We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Spa hotel in Costa Brava!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Save Saved
You added Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
Sydney Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Spa hotel in Costa Brava!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel from outside & in. Decent size room with all the amenities required. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The spa is amazing. We had 2 massages and enjoyed the spa daily (sauna, pool etc). Great breakfast. Located couple mins drive from the main strip of platja d'aro. Nice restaurants & shopping on that road. We chose to stay in this area of costa brava as the hotel looked amazing and it did not disappoint. Had entrance to its own private beach also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Tahnk you vry much for your´s positive comments. Our goal is not other one that to offer the best service to our guests.This kin d of comments , make us think that we are in the good way. Thank you again and we wait to see you soon again
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    59
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
146
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This year ,the second time I visited this hotel and once again I can confirm that this is the best option in playa de aro and one of the best luxury resort in costa brava.Rather new property itself , very friendly stuff , one of the best spa . The perfect breakfast , including Jamon , Iberian sausages and many others tasty things , all this with spectacular view on the on of the best small beach in this region. The picture you see from your balcony you can find in many touristic magazines.Special thanks to Willy , the guy at the reception , who helped us to visit many good restaurants , including Michelin stars and not only . Unfortunately he was absent the day we checked out and I could not express my gratitude , so hope to do this next time.
Also I would like to note the restaurant Rosa dels vents , deserved the note in Michelin guide .THeir gazpacho with tomato and beet root with yogurt from goat cheese is the best I have ever tried .Sommelier Jaime Abel Varon at the restaurant was just a godsend , he not only recommended us some wine , but every time did small excursion in the world of wine with detail explanation of every bottle he proposed . All really good wines were at absolutely reasonable price ( 30-40 EUR) close to market .
Some recommendation to the management to make the hotel the superb:
- to improve wi- fi quality
- to expand kids visiting time to spa at least for one hour , not from 2 till 3 , but from 1 till 2 p.m., to have possibility to warm child up , especially in cool season after the swimming pool.
- serve the beer and others drinks in the bar with some snacks like nuts, chips and olives. It is usual practice in all luxury hotels.
Despite the last sentences, the hotel is strongly recommended to visit.

Room Tip: THey have very good room 012 on the first floor with a huge terrace .The 013 is not bad too. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest
All Cala del Pi team thanks you for your comments about your stay with us. Nothing pleases us more than a satisfied guest. We only try to give the best service to make the stay of our guests is just as they had imagined. Therefore, and in the case of its 2nd stay with us, we are even more pleased because it tells us that we are on the good way . We take due note of your recommendations.
Once again thank you very much for your comments,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June/beginning of July and really find it hard to find any fault.
From the moment we arrived the staff were all friendly and helpful: Joan at the entrance gate, the young man who came to meet us in the underground car park to help with our bags and Will on reception who gave us a comprehensive introduction to the hotel and all its facilities.
We had been upgraded to a room with a sea view, which was wonderful, it had a good sized balcony, an enormous bed and also the bathroom was extremely spacious.
We ended up eating in the hotel restaurant every night as the food was excellent and there was a good choice of reasonably priced wines. A nice touch was the complimentary aperitif, usually a glass of Cava and also the pre-starters which were very good. Some of the dishes did seem extremely expensive eg the crab at 55 euros (for a starter!) but there were others more reasonably priced too. Particularly delicious was the rock octopus starter, the monkfish and the confit of kid, also the walnut and fruit bread rolls. On a couple of nights it was extremely empty but, having walked down to the town a few times in search of somewhere different and not really finding anywhere that appealed, it was lovely to return to the tranquility of the hotel. All the waitresses seemed to speak at least 2 languages and had to translate for the sommelier who only spoke Spanish (apologies if it was actually Catalan) when he did his "performance' which was informative but maybe not essential.
The inclusive breakfast had a good selection of fruits, cold meats, cheeses, some delicious pastries and the usual array of cooked eggs, bacon and sausages which always seemed fresh as they didn't put out too much at a time. It was DIY tea and coffee so you never had to ask for another pot but occasionally there was a short queue at the coffee machine.
Most of the other guests appeared to be French families with beautifully behaved children, more mature French and Spanish couples or Russians. Apart from ourselves there seemed to be only one other British couple.
The areas around the pool were always spotlessly clean. Although the beach was small, if you wanted to swim in the sea it was easily accessible from the terrace with its lovely sunbeds, just through a gate and down some steps
We would definitely return to this hotel or try another in the Salles group. They even gave us bottles of water for our trip as we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados huéspedes,
Nuestras más sinceras gracias por su amplia y detallada descripción de sus estancia entre nosotros. Creo sinceramente que hacen una descripción perfecta de lo que nos hemos propuesto como meta …..intentar dar el mejor servicio a nuestro clientes. Le agradezco sinceramente todas y cada una de sus palabras , las positivas y las no tan positivas , porque realmente nos ayudan a mejorar . De parte de todo el equipo de Cala del PI , muchas gracias e intentaremos mejorar dia a dia en nuestro servicio.
Un saludo y esperamos verlos pronto

Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

More 4 star minus ,rather than 5 star. Clean and on a rocky coast but small pool and only small public cove as a beach. Rooms rather dated in an 80's style but ok but ground floor no view of the sea
Staff all young and very willing can all speak at least Spanish ,Russian and English, although I think I was the only guest from the UK. I was surprised at how good the food was in the restaurant
Lots of excellent seafood as is to be expected and plenty of wines at 20€ mark although 16€ for some sliced tomato is a little steep.actually I found the Russians rather more enjoyable than a hotel full of Germans or French for that matter!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, manager at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positives comments of your holydays in our hotel We Estimate sincerely each and every words. We are happy that you enjoy our restaurant , based on fresh products and seasonal .
Thank ´s again and we hope to see you soon again .
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 nights in this hotel with our 2 sons. Very nice adjoining rooms with Spanish style furniture overlooking the pool and with a very nice sea view. Excellent breakfast with a very comprehensive buffet. We ate in the restaurant one night and were all very pleased with a delicious meal and very friendly service. We used the spa facilities everyday and found them first class. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you and your children had a really enjoyable stay. We are pleased that restaurant, spa, pool, etc. .. was perfect for you & your family
We Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a short break birthday treat with my best friend. We found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean, the staff very friendly & helpful & the option to enjoy the spa, very relaxing when the weather was bad. There was a good choice of food on the breakfast buffet, although the food could have been hotter. We ate out in the evening in the nearby seaside town on Platja D'Aro as the hotel restaurant seemed very expensive & lacking in atmosphere. Overall though, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you had a really enjoyable stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days and loved this hotel .there was a problem with the air con but they moved us without any problem. We booked through travel republic which I would never do again. I paid 100 e extra for spa credit which the hotel knew nothing about. Travel republic could give no explanation as to why they offer this option at extra cost when it means absolutely nothing extra to the customer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Spa Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d’Aro’s Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.