We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Top Notch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Save Saved
You added Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Platja d'Aro
herts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Definitely Top Notch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here whilst on our road trip last August/September 2012, through France and Spain. We travelled for hours through the Costa's and then as I was giving up hope, I found this hotel. We drove past, U-turned, and took a suite for a couple of nights. The hotel stands out from any other, but we chose it as i'm a bit 'precious' about my car, and the parking was private, with a security guard (oh and they WASH your car for you - result!)

Nicely kept grounds, inside the hotel is deceiving, it goes back a long way, and offers everything one would expect from a 5* resort, and the staff are really lovely and friendly, and even allowed me to practice my hideous 'schoolgirl' Spanish on them! The chef does create some 'wow factor' delights, but being Veggie, I was asked 'what i'd like', and agree 100% with a previous poster, who said that there should be more veggie options on the menu, rather than the chef 'whipping something up'. Please, i'm not complaining, that was lovely, but i'd rather just pick from a menu like anyone else. The food is faultless, the drinks are 'good measures', the entertainment was a beautiful spanish singer when we were there, she was fab.

The room was immaculate and sumptuous, 'gotta love red and gold decor', but a little dated. Nonetheless, for the £550 per night we paid, B&B, I wasn't moving to another hotel, I just saw two rooms and chose the best one for us! The bathrobes were soft, the wardrobes plentiful, TV wasn't great signal, balcony was lovely, and the jacuzzi bath was FAB!

All in all, if I could get it for a few days in the Summer at the correct brochure price, and not an 'i'm desperate for somewhere to stay' price, I would happily come back!

If you want to feel special, with a two hour flight, and are celebrating, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We did, after all I said, really love it, though for it's 5* rating, it needs tweeking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    56
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
129
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is beautifully designed and with very good service, as you can expect at a five-star hotel. The Spa-area is lovely and the balcony offered a good view of the Mediterranean, however, the hotel is located a bit away from the beach with some houses and a few trees in between. Considering that the price is quite high the hotel does not qualify for the highest rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited Platja D'Aro on business in March, unfortunately most of th town was closed. The hotel was very nice, well appointed rooms. My jacuzzi bath didn't work, however the room was very nice. There also seemed to be a lack of staff, the only time we used the bar, I had to telephone reception to get service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A lovely hotel with plenty of space to sit and relax. We went out of season (October) but I think the hotel had plenty of sun beds and chairs for all of the guests. Good access (beware lots of stairs) to the small cove below the beach. Very good breakfast selection. Room very clean and well maintained we had access to a terrace which was very nice. Staff helpful and available (which says much these days). Plenty of car parking at hotel. Lots of shops/ eating in resort (the hotel is pricey for dinner) but as the hotel is situated out of town be prepared to either drive or take a taxi. We visited after a trip to Barcelona and found it a good base to get out and about.

Room Tip: Our room was situated on the ground floor in front of and to the right hand side of reception and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Distinguished guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are very pleased that your holidays were as you had imagined. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our facilities, but more so his words about our staff. Your comments will help us to continue to pursue a level of service excellence that we have set. Regarding the restaurant keep in mind that we work with fresh, seasonal area. With a magnificent presentation and service according to a five stars for hotels. It is true that by proximity to Barcelona, ​​Girona and even France, the proximity of airports (Barcelona, ​​Girona), the TGV (girona) makes it easy to enjoy a few days rest in the Costa Brava and specifically the baix emporda (Platja d'Aro) population where we are right across the Mediterranean sea. Once again thank you very much for your feedback and hope to see you soon in our hotel
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been here twice. The first time you see the view from the restaurant you are taken aback as it is so beautiful. Very good value despite it bing expensive. Top class food. I had the Arroz negro and can still remember it as being oneof the most amazing lunches ever. Pool area is relaxed and classy. You can read a book, sleep, act as though it is your own villa! People are very well behaved and good mannered. It is a steep walk down to the beach and I would not let small children wander about here. You might be living on your nerves with old folks too! So many steps and a bit of a wavy and steeply shelving beach. So many photos to take of the coastline. It is exceptional.
The town of Platja D'aro is nothing special. Just a town really with lots of shops and restaurants. Interesting but .....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. We take due note of any improvements we can make to give better service to our guests (beach access).
On your next visit , I recommend to visit some nearby wonderful towns as Pals, Peratallada, Begur .... see in our reception will be pleased to inform you
Thanks again and see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for company outing in May. The experience was superb. Beautiful rooms with excellent view. Extensive spa facilities. Food was great. Though vegetarian options were less, but they prepared veg pizzas, etc for us. Breakfast was lovely. The rate was although high. But it was worth it. The location was really good. Quiet, calm & peaceful.
Only problem was if they could have provided more veg options, since it is not difficult to manage that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest;
thanks for your valuable comments. nothing inspires us more than a satisfied guest. We take due note about vegetarian food, but as you say vegetarian dishes prepared for you. We try to satisfy all the needs of our guests, so we discuss with our chef to see the possibilities expand.
Best wishes and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for one night during a January weekend. The presentation of the hotel is outstanding, the staff were welcoming and helpful, and the "standard" room was impressively appointed and clean, with a large terrace and rich decor.
We were thrilled with the visually beautiful and extensive spa facilities, and there was plenty of choice in the breakfast buffet. We had only two minor gripes: the hot food selection at breakfast would've been even better had it been... well, a little hotter! And we found the in-room wifi connection to be particularly poor, which ultimately proved very frustrating. However, there was an excellent connection in the restaurant.

Overall, a memorable and special experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest;
thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are delighted you had a great stay with us.
We take due note about breakfast service, in terms of the hot products.
Regarding the wi-fi, we have increased the number of antennas to improve coverage and hired an ADSL line more suitable to the needs of our guests. We are awaiting the telephone company for installation. So we hope to have this enhanced service soon
Hope to see you again soon,
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain
Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d’Aro’s Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.