We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Save Saved
You added Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was excellent, beautiful scenery from room which was spacious and comfortable. Garden grounds well looked after and lovely pool area to relax.
Dinner in restaurant very good, excellent service. Breakfast choice very good, fresh fruit, cereal cold cuts and you could have eggs cooked fresh if required.
The only complaint toiletries not replenished nor was the soft drinks in the mini bar. Nice small gym with good equipment, no towels to wipe down equipment when finished or instructions on operating the equipment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive and encouraging words.
Our first objective is the full satisfaction of our customer.
Excuse us for the toiletries replenishment, we always try to keep it full equipped during the stay and we are really sorry that it had not been done in your room.
Referring to Mini Bar replenishment, since the first soft drinks are complimentary, you have to ask reception to fill it again (and charge it to the room). That is why it is not replenished automatically. A note inside the Mini Bar inform of this procedure.
Hoping to seeing you again,

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
102
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrassa, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We got a promotion package in Mas Tapiolas: One night stay with breakfast, illimited access to the Spa zone and a 30 minute massage for my fiancee and for me.
We arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon, and were nicely surprised to see the whereabouts. Nice fields of green and nature all around. The room was spacious with a balcon and great views to the gardens, the Spa was perfectly conditioned and complete, and the massage was pure heaven.
Breakfast was also very good, consisting of continental buffet with local specialities.
Parking was free in the entrance of the hotel.
Once we get the opportunity, we will absolutely return to Mas Tapiolas!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Front Office Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

it is a pleasure for us to read your words and see that your stay has been totally satisfying.
All Mas Tapiolas team feel proud and with renovated energy for follow in the good direction, improving our quality service day by day.
As you say, we hope you will return soon so that we could welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Mas Tapiolas Hotel is a great hotel in every sense. It is very romantic, so perfect for a weekend with your partner, but one can also stay with the family since the rooms are really big. The hotel has a restaurant where you can eat typical catalan food, delicious food !! so you don't need to drive into town in order to have dinner. It has also a wonderful spa where you can take a rest and feel completely relaxed. The hotel is surrounded by valleys so you can feel the nature in a peace and quiet location. Ask for a room in the upper floor, the room has more natural light. And make sure you travel by car, since you'll need it to find the hotel in the middle of the countryside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper floor, the room has more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Sir,


Thank you for having taken a few moments to complete the tripadvisor´s questionnaire. We do appreciate your comments, which help us to improve our service every day in order to go above and beyond our guest´s expectations



Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sallés Hotel Mas Tapiolas in the near future, we remain with best regards,


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

On driving in the gate, my first impression was "wow!". The location is stunning, and the old farmhouse building is gorgeous.
Our room was what was described to us as the "new" building - but I suppose relative to the old stone farmhouse, anything could have been new. The room was quite big, very clean with a nice bathroom, flatscreen TV [not that you'll need it] and a little sort of ante-room with a day-bed [which I suppose could be used for kids as a family room.] The decor wasn't really to my liking, but there wasn't anything wrong with it per se.

The grounds are lovely, and the views are beautiful. We didn't really spend much time at the pool, but from the few minutes we were there, it seemed gorgeous - plenty of beds, clean and looked well maintained.
We had dinner one evening in the restaurant, which was good - but expensive for what we had, I thought.
The location is great for exploring around the Costa Brava region and it's very easy to get to and from - I used my own Garmin, and had no trouble at all finding it [if memory serves, they give GPS coordinates on their website].

We found their own website to offer the same price as some of the other hotel-booking websites, so booked directly with them - but keep an eye out in case this changes.

I would certainly stay in this hotel again - and if you want a quiet retreat, away from the hustle and bustle of it all, then this could be the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Hotel Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for having taken a few moments to complete the tripadvisor´s questionnaire. We do appreciate your comments, which help us to improve our service every day in order to go above and beyond our guest´s expectations.



Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sallés Hotel Mas Tapiolas in the near future, we remain with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Loved this hotel although agree the rooms need a bit of TLC. The rooms were big enough and bathroom huge, but felt a bit old, however they provided free soft drinks in the fridge which was a nice touch.

The hotel is in beautiful countryside although within easy reach (about 5 minutes) from a main road. We only stayed 2 nights, but didn't want to leave. It has so much space. The pool is lovely and we didn't experience any bed saving! The views are great looking towards mountains, a village in the distance etc.

We actually ate every meal here which is a change for us. The buffet breakfast had the most choice I had seen in a long while & was included in our tarrif. The lunches were ok, but the dinners were excellent.

As I said, we will be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Hotel Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken a few moments to complete the tripadvisor´s questionnaire. We do appreciate your comments, which help us to improve our service every day in order to go above and beyond our guest´s expectations

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sallés Hotel Mas Tapiolas in the near future, we remain with best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

We spent four nights at Mas Tapiolas hotel in August with our two daughters (4 & 9). The hotel is in a spectacular location with views across valleys to the back and front. The hotel has a swimming pool, spa, gym and restaurant.

Overall this is a very good hotel. The rooms are spacious and the room we had was perfect for the four of us. Our room looked out the back and the view was beautiful. Another guest has written that the view out the back is all car park and dairy farm; the view out the front is certainly more beautiful than out
the back but I do think the other guest is overdoing it.


The restaurant is excellent although a little pricey; expect to pay between 20 and 30 euros per main dish. However the quality of the cooking is superb. There is a children's menu which is ok but has a bit too much "White" food on it. The breakfast buffet is great. Given the quality of the breakfast and dinners, lunches are strangely poor and overpriced.

We have two criticisms of the hotel. The first is the service, which can be a bit haphazard, particularly when the restaurant is full as it was on one of the nights we ate there.

The second is not particularly a criticism of the hotel per se, but more of the attitude that some of the guests had towards families with younger children. There were a few raised eyebrows to the noise that our girls made in the pool, and we overheard comments in Spanish about our children being "out of control" at dinner, which they certainly were not. However these comments were made by a group of four elderly guests who persisted on smoking at the table next to ours at dinner, and who reserved beds by the pool all day despite not using the beds until later in the afternoon. Selfish ? Inconsiderate ? You tell me. Again this is not necessarily a reflection on the hotel but more the fact that it's a small hotel and as such the behaviours and attitudes of a small group of guests can define the atmosphere in a hotel.

Would I stay here again ? Definitely. Would I recommend ? Definitely

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Hotel Manager at Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Mr Chentelman

Thank you for having taken a few moments to complete the tripadvisor´s questionnaire. We do appreciate your comments, which help us to improve our service every day.

We can assure you that we have taken good note of your comments and we strongly regret that the service in the restaurant had not been as you expected.

However, we hope that you did enjoy your stay and that you will recommend our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sallés Hotel Mas Tapiolas in the near future, we remain with best regards,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed over the weekend at Mas Tapiolas. Breathtaking surroundings, beautiful garden, spa, pool area, restaurant (a bit expensive but amazing traditional catalan food) and excellent service.
Close to many beautiful villages, and to the sea (10 min. by car).
The only negative thing I can say is that the rooms were more 3 star than 4, although they were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas

Address: Ctra C65 Km 7 Veinat de Solius s/n, 17246 Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Santa Cristina d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Santa Cristina d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a traditional Catalan country house from the 18th century, Mas Tapiolas is just 10 km from the coast in Solius. It features an outdoor pool surrounded by beautiful gardens. Mas Tapiolas offers elegant rooms decorated with traditional wooden furnishings. They come with satellite TV and a balcony. The hotel’s spa, which has an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, can be used for free. Massage services are also available and there is a lawn tennis court. A buffet breakfast is served and light refreshments are available in the bar-cafeteria with views over the Massis de l’Ardenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas Costa Brava/Santa Cristina D'Aro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.