We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very quiet if you want that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comtat Sant Jordi

Save Saved
You added Comtat Sant Jordi to your Saves list
Comtat Sant Jordi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comtat Sant Jordi
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Travessera de Ginebro 2, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very very quiet if you want that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Upon arrival there were quite a few old people and no one else. It was silent and eerie. Unfortunately the weather was wet and if that is the case there is simply nothing to do. I did not try the food but I would have the food included as when you go into town there is not a great range of quality food places. There are a handful of pizzerias and cafe types. The town reminds me of what Benidorm might look like if it had not been ruined by us Brits. Not that I like Benidorm at all, It's dreadful - I stayed there as a joke. Anyway in town there a few clubs and bars so it is great for that. I recommend starting the night at 10 then start the clubs at midnight. It will end by 5 am. Back to the hotel is a good place to rest in silence and its away from the town. This isn't really for tourists as not many speak very good English so I would brush up on your Spanish. I actually like that though as you feel like you are on holiday and it adds to the adventure. There isn't much to do for kids here either unless I was just unfortunate with timing. Apartments were very clean by he way. And the pool look great uniform only it was sunny. Staff seemed bored here and uninspired. Probably because it is so quiet. You should take a trip to Palamos its very interesting and good places to eat. Look for the 1euro tapas bar!

Room Tip: Get the family room for same price on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    30
    20
    7
See reviews for
51
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked this hotel over the internet for a one night in January. Upon arrival the whole hotel was closed and no staff or guests present. A note on the reception window led us to our room where we found the keys stuck to the door. I felt like Jack Nicholson in the film "The shining". The rooms are small but clean. The bed was nice and all bedding and towels were clean. There was a small TV with only one channel that worked. This hotel has a 1980s Butlins feel. Its was OK and i would probably use this hotel again if there was nothing else but i would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

The first review was similar to my experience.
A little further than I would have liked out of town and no bars or restaurants nearby but really only took 10 mins walk to the beginning of the main street of Platja d'aro, although to the far end would be about 30 mins and although we had a car parking in Platja d'aro was very difficult. Palamos 10 min drive to the other side was lovely and parking much easier.
I thought the apartments were perfectly adequate for two people but would have been a bit small for 4. No problems with plumbing or cleanliness.
On site supermarket disappointing but breakfast at the hotel reasonable value for 6 euros
Parking around around the hotel was available but the hotel car park seemed to being saved for staff as we were told it was full when it clearly wasn't. Parking may be tricky at the height of the season.
The beaches in the area are lovely and in particular the cove right by the hotel.
If you want any atmosphere do not go after middle of September.
As we left on 15th September the entertainment programme
finished and I believe boat trips from main beach also finished
All in all we had a lovely beach break at a very reasonable cost and with no unsurmountable problems

  • Liked — beach location and nice pool
  • Disliked — distance from bars and restaurants
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The hotel is very old, you haven't any facilities, and it is very unclean and with high rumour day and night. I have to fill a claim but the Hotel Director doesn’t matter. I was there with a baby of ten month and we stay without potable water for five hours!!! The apartment are little and very uncomfortable. Terrible experience!!!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvonslow44
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

We stayed here in March 2007. It took a little finding as it is actual just outside the boundaries of Playa D'aro (its about a 15-20 min walk into town). Although the apartments have been refurbished they are still basic. The site and the apartments are kept very clean and the staff are very helpful. The bar and restaurant on site are very friendly and staff will go out of their way to assist you.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Out of town
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comtat Sant Jordi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comtat Sant Jordi

Address: Travessera de Ginebro 2, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comtat Sant Jordi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comtat Sant Jordi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comtat Sant Jordi Hotel Platja d`Aro
Comtat Sant Jordi Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comtat Sant Jordi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.