stays, like complimentary toiletries other than soap, or extra towels, but all you have to do is ask.
We stayed there during the Christmas week, the weather was beautiful and clear. The evenings, chilly, but they have a lovely fireplace to sit by.
One other slight problem is there internet experience. It is free WiFI but is very, very spotty, but who really needs it in a place like this, just check out the views, eat the food and sit in the steam room.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

we want to thank you for writing your experience in our hotel on this website.

It is a good way for us to control our visitors' perception and it helps future guests to know us better.
The Chef and the rest of the staff will be really happy to read your comments.

Concerning the access to the hotel, unfortunately, we are not allowed to change or add new signs since it is a motorway. The sand way was the first access before being a hotel.

And according to the wifi, our computer scientists are working to give us better signal in all parts of the hotel.

We hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The setting is fabulous with well-maintained grounds. It was well worth paying extra for a garden room, as this provided extra space and privacy. We did not have a car and enjoyed exploring the area on foot, although bicycles are available to hire, and used Shuttle Direct for transport to and from Girona, although a bus service is also available from Santa Cristina d'Aro. We were amazed at the amount of wildlife, with sparrows everywhere and swallows enjoying skimming the surface of the pool and we even saw bats and (dead) snakes. It seems the hotel grounds are managed in an environmentally friendly manner.
Bed and pillows were very comfortable and the spa is perfect if the weather is not great. Fabulous setting for the much appreciated outdoor eating options. The only downside for us was the (expensive) lunch and dinner menu items and the over-reliance on red meat, with very few vegetarian options. We discovered afterwards that it's possible to ask for a sandwich menu at lunch time, but still expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director de Recepción at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guests,

First of all, we want to thank you for writing your experience in Trip Advisor since it will help many people to know us better.

All Mas Tapiolas Team is very happy to check that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned we are fully surrounded by nature and it gives this place this peaceful atmosphere.

Referring to the restaurant, our card is composed by typical Catalan dishes. We try to offer a quality option to enjoy and discover the local gastronomy. We also propose snacks for lunch with simple dishes and sandwiches.

Finally, concerning prices, we will renovate our gastronomy's options during winter and try to adjust our offer to our guests expectations.

We would be really happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

the hotel is in a side road you must have a car unless taxi will cost you a lot ,no activities for children so you must go out from the hotel. the view is excellent the food also the room is very nice
but need here more money then other hotel becouse of the expensive resturant and taxies

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your opinion about your stay in our hotel.


Surely Mas Tapiolas is one kilometre far from the nearest village. This is why we get some quiet atmosphere and you are right saying that a car is essential to reach the hotel and move around to go sightseeing.


Referring Children activities, the hotel propose outdoor and indoor playgrounds and activities such as play tennis (free), take a bath in our outdoor or indoor swimming pool, play football or play archery.


As we remember, a problem with the driving licence prevented you from hiring a car and, even the receptionists tried their best, the only solution found was the taxi.


We hope that in a future stay we could show you all the facilities and activities the hotel offer.


Thank you another time for your comments.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with friendly and accomodating staff. The rooms are spacious and well designed and offer nice views to the surrounding countryside. The grounds and gardens are very nicely kept and I was particulary impressed with the conference/venue facilities. The restuarant is of a very good quality and I would recommend stopping in for dinner even if you are just passing.

This was a family vacation and we were travelling with toddlers, so perhaps this was not a perfect choice considering. There is a small play area, but you constantly need to watch them.

Would I return? YES, but just with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest,


First of all, we want to thank you for writing your opinion about your stay in our Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas.


Thank you as well for your positive comments about facilities, services and staff. There are actually many different aspects and factors for a stay to be completely satisfactory and we are pleased to see that you will return.


Please when you come back, call us and we will give you our best offer.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My hubby and I hadn't had a holiday without our children in 20 years. When I booked on line it was perfect for a quiet, relaxing break with some sun thrown in. We had hired a car and found it extremely difficult to find as it is on an unmarked road. Asking the locals was hard as no one spoke English. Time for some spanish lessons!

It seriously was 'wow', very beautiful, rustic with real spanish charm. The views were amazing and the weather was perfect. Breakfast was 10/10 with lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs and bacon.

My only criticism, if there has to be one is the evening meal was far too expensive - £15 for tomatoe and tuna salad!! We chose to eat out and even prepared salad in our room as we had a fridge. We thought having a car was essential unless of course you didn't mind the expensive cost of the evening meal. A bottle of wine was 20 euros, at the supermarket 3!!

Our room was lovely and very spacious, we even had our own garden! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go again - perfect for a bit of romance :)

Room Tip: Here it wouldn't matter what room you had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear guest,


We are very pleased to know that you have really enjoyed during your stay in our hotel.


Definitely, it is not easy to reach the hotel but unfortunately, Spanish laws does not allow us to put another sign since it is a general motorway.


About the restaurant prices, we have to remark that our quality standards mark the price. We work with local products, trying to reflect identity of Catalan food.


Thanks to feedback such as yours, we developed a new snack menu in order to give a diversified offer.


Another time thank you for your detailed and constructive comments.


Hope to welcome you again in a next future.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Address: Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Santa Cristina d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Santa Cristina d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a traditional Catalan country house from the 18th century, Mas Tapiolas is just 10 km from the coast in Solius. It features an outdoor pool surrounded by beautiful gardens. Mas Tapiolas offers elegant rooms decorated with traditional wooden furnishings. They come with satellite TV and a balcony. The hotel’s spa, which has an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, can be used for free. Massage services are also available and there is a lawn tennis court. A buffet breakfast is served and light refreshments are available in the bar-cafeteria with views over the Massis de l’Ardenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas Costa Brava/Santa Cristina D'Aro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.